Can't find installed content in DAZ

qbfijiqbfiji Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi there, I'm new to DAZ studio and recently purchased the Toon Generations Mega Bundle but can't seem to find where the all the extra content is when I open Daz. Only the base character and it's contents shows up but not the extra stuff.

I'm using a Mac by the way. When the installer started up it asked me where I wanted the content installed so I installed the everything in:

[username] / documents / DAZ3D / Studio / My Library /

Is this not the right location?

I can see the extra content (Accessories, Clothes, Hair) I need in the runtime folder when I'm searching for it on my desktop in this path:

[username] / documents / DAZ3D / Studio / My Library / Runtime / libraries / Characters / 3D Universe - Toon / Humanoid / Toon Generations /

But I don't know how to access any of it in DAZ.

Any help in shedding light on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,982
    edited December 1969

    You need to use the Content Library pan, not the Smart Content pane. That should be available under Window>Tabs>Content Library, unless you are using the Full service layout in which case you need to switch to another layout (Window>Workspace>Select Layout). Once you have the Content Library, open the Poser formats group, then My Library, then Figures, then the 3D Universe - Toon / Humanoid / Toon Generations / folders (Figures is the way Runtime\libraries\character appears in the pane).

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Hello

    I have bought the MC-MMM Daz Studio expensive pack of texture
    have installed it file after file and can't find it on DAZ.

    I would like to apply these stone and metal texture to the skin
    of the face of my model...

    Can somebody be helpfull????
    I see and can find it in application/DAZStudio/content....

    But don't find it when i open DAZ and want to use it...

    Maybe there is something to do i don't know...

    Im on Mac Intel and on DAZ 32....

    KISSES AND THANK YOU FOR YOUR ANSWER

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Hello

    I have bought the MC-MMM Daz Studio expensive pack of texture
    have installed it file after file and can't find it on DAZ.


    That Set will only be found in your DS under the CONTENT LIBRARY Tab in Daz Studio Formats> or the Poser Formats> it does not have Metadata so it will never show in the SMART CONTENT Tab.

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Thank you Jaderail for the quickest answer i have never seen!!!

    Matter of fact is that i tryed every file of the content ibrary and cant find my precious materials....
    i join you a screen capture of the library where im searching to show you how i do...

    It's a problem a can't fix alone... Is it possible that it is not compatible? i installed the mac version...
    It's driving me nuts..

    ahhhhhhhh

    Capture_d’écran_2012-05-29_à_17.49_.11_.png
    375 x 862 - 61K
  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    It is Daz Studio compatable so thats not it. I'm PC not MAC, if it was installed properly it should show I think.

    Please wait for help from a MAC user. I'm sure you will get it working with the help of the users here. Just give it a little time.

    Sorry I can not help more.

  • FixmypcmikeFixmypcmike Posts: 12,384
    edited December 1969

    If I'm reading you correctly, you installed the content to the Application folder rather than the Documents folder. If you go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library > Content Directory Manager and expand the DAZ Studio Formats and Poser formats sections, you'll see the path you should be installing content to. The default is ...Documents\Daz 3D\Studio\My Library

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    THANK YOU!!! YOU RULE!!!

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Back again for the last question in that topic

    Now everything is ok i have my texture in my library
    But now i can't apply it to the skin of my model

    What is the method. I select the part of the body
    end then double click on the texture and nothing happens
    when i render...

    So i continue searching but if you are there your advice
    are precious...

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,982
    edited December 1969

    What do you mean by "texture"? If it's a materials preset you don't need to seelct surfaces, they will be altered as long as the preset is for the figure in question and as long as part of the figure is selected.

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited May 2012

    Thank you!

    Ive tryed to apply a material for exemple Metal1.dsa
    Something happens on the surfce of the face of my model
    but when i render it's white without any material....

    when i try to apply a material to a part of the body of my model
    a window open and says that there is a missing file

    but this is what i have bought.

    i put a screen capture for you to understand my problem...

    Im sorry every new step leads to a new problem...

    I just wants to put a differrent skin on the face of my model...





    Edited to remove over-sized images http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/510_98/

    Post edited by Richard Haseltine on
  • jakibluejakiblue Posts: 2,024
    edited December 1969

    Thank you!

    Ive tryed to apply a material for exemple Metal1.dsa
    Something happens on the surfce of the face of my model
    but when i render it's white without any material....

    when i try to apply a material to a part of the body of my model
    a window open and says that there is a missing file

    but this is what i have bought.

    i put a screen capture for you to understand my problem...

    Im sorry every new step leads to a new problem...

    I just wants to put a differrent skin on the face of my model...

    it looks like it's trying to find a file and can't, whether due to an error in the file path or all the files didn't install. There's something like 10 installers I think for that product - did you install all of them? If so, then it must be a file path error.

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Is it possible to do what i want?
    put those material on the skin of the body
    of my model?

  • jakibluejakiblue Posts: 2,024
    edited December 1969

    shaders, yep, you can apply shaders to anything. make sure you have the bits selected in teh surface tab too.

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Ok jakiblue

    Sorry to insist but im trying to do this very
    simple thing since 1 week during Hours a day

    Yes you can say iam a piece of sh...t

    Could you explain me how to do precisely
    because as you can see i am a noob
    and im french so it's difficult to understand
    and to know how to apply the advice people gives
    to me here.

    Last thing

    Thanks

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    How can i have the bits selected in the surface tab?

    If only you could be there and show me...
    I'm becoming crazy with DAZ3D.

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Me again...
    I try to do what you said
    but nothing happens.

    I go to the surface menu and try
    to click on different thing, test, try and look what happens
    but nothing happens...

    Please

    I'm desperate
    and would like to do the face
    of my model with a stone
    skin. Only that for my personal
    research.

    I paid 25$ for a pack of shader
    i can't use. Please Does anybody of
    the dazed team could help me?

    I s something missing?

    Thank you

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,982
    edited December 1969

    Using the Surface selection tool (from the Tools menu) should allow you to seelct material zones. Hold down the cmd key to select additional areas. If that isn't working, the first thing to do is to check the log file (Help>Troubleshooting>View log) immediately after applying one of the presets and look at the end to see if there are any errors related to them. Another thing to check is your render settings (Window>Panes(Tabs)>Render Settings).

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited May 2012

    hello and thank you for your advices
    but the problem is not to select part of my body

    My problem is to apply the MAT CREATOR organics10.dsa to the selectionned
    part of the body. I have a error message and can't fix it
    because the files i have bought
    is a .dsa file and there is no jpg or png version like it is asked
    in the screen capture i post here


    Is there an issue please
    or i ask a refund by dazed
    for this non working package...

    I need a genius who could understand my
    problem...

    Thanks

    Image removed for image size. Please refer to this thread. http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/510_98/

    Post edited by frank0314 on
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,982
    edited December 1969

    An earlier poster said this item came in several parts - are you sure you downloaded and ran all of the installers?

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Wow that could be the problem let me look at this!!

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Thanks to you i have found the missing files in a folder called runtime...
    but Daze still dosn't find the files.... And it still dont work..

    Maybe i have to put my mat creator MC-MMM into a specific folder for daz to find well the
    different things...

    Any clues?

  • FixmypcmikeFixmypcmike Posts: 12,384
    edited December 1969

    The .jpg's will probably be in Runtime:Textures:MatCreator
    DAZ Studio will only find them if the Runtime folder is in the proper place -- the default location would be directly under My Library.

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    i try :)

  • thibautrobinthibautrobin Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Fixed thank you
    youre great!!!

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel