Digital Art Zone

 
   
15 of 100
15
Look at my Hair: official thread [Commercial] RELEASED!
Posted: 12 August 2012 06:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 211 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2566
Joined  2007-12-07

Oh my good god ...

I may just have to go get a passport just so I can camp outside your residence so I can brandish a placard emblazoned with something witty and cutting about hair ... and SOON! smile

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2012 06:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 212 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2984
Joined  2004-04-14

When can I give you my money and how much can i give you?

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2012 07:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 213 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2379
Joined  2005-04-15
Mattymanx - 12 August 2012 06:38 PM

When can I give you my money and how much can i give you?

He’s being irritating and giving us really fuzzy answers.

 Signature 

“And on the subject of bundles, exactly WHY does the M5 Pro Suite have a V5 DRESS and the Troll in it? Exactly what kind of “pro” IS M5?  Apparently one who likes to dress up in drag and go cruising down in the red light district of lower Middle Earth.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2012 07:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 214 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  761
Joined  2008-10-19

Naaa that just a lack of hair conditioner that’s why AA is fuzzy on the price.And really how could he give us a price when he’s still working on it.
Patience lots of patience

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2012 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 215 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1198
Joined  2007-11-30
Alessandro_AM - 12 August 2012 04:03 PM

3D painting is obviously working on each model, regardless it being a figure, a prop, a Studio primitive, an imported .obj…

And what if we could use it not only to define density/cut maps, but also to define hair colors, length and other properties.
Mmmmhhhhh… sexy…

You mean one map for each property? It would make things pretty easy as you could pinpoint with great accuracy what the fur, errr, I meant, the hair would look like.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 August 2012 06:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 216 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  270
Joined  2008-07-07

Hmmm. On the subject of fur, mapping, and I can’t remember if I’ve asked these two questions before:

Some fur is multicolour right down at the hair level - one hair might start off blonde at the tip and darken up the shaft (or vice versa). Heck people’s hair can do that, and without hair dye either - sun can bleach the tips. Australian aboriginal hair is particularly prone to it, it’s very distinctive.
And of course some animal hairs are banded - alternating dark light dark light dark light. Banding combined with the correct length gives very distinct fur patterns.

Can we do that in V1?

The other question: overlapping hair zones - can we have two different kinds of hair occupying the same mesh? Soft fluffy light-coloured undercoat vs long stiff dark guard-hairs for example. Most mammals have dual layer fur like this, although there are variations.

 Signature 

DAZ Published Artist

View my DAZ3D product store!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 August 2012 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 217 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1198
Joined  2007-11-30

I think you could apply two instances of hair with one long stiff vs a thick shorter undercoat. If it’s used as Renderman splines, then it will load easily. It’s a bit different if you convert to OBJ’s…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 August 2012 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 218 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4690
Joined  2004-08-11

I do remember when Alex was at ‘Rosity’ he mentioned that you can shade the tip and root differently iirc…

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 August 2012 10:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 219 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  474
Joined  2008-06-25

Finally found this thread! =) Watching again with great interest.

 Signature 

do your research before blaming 3Delight for shortcomings of your renders

dA gallery link in profile along with anything else you may need to know about me

my thread with freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 August 2012 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 220 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  358
Joined  2005-11-24

Take all my paycheck for all your projects. :D

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2012 01:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 221 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1327
Joined  2009-10-27
Norse Graphics - 12 August 2012 09:17 PM
Alessandro_AM - 12 August 2012 04:03 PM

3D painting is obviously working on each model, regardless it being a figure, a prop, a Studio primitive, an imported .obj…

And what if we could use it not only to define density/cut maps, but also to define hair colors, length and other properties.
Mmmmhhhhh… sexy…

You mean one map for each property?

Exactly. Even if in V1 I’ll probably code only density/cut maps.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2012 01:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 222 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1327
Joined  2009-10-27
Syndaryl - 13 August 2012 06:38 AM

Hmmm. On the subject of fur, mapping, and I can’t remember if I’ve asked these two questions before:

Some fur is multicolour right down at the hair level - one hair might start off blonde at the tip and darken up the shaft (or vice versa). Heck people’s hair can do that, and without hair dye either - sun can bleach the tips. Australian aboriginal hair is particularly prone to it, it’s very distinctive.
And of course some animal hairs are banded - alternating dark light dark light dark light. Banding combined with the correct length gives very distinct fur patterns.

Can we do that in V1?

The other question: overlapping hair zones - can we have two different kinds of hair occupying the same mesh? Soft fluffy light-coloured undercoat vs long stiff dark guard-hairs for example. Most mammals have dual layer fur like this, although there are variations.

You can set a global root and tip color. So, if your hair have red roots and green tips, the hair strand color will smoothly interpolate through those. There is no shader (but could do that sometime) that allows to alternate multiple colors on a single hair. Even if I don’t see this as a top priority.
You can indeed have overlapping hair zones. You can create more shave groups on the same follicle area, and have each of those groups use different properties, shape and colors.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2012 05:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 223 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-10

Cant wait…

 Signature 

As Always B3D
..........................
My radio Station…
http://www.pandora.com/?sc=qm81447313#/
.........................
http://www.foleypromagic.com
http://www.michaelhershman.com
http://www.artwanted.com/foleypro
http://foleypro.deviantart.com/
http://home.comcast.net/~foleypro

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 11:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 224 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

SUPER BIG QUESTION!!! What does the release of DS4.5Pro FULL do to this plugin? Are we now in limbo until it gets updated or do we roll back to DS4Pro if we want it?

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 225 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1327
Joined  2009-10-27
Jaderail - 16 August 2012 11:28 PM

SUPER BIG QUESTION!!! What does the release of DS4.5Pro FULL do to this plugin? Are we now in limbo until it gets updated or do we roll back to DS4Pro if we want it?

The current beta is actually being built on 4.5 final SDK.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
   
15 of 100
15