Digital Art Zone

 
     
Joint rotations going bonkers when rigging
Posted: 15 February 2014 10:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2003-10-09

Hi guys. Me again. Sorry to be so annoying lately, but I am now using Carrara for modelling and animation at my new job. Exciting!

I detached one of the Poser character’s skeleton in Carrara so that I could edit the mesh (it works when exporting to Collada format)

But after re-attaching the skeleton,. the joint rotations have changed. See the image: the hand’s Z-rotation does not line up with the bone anymore. The same goes for all the finger joints as well!

Is there any way to fix this easily?

Image Attachments
rotation.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 February 2014 10:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2006-01-10

Hi cobusp.

Detaching the skeleton from a Poser import converts the models mesh to Carrara native setup. Some of the imported features like conforming clothing, joint controlled morphs and possibly some bone setups(etc.) will be lost in the conversion.  Detaching any skeleton also resets the weight maps.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2014 01:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2003-10-09

Hi and thanks, I noticed that the weight maps were also lost. I sjust wish it were possible to correct those joint rotations without having to redo the whole skeleton.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2014 07:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5682
Joined  2006-08-27
cobusp - 16 February 2014 01:32 AM

Hi and thanks, I noticed that the weight maps were also lost. I sjust wish it were possible to correct those joint rotations without having to redo the whole skeleton.

Have you tried changing the constraints or using the Orient Joint command under the Animation menu?

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2014 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5682
Joined  2006-08-27

Can’t you edit the mesh without detaching the skeleton? I think I read about issues with Genesis, but I don’t know about the Gen 4 figures. I don’t have C8.5 so I can’t test.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2014 07:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2006-01-10
evilproducer - 16 February 2014 07:17 AM

Can’t you edit the mesh without detaching the skeleton? I think I read about issues with Genesis, but I don’t know about the Gen 4 figures. I don’t have C8.5 so I can’t test.

Hi EP.

You can edit a Poser import posed mesh for poke through using morphs with the Pro version of C8, but the tools to edit a meshes topology are still greyed out(protected). Detaching the skeleton is the only way(afaik) to change the topology. As mentioned though, it breaks the Poser import features.

Profile