Digital Art Zone

 
     
Am I missing something?
Posted: 14 February 2014 10:14 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2014-02-14

Hello!  I have been using Bryce for years now, and only recently started using DAZ Studio.  When I export objects in Bryce to DAZ Studio, the textures do not follow.  Is that supposed to happen?  I am using Bryce 7.1; I’m guessing that is not the same thing as Bryce 7 Pro.  Do I need the latter?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 11:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

OBJ export with textures is never as easy/straightforward as it seems it should be…

A few general tips, that should help, no matter what program you start in.

1. Set up a folder specifically for that item.  Export it and whatever textures to THAT folder.  Make sure that the program you are exporting from is ‘collecting’ the textures and that they actually end up in that folder.

2.  After exporting, find the mtl file and open it in a text editor and see what textures/where it is looking for them.  It should be looking for them in the folder you exported to.

3.  In the program you are importing to, make sure that the import is set to read the materials.  ]

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 February 2014 12:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  765
Joined  2006-05-26

MJC has already stated the most important considerations. But I will add a couple of things.

1. Due to a lack of texture baking technology, Bryce has no way of baking the procedural onto the model so that it looks the same in all applications. The most you will get is a small sample of your procedural texture that you must then use some form of tiling to get the texture to wrap around your model fully in your target application.

2. Models with UV maps pre-established will retain the UV maps when exported….but there is a bug that somehow flips the UV mapping vertically so the result is that the texture can look upside down. This is why I always keep a free version of UV Mapper on my system so I can fix certain things.

3. The bridge between DS and Bryce actually works both ways, you can send items from Bryce to DS directly with the bridge. As stated above, if the materials are procedural Bryce will try to come up with something, but it will be nothing more than a texture sample that gets repeatedly tiled, it will not look the same as it did in Bryce. I do not know if UV Maps get flipped or not with the bridge, its been a while since I used it.

4. Last is dealing with models constructed by boolean operations. Complex boolean models can have nightmarishly odd material things going on. Be careful with booleans that are several generations deep. A simple sphere cut into a cube is one thing. but if that result has then been cut and added to in second and third generations of boolean operations, a lot of the individual texture zones will be lost after the model has been exported. So I just suggest being careful, but not frightful.

Best of luck.

 Signature 

Please view my Daz3d User Gallery
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/465/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 February 2014 10:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13
Rashad Carter - 15 February 2014 12:31 AM

4. Last is dealing with models constructed by boolean operations. Complex boolean models can have nightmarishly odd material things going on. Be careful with booleans that are several generations deep. A simple sphere cut into a cube is one thing. but if that result has then been cut and added to in second and third generations of boolean operations, a lot of the individual texture zones will be lost after the model has been exported. So I just suggest being careful, but not frightful.

Best of luck.

That isn’t all that can happen with Booleans…

In addition to the materials, many programs just don’t like them and do very odd things to the mesh, even though it looks fine in the program it was created in.  There are ways to use them effectively that do transfer well, but like making sure they don’t mess up the materials, care in use is needed.

So if the item relies heavily on Boolean operations, it’s probably best to leave it in the program it was made in…or be extra careful on exporting it

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2014 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2014-02-14

Thank you!  This has been both informative and helpful. smile

Profile