Digital Art Zone

 
     
DWG save failed
Posted: 09 July 2012 11:36 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2007-06-21

I’m trying to save something i made as a DWG file so i can import it to another program, but any time i try to save it as that file type hexagon tells me that the save failed. is there a size issue or a poly count requirement to be able to use a DWG? maybe i over looked something. i could use some help on this anyone have any ideas how to fix this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 03:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  346
Joined  2006-02-03

Does the file have any dynamic geometry that is not collapsed?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  281
Joined  0

Try saving the file to another folder or disk. i can only save hex files to the daz folder. im on a mac

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2007-06-21

no i don’t have any dynamic geometry in the design. i also have tried saving to a different location, still save failed. i tried saving to the daz folder and it didn’t work either.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  281
Joined  0

i dont see where you can save or export as a dwg file. thats autocad extension. perhaps xport as object or dxf

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 04:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2007-06-21

if you go to “save as” and then click the “save as type”  its near the bottom. also you can go to export and find it there as well. yes it is an autocad format and I’m trying to upload it into autodesk inventor.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  281
Joined  0

Im using 2.5.179 and i dont see those options as you can see from the screen shots. the lower screen shot is save as. not that i will ever use it but where is the dwg option? i also get those temp folders when i save anywhere else than the daz folder

Image Attachments
Screen_shot_2012-07-10_at_7.30_.14_PM_.png
Screen_shot_2012-07-10_at_7.29_.56_PM_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 08:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2003-10-23

You need to use “save as” not export

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 09:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2009-01-27

*IF* your model isn’t proprietary or otherwise secretive, could you save it as an HXN and upload it here? (HXN is the only non-image file that can be uploaded here).
 
Then we can load it into our’s and see if we can save it as a DWG - or alternatively, see if we can figure out why it can’t be saved that way.
 
ADD:

Christ…DAZ apparently “fixed” the uploads. I just tested with an HXN file and it wouldn’t let me upload it.
 
C’MON, DAZ!!! Ya think we’re gonna turn your website into a warez site with your HXN files?

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 11:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2007-06-21

i tryed to do something simple and made a box and couldn’t even save as one. try making a box or a object and see if you can save as a DWG file. when i try it dose make a empty folder and also tells me the save failed.

Image Attachments
hexagon_pic.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 12:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1361
Joined  2008-01-01

I get exactly the same - save failed and an empty tmp folder.  Never had a need to save as .dwg before, so can’t say if it ever worked in previous versions.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 04:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  202
Joined  2003-10-09
Roygee - 11 July 2012 12:43 AM

I get exactly the same - save failed and an empty tmp folder.  Never had a need to save as .dwg before, so can’t say if it ever worked in previous versions.

Just tested in 2.1 and ended up with a empty folder.

 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile