Digital Art Zone

 
     
saving selections?
Posted: 10 July 2012 03:22 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  50
Joined  2011-11-21

Hello

is there a way to save/memorize selections in Hexagon 2.5?

thanks,

Sylvain

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 05:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20

Nope

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  281
Joined  0

you can save a selection as a material [shading domain}, only for faces. never tried vertices or edges

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
dot_bat - 10 July 2012 08:24 AM

you can save a selection as a material [shading domain}, only for faces. never tried vertices or edges

Any one face can only belong to a single shading domain. That severely limits the usefulness of that particular application of this function.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  124
Joined  2004-10-23

Are you saving selections for grouping purpose or otherwise ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  386
Joined  2006-02-03

I suppose it depends on what the purpose of saved selections are used for.

If it is for textures and shaders and possible morphs, then shading domains work just fine.


If you need a hierarchy for animation then extract the polygons and make it part of a group hierarchy in a parent/child relationship.


Just because you use shading domains, doesn’t mean they can’t be useful.  One can use shading domains across several regions of polygons if they have the same texture. Also, shading domains don’t have to be different colors or texture, they can be used to identify function. 


For instance, gear shift linkage can be the same color, but each one can be given a shading domain so it can later be used to animate separately as “parts” in most 3D graphic programs.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 12:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1482
Joined  2008-01-01

I think the OP is referring to a function such as there is in Carrara and a few other apps.  Say you have an area of the model which is a complex selection and you need to work on it repeatedly.  You can save the selection, move on to something else then come back and restore the selection so you don’t have to spend a lot of time re-selecting.

Hex doesn’t have this, but defining temporary shading domains works just as well, if not better than that function in Carrara, where you can only save one selection, or add to it - using shading domains you can define as many selections as you want.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 11:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  277
Joined  2005-09-15

Well surely all he has to do is to save as a file which clearly identifies that is a WIP and the OP can reload it any time s/he wishes or am I being thick ?  raspberry

 Signature 

Cheers, Fanners.raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 06:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
RedSquare - 11 July 2012 11:54 AM

Well surely all he has to do is to save as a file which clearly identifies that is a WIP and the OP can reload it any time s/he wishes or am I being thick ?  raspberry

How would that help? This question is not about saving whole models. It is about putting aside a string of vertices, edges or polygons which consist a subset of all the v/e/p in a particular model and later coming back and having them quickly re-selected.

Look at Cinema 4D’s Set Selection tool for an example.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 10:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2009-01-27
Ascania - 12 July 2012 06:43 AM

How would that help?

 
What would REALLY help would be for sylva1n to come back and comment on the suggestions made here so that we could zero in on some satisfactory work-alike or work-around for what she(?) wants to do.
 
I’ve used grouping to isolate model parts for ease of selection, and believe it ot not, I sometimes use the “undo” function to repeatedly alter and save a specific selected area in different ways. This is extremely useful for creating a series of subtle mini-morphs.
 
But without guidance from the OP, all we can do is shotgun wild ideas.
 

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 10:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2009-01-27

Double posted, for some reason…

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 04:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  277
Joined  2005-09-15

I’ve used grouping to isolate model parts for ease of selection, and believe it ot not, I sometimes use the “undo” function to repeatedly alter and save a specific selected area in different ways. This is extremely useful for creating a series of subtle mini-morphs.

Exactly!

 

 Signature 

Cheers, Fanners.raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 08:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
afreaginname - 12 July 2012 10:03 AM
Ascania - 12 July 2012 06:43 AM

 
I’ve used grouping to isolate model parts for ease of selection, and believe it ot not, I sometimes use the “undo” function to repeatedly alter and save a specific selected area in different ways. This is extremely useful for creating a series of subtle mini-morphs.

Which doesn’t help much when you’re actually deep in a modeling session and need to retain changes or have to swap between two or more sets of selections until they all line up as suppsed and are not just doing some fire-and-forget morphing.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2009-01-27
Ascania - 13 July 2012 08:04 AM
afreaginname - 12 July 2012 10:03 AM

I’ve used grouping to isolate model parts for ease of selection, and believe it ot not, I sometimes use the “undo” function to repeatedly alter and save a specific selected area in different ways. This is extremely useful for creating a series of subtle mini-morphs.

Which doesn’t help much when you’re actually deep in a modeling session and need to retain changes or have to swap between two or more sets of selections until they all line up as suppsed and are not just doing some fire-and-forget morphing.

That may well be true, but the point to my last comment was that we’ll never know what WILL help since the OP has disappeared on us.
 
I wasn’t criticizing anyone’s input here, I was criticizing people who ask us questions and then just walk away without a word while we’re out here wasting our own time and effort trying to answer their question.

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile