Digital Art Zone

 
   
78 of 100
78
Look at my Hair: official thread [Commercial] RELEASED!
Posted: 22 December 2012 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1156 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2843
Joined  2006-07-31
smoke14 - 22 December 2012 06:47 PM

Hey Alessandro, I really want to thank you for this plugin. I’m just starting to try it out and so far its awesome. Just wanted to show a pic I did of the MilCat with the long hair preset. It is amazing the difference it makes to have the cat to have “real” fur. I’m really looking forward to seeing just what I can do with LAMH.

That kitty of yours is adorable.

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 09:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1157 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2916
Joined  2004-04-14
Rareth - 22 December 2012 04:20 PM

I use Raytraced shadows with shadow bias at 0.1 average render times around 10 minutes or less.

excuse the cross eyed expression, Vicky’s a bit stressed due to the season.


A note on render settings in general:

Raytrace Depth, if your not doing reflections you can get away with 2

Pixel Samples - for test renders you can keep it at 4 each.  Raise it higher for the final render if you need to or want to

Shadow Samples - Again, keep it low for tests

Shading Rate - 0.5 for tests or even 1 but for the final, 0.2

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 09:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1158 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1866
Joined  2006-02-17
Saiyaness - 22 December 2012 09:19 PM
Kendall Sears - 22 December 2012 07:22 PM
Saiyaness - 22 December 2012 07:20 PM

Okay, so after having no problem with installation and initial use (and figuring out why I was getting fuzz instead of hair…sort of) I can barely use it now without getting fatal crash errors. All I’ve been doing it trying to use the Cat Preset and it’ll barely let me do that. It’s happening with all BASIC scenes now.

For future reference, should I choose to stick with this product - will the hair get…better looking? More sleek and glossy? And will there be a fix for NOT smooshing hair down inside the skull? So you can comb it naturally?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you. smile

You are getting crashes?  What are your system specs?

Yes, the ability to keep the hair strands above the base mesh is a priority.

Kendall

I’m not super computer savvy so I’m not sure what specs you want…sorry to be a bother!

Without typing out everything in System Information, I can tell you that it’s a Windows 7,  Intel 5, 64 bit…what sort of memory specs do you need?

all that you missed is your RAM amount.  I’m just trying to determine the best way to tell you how to get LAMH working on your system so that you can have some fun. grin  Some of the presets, combined with some of the models, can take a machine past it’s resources.  This is especially true of 32 bit installs.  Or 64 bit installs with little memory.

If you want you may contact me directly at krsears (at) trdc.biz and we’ll see what we can’t find out for you.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 09:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1159 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2005-10-10

Mari-Anne - I believe the count that I used for the cat’s fur on that render was around 325,000.

Kattey - Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 09:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1160 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1602
Joined  2005-02-25
Mari-Anne - 22 December 2012 08:34 PM
Kendall Sears - 22 December 2012 07:09 PM
JOdel - 22 December 2012 07:06 PM

Okay, that feeds right into my question: how do you apply the presets? I’ve installed and activated, adn it seems to be behaving itself. But although I downloaded most of the presets for animal fur, there don’t seem to be any instructions for applying them. There isn’t anything in the interface which referred to or obviously related to presets.

The manual doesn’t get into that, either. Needs an addenda which does, since I gather that quite a few people are likely to be building and distributing presets for different models before much longer.

Which brings up my 2nd question. Where do we store the presets? Anywhere we please and just point the plugin at them, or do they need to be in a specific place.

#1)  Presets are loaded using the 2nd icon from the right at the top.  It looks like a file folder.

#2) Presets can be uploaded to the blog.

Kendall

There must be some other steps in between step 1 and the export step??  When I load the MilCat Long fur preset and export, I get a very scrawny looking kitty. What might I be doing wrong?


Also along with the count when you export, you *NEED* to click fur preview density button on and move the slider all the way to the right.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 09:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1161 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  300
Joined  2005-09-30
belovedalia - 22 December 2012 09:47 PM
Mari-Anne - 22 December 2012 08:34 PM
Kendall Sears - 22 December 2012 07:09 PM
JOdel - 22 December 2012 07:06 PM

Okay, that feeds right into my question: how do you apply the presets? I’ve installed and activated, adn it seems to be behaving itself. But although I downloaded most of the presets for animal fur, there don’t seem to be any instructions for applying them. There isn’t anything in the interface which referred to or obviously related to presets.

The manual doesn’t get into that, either. Needs an addenda which does, since I gather that quite a few people are likely to be building and distributing presets for different models before much longer.

Which brings up my 2nd question. Where do we store the presets? Anywhere we please and just point the plugin at them, or do they need to be in a specific place.

#1)  Presets are loaded using the 2nd icon from the right at the top.  It looks like a file folder.

#2) Presets can be uploaded to the blog.

Kendall

There must be some other steps in between step 1 and the export step??  When I load the MilCat Long fur preset and export, I get a very scrawny looking kitty. What might I be doing wrong?


Also along with the count when you export, you *NEED* to click fur preview density button on and move the slider all the way to the right.[/quote

Thanks, belovedalia - I appreciate any tips I can get!  Good to know.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 10:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1162 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1198
Joined  2007-11-30

I’ve tried LAMH, and it’s a decent product. I imported a figure, learned how to select on the surface and applying hair on it. Even went as far to have different ‘hair zones’. Exported as Obj as DS wouldn’t render with the Renderman option. I’ll look more into it later and see why it doesn’t render, maybe a setting or something. So, I have a couple of questions:

-Anyone have ready-made presets? And where to download from?
-How to ‘conform’ the hair? Right now it works fine when the object is ‘static’.
-Best settings of the hair, please. I haven’t read all 78 pages yet. Right now I have 6 for root and 4 for tip-size. Adjusted the length according to how ‘thick’ I want the hair (or fur).

Another note, I appliy a UberEnvironment2 with one distant sunlight and it renders perfectly (with max settings). In fact it renders faster than other types of fur, which is nice - since I know how processor-intensive fur can be during render-time. The biggest issues are conforming it, and having the ‘perfect preference settings’ of the hair.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 10:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1163 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1866
Joined  2006-02-17
Norse Graphics - 22 December 2012 10:03 PM

I’ve tried LAMH, and it’s a decent product. I imported a figure, learned how to select on the surface and applying hair on it. Even went as far to have different ‘hair zones’. Exported as Obj as DS wouldn’t render with the Renderman option. I’ll look more into it later and see why it doesn’t render, maybe a setting or something. So, I have a couple of questions:

-Anyone have ready-made presets? And where to download from?
-How to ‘conform’ the hair? Right now it works fine when the object is ‘static’.
-Best settings of the hair, please. I haven’t read all 78 pages yet. Right now I have 6 for root and 4 for tip-size. Adjusted the length according to how ‘thick’ I want the hair (or fur).

Another note, I appliy a UberEnvironment2 with one distant sunlight and it renders perfectly (with max settings). In fact it renders faster than other types of fur, which is nice - since I know how processor-intensive fur can be during render-time. The biggest issues are conforming it, and having the ‘perfect preference settings’ of the hair.

Hi Norse,
  Look on the last 2 pages for some decent starting points for the hair counts.  As far as “conforming” you make the hair conforming when you design it.  If you need the figure in a specific pose, then pose the figure and then import it into LAMH.  You can then make the hair match the pose exactly.

There are over 30 presets available at http://www.furrythings.com/presets  we encourage others to upload new presets.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 10:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1164 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2916
Joined  2004-04-14

The offline activation worked just fine.

While combing/styling hair, has anyone else had their camera suddenly jump like you were controling the camera instead of styling?

Has anyone had the camera control be non responsive for no reason?

Is there any way to stop the hair from going below the mesh of the model?

Thank you.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 10:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1165 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1866
Joined  2006-02-17
Mattymanx - 22 December 2012 10:35 PM

The offline activation worked just fine.

While combing/styling hair, has anyone else had their camera suddenly jump like you were controling the camera instead of styling?

Has anyone had the camera control be non responsive for no reason?

Is there any way to stop the hair from going below the mesh of the model?

Thank you.

Keeping the hair shafts above the base mesh is a priority.  I expect to have that ready very, very s—-hortly.

We’ve not had any reports of non-responsiveness… over-responsiveness, yes.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 10:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1166 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1198
Joined  2007-11-30
Kendall Sears - 22 December 2012 10:12 PM
Norse Graphics - 22 December 2012 10:03 PM

I’ve tried LAMH, and it’s a decent product. I imported a figure, learned how to select on the surface and applying hair on it. Even went as far to have different ‘hair zones’. Exported as Obj as DS wouldn’t render with the Renderman option. I’ll look more into it later and see why it doesn’t render, maybe a setting or something. So, I have a couple of questions:

-Anyone have ready-made presets? And where to download from?
-How to ‘conform’ the hair? Right now it works fine when the object is ‘static’.
-Best settings of the hair, please. I haven’t read all 78 pages yet. Right now I have 6 for root and 4 for tip-size. Adjusted the length according to how ‘thick’ I want the hair (or fur).

Another note, I appliy a UberEnvironment2 with one distant sunlight and it renders perfectly (with max settings). In fact it renders faster than other types of fur, which is nice - since I know how processor-intensive fur can be during render-time. The biggest issues are conforming it, and having the ‘perfect preference settings’ of the hair.

Hi Norse,
  Look on the last 2 pages for some decent starting points for the hair counts.  As far as “conforming” you make the hair conforming when you design it.  If you need the figure in a specific pose, then pose the figure and then import it into LAMH.  You can then make the hair match the pose exactly.

There are over 30 presets available at http://www.furrythings.com/presets  we encourage others to upload new presets.

Kendall

Thanks for the link!

I got the import/export thingie quickly, same with adjusting the number of hairs during export to DS. I’m just peeking at those who managed to get ‘natural’ results (say the size of root and tip of hair). Though I’m on a Win7 64-bit laptop (Asus) with 8 Gig’s of memory, it doesn’t really strain the system too much (approaching 6.5-7 Gig’s depending on size of scene and amount of props during render-time). And I uploaded a screenshot of my work at flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/norse_graphics/8298295339/in/photostream

Heh, I combed the hair quite easily, though there was a strain as I accidentally applied 250000 hairs on one zone instead of 25000 during export to DS 4.5 Pro.

Ok, so it’s ‘static’, applying the hair after each pose. Hmm, maybe that’ll be part of the next iteration/version after Alex has done the tuts on Youtube. And I didn’t get any crash, so “Yay!!” for that. smile

 

Image Attachments
8298295339_fec7df91a3_c.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 10:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1167 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1866
Joined  2006-02-17
Norse Graphics - 22 December 2012 10:42 PM
Kendall Sears - 22 December 2012 10:12 PM
Norse Graphics - 22 December 2012 10:03 PM

I’ve tried LAMH, and it’s a decent product. I imported a figure, learned how to select on the surface and applying hair on it. Even went as far to have different ‘hair zones’. Exported as Obj as DS wouldn’t render with the Renderman option. I’ll look more into it later and see why it doesn’t render, maybe a setting or something. So, I have a couple of questions:

-Anyone have ready-made presets? And where to download from?
-How to ‘conform’ the hair? Right now it works fine when the object is ‘static’.
-Best settings of the hair, please. I haven’t read all 78 pages yet. Right now I have 6 for root and 4 for tip-size. Adjusted the length according to how ‘thick’ I want the hair (or fur).

Another note, I appliy a UberEnvironment2 with one distant sunlight and it renders perfectly (with max settings). In fact it renders faster than other types of fur, which is nice - since I know how processor-intensive fur can be during render-time. The biggest issues are conforming it, and having the ‘perfect preference settings’ of the hair.

Hi Norse,
  Look on the last 2 pages for some decent starting points for the hair counts.  As far as “conforming” you make the hair conforming when you design it.  If you need the figure in a specific pose, then pose the figure and then import it into LAMH.  You can then make the hair match the pose exactly.

There are over 30 presets available at http://www.furrythings.com/presets  we encourage others to upload new presets.

Kendall

Thanks for the link!

I got the import/export thingie quickly, same with adjusting the number of hairs during export to DS. I’m just peeking at those who managed to get ‘natural’ results (say the size of root and tip of hair). Though I’m on a Win7 64-bit laptop (Asus) with 8 Gig’s of memory, it doesn’t really strain the system too much (approaching 6.5-7 Gig’s depending on size of scene and amount of props during render-time). And I uploaded a screenshot of my work at flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/norse_graphics/8298295339/in/photostream

Heh, I combed the hair quite easily, though there was a strain as I accidentally applied 250000 hairs on one zone instead of 25000.

Ok, so it’s ‘static’, applying the hair after each pose. Hmm, maybe that’ll be part of the next iteration/version after Alex has done the tuts on Youtube. And I didn’t get any crash, so “Yay!!” for that. smile

 


There will be lots of new candy for LAMH very, very s—-hortly.  I’m typing as fast as I can.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 11:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1168 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  581
Joined  2005-09-12

Running into an activation issue - I plug in the installation code and the activation code and click ‘activate’ - I get a pop-up error box that says ‘activation complete - LAMH will now exit. Start it up and have fun’. But when I start it up, I get the activation screen again.

Win7 64 bit. Off-line activation.

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 11:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1169 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1866
Joined  2006-02-17
namffuak - 22 December 2012 11:14 PM

Running into an activation issue - I plug in the installation code and the activation code and click ‘activate’ - I get a pop-up error box that says ‘activation complete - LAMH will now exit. Start it up and have fun’. But when I start it up, I get the activation screen again.

Win7 64 bit. Off-line activation.

usually this means that there was an entry error somewhere.  Please contact me via PM or email:  krsears (at) trdc.biz

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 December 2012 12:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1170 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1627
Joined  2009-08-08

Well, I’m overloading the system and seeing how that turns out. So far it appears to be doing what I want. But it’s one hour in, and probably going to take another to finish rendering, and will take most of that to get down far enough to see how it will handle the face and head. I don’t know whether I’ll ever be able to render a long-haired cat with anything else in the scene, but I do appear to be getting a long-haired cat.

Unforthunately, I suspect rendering a short-haired cat will require a whole different procedure, but we’ll see.

Profile
 
 
   
78 of 100
78