Digital Art Zone

 
   
92 of 100
92
Look at my Hair: official thread [Commercial] RELEASED!
Posted: 01 January 2013 11:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1366 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1263
Joined  2009-10-27

Here are two images, the first is the render as it came out of Lux/Reality, in the second image I added a bit of glow and color toning.

The style is the afro preset for Genesis available at www.furrythings.com/presets.

In LAMH, I opened the material setup and set hair root/tip widths at 40/20. Exported 100,000 hair to Studio, ran Reality and used a Matte Translucent shader for the hair.
I stopped the render after 30 minutes.

 

Image Attachments
reality_lamh_1.jpgreality_lamh_2.jpg
 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1367 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1198
Joined  2007-11-30

I think vendors should seriously think about making presets in LAMH from some of their previously released hairs, when they’re up and running with the software. Maybe make speciality shaders for LAMH of different types of hair? Just an idea.

Anyway, I rendered with the standard shader and exported as Renderman splines. This picture is basically an icon for the RE-crowd of Wesker. Probably the closest one I’ve ever made of the man.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/norse_graphics/8331049720/in/photostream

smile

Image Attachments
8331049720_cb347e59a2_c.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 01:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1368 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  216
Joined  2005-10-18

I understand that LAMH can only currently be applied to one figure in a scene???..so if I wanted to ‘fur’ four or five Rats then that would not be possible.????

If I am correct, when will this limitation be addressed.????

I am waiting to purchase..hint hint.!!!.. wink

S.K.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 01:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1369 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  913
Joined  2008-11-27

*grrr* forum has had a hickup… so again:

You can have more than one item using LAMH.

If you look back in this thread you can see two renders I posted one shows clothes with fur done with LAMH (the cloth are two seperate objects) and the second renders shows you grass which I have done with LAMH (the grass in the foreground is a plane, the grass at the “hills” is a second object).

So, yes, you can use LAMH for more than one figure, but you can edit just one at a time.

 Signature 

Markus

My store at DAZ: http://www.daz3d.com/sedor

Member of the Bald Wizards Club (BWC).

My facebook artist page: https://www.facebook.com/WatmaScunn

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1370 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1860
Joined  2006-02-17
swordkensia - 01 January 2013 01:46 PM

I understand that LAMH can only currently be applied to one figure in a scene???..so if I wanted to ‘fur’ four or five Rats then that would not be possible.????

If I am correct, when will this limitation be addressed.????

I am waiting to purchase..hint hint.!!!.. wink

S.K.

Absolutely, we are working on that.  Multiple LAMH’d figures is critical to our plans for DAZ Domination grin.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 05:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1371 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  583
Joined  2006-06-28

How much longer will Look At My Hair be on sale?  Is it going to be on sale up to this Friday or ending sooner?

 Signature 

http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/1231

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 05:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1372 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1263
Joined  2009-10-27
fyredrygyon - 01 January 2013 05:10 PM

How much longer will Look At My Hair be on sale?  Is it going to be on sale up to this Friday or ending sooner?

It’s on sale 4 weeks, starting the 21st December.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 05:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1373 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  234
Joined  2003-10-09

Arrggg! It’s not working. I click New Look at My Hair Object, I get a progress bar that says “Please Wait”, and then Studio crashes. I uninstalled and reinstalled DAZ Studio 4.5.1.6, redownloaded and reinstalled LAMH but I still get the same thing. Any Ideas?


Coldrake

 Signature 

I don’t dance, I boogie.
———————————————————

If I have to choose between speed and quality, I’ll take quality every time.
———————————————————

It’s not what tools you use,
It’s how you use your tools.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 05:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1374 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1263
Joined  2009-10-27
Coldrake - 01 January 2013 05:29 PM

Arrggg! It’s not working. I click New Look at My Hair Object, I get a progress bar that says “Please Wait”, and then Studio crashes. I uninstalled and reinstalled DAZ Studio 4.5.1.6, redownloaded and reinstalled LAMH but I still get the same thing. Any Ideas?


Coldrake

Please send me your log file so that I can take a look at info_at_alessandromastronardi.com
Thanks

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 05:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1375 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  234
Joined  2003-10-09

Now that’s what I call fast service! I just sent the file. Thanks for your help Alessandro.


Coldrake

 Signature 

I don’t dance, I boogie.
———————————————————

If I have to choose between speed and quality, I’ll take quality every time.
———————————————————

It’s not what tools you use,
It’s how you use your tools.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 05:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1376 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1263
Joined  2009-10-27
Coldrake - 01 January 2013 05:36 PM

Now that’s what I call fast service! I just sent the file. Thanks for your help Alessandro.


Coldrake

Thanks to you for your patience. I’m taking a look at it now smile

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 06:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1377 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  234
Joined  2003-10-09
Alessandro_AM - 01 January 2013 05:37 PM
Coldrake - 01 January 2013 05:36 PM

Now that’s what I call fast service! I just sent the file. Thanks for your help Alessandro.


Coldrake

Thanks to you for your patience. I’m taking a look at it now smile

Up and running! Thanks for such a quick response, especially on a holiday. I’m off to play! grin


Coldrake

 Signature 

I don’t dance, I boogie.
———————————————————

If I have to choose between speed and quality, I’ll take quality every time.
———————————————————

It’s not what tools you use,
It’s how you use your tools.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 06:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1378 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1263
Joined  2009-10-27
Coldrake - 01 January 2013 06:27 PM
Alessandro_AM - 01 January 2013 05:37 PM
Coldrake - 01 January 2013 05:36 PM

Now that’s what I call fast service! I just sent the file. Thanks for your help Alessandro.


Coldrake

Thanks to you for your patience. I’m taking a look at it now smile

Up and running! Thanks for such a quick response, especially on a holiday. I’m off to play! grin


Coldrake

Have fun with it! smile

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 10:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1379 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2010-03-01

Ok, I have been working on a project for the last couple of days, that uses LAMH. My goal was to make a nice long beard for 3D Universe’s Rex. I got something that I can work with. I still need to play with the painting option. Not as happy with my edges. You can see the render here:
http://www.dreamslayerartworks.com/photos/showphoto.php?photo=3373&title=old-father-time&cat=592

I have attached a portion of the render (beard part) for your looky loo.

But the most important part is the following things I find that could be considered, improvements, issues and bugs.

Improvements:
I would really like to see values for all of the functions, spheirize, curl, length, tilt roots, swirl, taper, random roots, intensity etc etc. I mean all of them. The reason I want these is when I am creating several shave groups, I would like to have a start from or just the ability to set up the same conditions. Currently that can’t happen.

Issues:
On this project I had to close Studio midway through the project, so I saved my scene and I saved my preset but there is no way that I could see to safely get back to work. What I found I had to do was create a new hair, which opened up the plug-in and then I loaded up the pre-set and then sent it back to Studio. (Any other way caused crashes.) This method is all well and good execpt that I had removed the underlining texture from my hair but when I reopened up the pre-set LAMH had replaced it. I had to go back in and remove that reference. No biggie but I think that the pre-set should contain all of the changed options and not just some.

No undo after the follicles step. Some undo buttons on all those wonderful options (spherize, curl, length, etc) would be most helpful. What I finally did was to have two files. My I want to save this for sure and maybe I want to save this. This way if I got heavy handed I could go back to just before then and use that file. This worked ok but sometimes I forgot and then there was blue smoke around my desk.

Bugs:
The scene I was working on had two genesis-figures. Every time I tried to change the position of either one my session of DAZ crashed. I will send my log file to Kendall if he wants it.

When I was finished with making changes to the group materials of the shave group I clicked on the “load to” (Button 4 at the top of the window) the window closes and the pop-up window comes up asking if I want to save and exit. I say yes and LAMH does something and then the materials window comes up again. On your videos this does not occur so is this a bug? And what do you need to see if you want to reproduce the event?

Well that’s all for now.

Image Attachments
Wizard-LAMH.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 10:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1380 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1860
Joined  2006-02-17
Dollygirl - 01 January 2013 10:08 PM

Ok, I have been working on a project for the last couple of days, that uses LAMH. My goal was to make a nice long beard for 3D Universe’s Rex. I got something that I can work with. I still need to play with the painting option. Not as happy with my edges. You can see the render here:
http://www.dreamslayerartworks.com/photos/showphoto.php?photo=3373&title=old-father-time&cat=592

I have attached a portion of the render (beard part) for your looky loo.

But the most important part is the following things I find that could be considered, improvements, issues and bugs.

Improvements:
I would really like to see values for all of the functions, spheirize, curl, length, tilt roots, swirl, taper, random roots, intensity etc etc. I mean all of them. The reason I want these is when I am creating several shave groups, I would like to have a start from or just the ability to set up the same conditions. Currently that can’t happen.

Issues:
On this project I had to close Studio midway through the project, so I saved my scene and I saved my preset but there is no way that I could see to safely get back to work. What I found I had to do was create a new hair, which opened up the plug-in and then I loaded up the pre-set and then sent it back to Studio. (Any other way caused crashes.) This method is all well and good execpt that I had removed the underlining texture from my hair but when I reopened up the pre-set LAMH had replaced it. I had to go back in and remove that reference. No biggie but I think that the pre-set should contain all of the changed options and not just some.

No undo after the follicles step. Some undo buttons on all those wonderful options (spherize, curl, length, etc) would be most helpful. What I finally did was to have two files. My I want to save this for sure and maybe I want to save this. This way if I got heavy handed I could go back to just before then and use that file. This worked ok but sometimes I forgot and then there was blue smoke around my desk.

Bugs:
The scene I was working on had two genesis-figures. Every time I tried to change the position of either one my session of DAZ crashed. I will send my log file to Kendall if he wants it.

When I was finished with making changes to the group materials of the shave group I clicked on the “load to” (Button 4 at the top of the window) the window closes and the pop-up window comes up asking if I want to save and exit. I say yes and LAMH does something and then the materials window comes up again. On your videos this does not occur so is this a bug? And what do you need to see if you want to reproduce the event?

Well that’s all for now.

Absolutely I want the logfile.  Any crash is unacceptable.  I’ll ask questions after I have a chance to digest/try to replicate the issues.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
   
92 of 100
92