Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
How to use Mimic Pro for Carrara effectively Tutorials
Posted: 13 February 2014 05:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  560
Joined  2009-12-08

joeping - ramble away my friend - as you say it’s good to talk with someone else whos been through the joy and pain of this, and I respect your editing of the dmc files.

I would love to see a video of your editing here so that perhaps I could attempt something similar (I appreciate the genesis file - I just can’t use it as I’m sticking with M4s for some time).

Once we get to part 5 of this series we’ll be in a position to talk with my idea on the table.

I have to be honest though - it’s been intense, and I’m taking a short break to go back to music before applying this all to my episode 9.

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 February 2014 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  333
Joined  2004-09-12

Thanks Sci Fi Funk,
The DMC editing is pretty boring and time consuming, but I think it will be worth it in the long run.  The main thing was the realization that Mimic outputs a set of phonemes and those need to be mapped to the figure. I was trying it on Genesis a product specifically not supported with the stand alone version. I had heard that it did a good job on M4 & v4. The stand alone version is so out of date it may be set up for M3 & V3.  I think they don’t even sell it anymore.

Sometimes a break is what is needed to get some perspective. I got to the point where I needed a break and have spent a few months away from the subject.  Your experiments have motivated me about how some of my problems could be improved. Now I just have to justify purchasing Mimic Pro for Carrara. =)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  560
Joined  2009-12-08
joeping - 13 February 2014 06:05 PM

Now I just have to justify purchasing Mimic Pro for Carrara. =)

I recommend, see the video below (there is one more to come). Look at the integration (read less chance of importing / editing going wrong).

If you are patient it’s often on offer.

Part 4

THE NEW SYSTEM.

I believe this is an important breakthrough. I’ve applied synthesizer envelope theory to 3d animation blocks. Behold the additional editing capability!


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CY-MvEjyzFo

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  246
Joined  2007-08-26
joeping - 13 February 2014 06:05 PM

The DMC editing is pretty boring and time consuming, but I think it will be worth it in the long run.

I’ve been told that only the stand-alone version of Mimic can edit DMC files, not the Mimic for Carrara plugin. But each time I try to load a Genesis CR2, Mimic says it can’t find the figure. Is there a way to make a CR2 of Genesis that can be accepted by Mimic so that I can edit DNC files?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 10:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0
argus1000 - 14 February 2014 09:29 AM
joeping - 13 February 2014 06:05 PM

The DMC editing is pretty boring and time consuming, but I think it will be worth it in the long run.

I’ve been told that only the stand-alone version of Mimic can edit DMC files, not the Mimic for Carrara plugin. But each time I try to load a Genesis CR2, Mimic says it can’t find the figure. Is there a way to make a CR2 of Genesis that can be accepted by Mimic so that I can edit DNC files?

Can I ask what is your downside for just “doing it” in Carrara without the DMC?

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  333
Joined  2004-09-12

Very interesting tutorial.

argus1000: I used the technique this tutorial to export a Genesis Figure to Mimic Pro Stand alone. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDYEvSb7jQs

I didn’t know the Carrara Mimic Plug in comes with a Genesis .DMC.  It probably works better than my old version. =)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 10:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  246
Joined  2007-08-26
holly wetcircuit - 14 February 2014 10:01 AM

Can I ask what is your downside for just “doing it” in Carrara without the DMC?


I’m not sure I understand the question. I work in Carrara with the Mimic plugin for Carrara and the standard DMC file that is provided. But I heard that if you modify or edit this DMC file, you can get better results. I though a DMC file was essential. I’m a bit confused because I’m still learning Mimic.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 11:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  87
Joined  2004-09-24
AnAlias - 11 February 2014 09:30 AM

Sometimes, despite your best efforts; these digital puppets WILL NOT BLINK.  Not sure if the model is corrupted, tried everything; not sure why but sometimes it just happens.

Two thoughts on this.

1. I used to have similar problems with DAZ figures and Carrara. I would load a Gen4 figure in, apply morphs and clothing. At some point after working with the scene, several things would stop working - the ability to “blink” was always one of them. This was around the introduction of C8. I am just getting back into Carrara after a while and so far I have NOT seen this problem with C8.5. It may have been fixed.

2. When using NLAs it is easy to get tripped up. Honestly, I am still learning the ins and outs of it. However, if the NLA is somehow controlling the “blink” (keeping eyes open) they you cannot override it. You have to make sure the NLA is not controlling that body part.

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 01:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  246
Joined  2007-08-26
joeping - 14 February 2014 10:46 AM

Very interesting tutorial.
argus1000: I used the technique this tutorial to export a Genesis Figure to Mimic Pro Stand alone. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDYEvSb7jQs
I didn’t know the Carrara Mimic Plug in comes with a Genesis .DMC.  It probably works better than my old version. =)

Thanks, joeping. The updated DMC file for Genesis might not come with the app, but can be found here:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/28504/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2014 03:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  560
Joined  2009-12-08
jrm21 - 14 February 2014 11:33 AM

However, if the NLA is somehow controlling the “blink” (keeping eyes open) they you cannot override it. You have to make sure the NLA is not controlling that body part.

Agreed. Sometimes what we perceive as a bug is in fact NLA controlling what we asked it to control. lol.

However I have found that there are bugs as described in my later videos. e.g. not showing the result of your editing, while you are editing only after the clip is saved again. V annoying as you are forced to guess or restart the session.

 

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 February 2014 11:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

I feel there are a lot of things that don’t “update” now. There is no way to update a shader in the main preview, and reference shaders also will not update unless you go to each instance and re-select the reference shader…

Do we have a bug tracker?

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 February 2014 11:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  560
Joined  2009-12-08
holly wetcircuit - 15 February 2014 11:49 AM

I feel there are a lot of things that don’t “update” now. There is no way to update a shader in the main preview, and reference shaders also will not update unless you go to each instance and re-select the reference shader…

Do we have a bug tracker?

I must admit I haven’t raised one for this. I’m using my network rendering doesn’t work for IES lights as a test run before I add any more.

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 February 2014 01:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0
argus1000 - 14 February 2014 10:47 AM
holly wetcircuit - 14 February 2014 10:01 AM

Can I ask what is your downside for just “doing it” in Carrara without the DMC?


I’m not sure I understand the question. I work in Carrara with the Mimic plugin for Carrara and the standard DMC file that is provided. But I heard that if you modify or edit this DMC file, you can get better results. I though a DMC file was essential. I’m a bit confused because I’m still learning Mimic.

I have the old Mimic Pro that writes the DMCs, but I don’t use it…. I am not aware of any helpful controls that allow you to create nuances, other than just editing the poses. It’s been a while since I used it - and I may be confusing it with CrazyTalk (which *does* have a lot of nuance controls).

I set up the associations in Carrara (for mouths generally it is like 5-7 poses, which I re-use on similar “visemes”. I actually like the “soft” look of this better than the DMCs which can look a little ar•tic•ul•at•ed - somewhat distracting - especially the letter L which suddenly makes the tongue appear but you don’t see it otherwise.

imho, people’s faces just don’t move much when they talk… most people just talk slackjawed and expressionless unless it is public speaking.

I have been saving a Master Scene of my character with all her Mimic setup and call it “mimic ready”. For me it hasn’t gotten more complicated than that. (I try to render figures and background separate, it’s faster)

But I just tested whether you can export the character with all the Mimic assignments (to get it into another Carrara scene). It is pretty easy. You have to drag all your poses and clips into a track (just one), then export your figure via the Browser / Scenes or Browser / Objects (use a group to save clothing, etc w the figure).... When you drag the figure into your new scene the NLA track is still there and all your Mimic assignments are attached to their poses…. In otherwords, all the poses export along with the figure by riding along in the NLA track. If you forget a pose it will not be saved with the figure and that assignment under Mimic will be blank.

You can’t just “drag all the poses” onto the NLA track, they have to be dragged one-by-one, so that’s a bit of work if you have a lot of poses…

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 February 2014 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

For what it’s worth, here is a discussion of “dynamic visemes” on something called DISNEY RESEARCH. Since Carrara uses NLA for the mouth shapes, you could explore a little of using clips instead of poses for each viseme - that’s something Carrara Mimic can do that Mimic Pro can’t, although I’m not sure Mimic’s analyzer would be be as “dynamic” as Disney’s - they seem to be inventing a new way of looking at lipsync.

http://www.disneyresearch.com/project/dynamic-visemes/

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2014 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  333
Joined  2004-09-12

WOW Thanks Holly, as always you provide great information. 
The results of the Disney technique looks amazing and are very inspiring.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2