Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 6
3
Bryce 7 compatible with mac lion
Posted: 13 February 2013 06:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-02-13

I think that the major issue here is the supporting of Bryce 7 (or any Bryce rev), in MAC systems and not this type of “fighting” that not help us (users and DAZ).

The point here, via posting, is Daz to official replay into all Bryce-users calls for solution. For someone may the “end” of Bryce as software, can be as equal as the end of the world. We should respect them to.   

There is any from Daz to inform us when we expect to have a supporting rev of Bryce on Mac 10.8.2, in one month? in one year? in one decate? never?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 February 2013 07:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  931
Joined  2003-10-09
pitgrapher - 13 February 2013 06:42 PM

I think that the major issue here is the supporting of Bryce 7 (or any Bryce rev), in MAC systems and not this type of “fighting” that not help us (users and DAZ).

The point here, via posting, is Daz to official replay into all Bryce-users calls for solution. For someone may the “end” of Bryce as software, can be as equal as the end of the world. We should respect them to.   

There is any from Daz to inform us when we expect to have a supporting rev of Bryce on Mac 10.8.2, in one month? in one year? in one decate? never?

Not really because Daz doesn’t really have the resources to just make this happen whenever they want it to so it’s much more then just them making the decision to do it. Added to that is that the bestt people for the job (ones that are already familiar with Bryce and the latest versions of the Mac OS ) work on contract so it’s kind of a matter of them being available at the same time Daz is able to afford to contract them. So the best Daz has been able to give is that when they do contract they right people and bring Bryce back into developement the top priority is to get it working for the Mac. Until then it will still run on older machines that can run the older version of the OS (and keep in mind I’m not talking super old just a few years back. Or you can use it on newer machine with the newer OS but use something like parallels to run window on a seperate partition. Perhaps not ideal solutions but certainly enough for the person whose use of Bryce is a matter of life or death.

Now I’ve tried to suggest to people that rather then insisting on trying to coerce Daz into doing it (which has been tried and hasn’t worked for over two years now) it might yield better results to turn to Apple, a much bigger and wealthier company, with the resources to make things happen when they want to rather then have to wait until they can get the right people. As I understand it the problem is Apple allowed the licensing to expire for a certain emulator they used to translate code meant for a motorola chip that Macs used to have, into code that the newer intel chip can understand. They chose not to renew and so when they made the next version after snow leapord it didn’t have this emulator that Bryce depended on to run on the newer systems. So this problem could be fairly simply resolved by Apple renewing that license and putting the emulator back in or by figuring some other way to add support for that motorola code. Another option would possibly be if the people resposible for that emulator made it so end users could buy it and use it with the newer OS’s.

Nobody is really trying to fight hear it’s just that after more then two years of people coming here and saying “Daz you need to fix this” and then Daz not fixing it, it seems kind of a wasted effort to come here and say “Daz you need to fix this”. The problem is many of the Mac users get kind of upset when they hear asking Daz to do it isn’t likely to work and they take it out on whoever is answering their reply even though none of us work for Daz.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 February 2013 08:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-02-13

I agree with you and some other that we have other options to work our Bryce in our Mac systems but… I recently “jump” from Windows to Mac and now I face the possibility of working Windows in parallel mode into MAC… this is hilarious!!!

I understand that the hole procedure of update the internal codelines of any program, and in particular of Bryce, is not an easy work. I’m working with Bryce since 1999 and I know that when Daz redeem the software from Corel and change the rendering engine the Bryce become the best program for the simple user. So, nobody can accuse Daz that didnt’ invest on this program. However, the last version of Bryce released on 2010, which means 3 years and lots of posts in many forums. Personal I dont’ request to “fix it” but “when planned to in time frame”.

The Apple prior any releasing make announcements to the developers for compatibility issues, from the moment of releasing the problem transfer to the Software developers and the users. I suppose that Apple has a reason to remove the motorola compatibility emulator.

So, the problem is not only that MAC-users of Bryce cant’ work with the program, is not only that Daz has issues to develop the Bryce (funds, availability, experience programers etc.), is that new users with MAC systems (and beleave me, there are many and increasing every year), will avoid to buy this very good program, old-users will try to found other software and at the end Daz will lose all the MAC’s customers.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2013 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2005-04-07

I updated to Lion.
Lion Broke my Daz programs, and my adobe CS suite.  Had to buy a new HD and partition it for duel boot. one in Lion and one in Leopard so far as of now 2/2013 DAZ programs do NOT work in Lion.  if your going to upgrade. do what I did. partition the drive, and make keep Leopard OS and Lion OS separate so you can have the best of both worlds.  otherwise consider giving up Daz products.

Yeesh..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 March 2013 12:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2003-11-28
PsyberWolf - 18 February 2013 01:43 PM

I updated to Lion.
Lion Broke my Daz programs, and my adobe CS suite.  Had to buy a new HD and partition it for duel boot. one in Lion and one in Leopard so far as of now 2/2013 DAZ programs do NOT work in Lion.  if your going to upgrade. do what I did. partition the drive, and make keep Leopard OS and Lion OS separate so you can have the best of both worlds.  otherwise consider giving up Daz products.

Yeesh..

I updated to Lion about a year ago, and yes, there are issues with some applications. But apart from Bryce The Daz applications I have (Studio, Hexagon and Carrara) work perfectly. (So do Adobe CS and loads of other applications). It may be, that the update to Lion has been playing tricks with your disk permissions and the new way Lion handles security makes it a pain in the *** to install content from Daz.
Repair permissions often - more often than you did before.

As to Bryce’s lack of support for Lion: Bryce had the same problem when OS 9 changed into 10. It takes time and lots of effort to go through all code and secure, that it is compatible with an OS. And OS’es change constantly. Bryce never was fast, when it comes to updates.

So having two disks with two OS’es is a solution.  I did that too. And it is possible to share a runtime between the different start-ups. So I have a complete installation of the applications under Leopard and under Lion as well as under Windows 7 through Parallels, all on the same computer. What does not work in one OS works in another.  Be creative, not only in your art, but also with your applications.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 March 2013 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-03-05

So, I am trying to get Bryce 7.1 Pro up and running on a Mac running Mountain Lion. Right now, I cannot get it to run.

Is there any hope or am I completely hosed.

Thanks,

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 March 2013 09:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17027
Joined  2003-10-09

It does say on the product page, and in the tech specs that

This product is currently incompatible with Mac OSX Lion and Mountain Lion. We do not recommend using these platforms for Bryce 7.

Sorry.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 March 2013 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-03-05

I was hoping that they would have fixed that by now, really. I mean, Hexagon works…you’d think they could take something from there…or DAZ Studio!! LOL

Kinda ridiculous…and lame if you ask me.

Well…I guess I’ll uninstall it, and go back to Sketchup….which works on just about any platform known to man. I guess I knew that the software would be ruined once it got bought up by Daz.

Sorry to rant and whine…but…this is entirely stupid. A great way to ruin good software.

Maybe someday I’ll give another look…hopefully they’ll have come to their senses by then.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 March 2013 07:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1772
Joined  2007-12-10
darkwolf29a - 10 March 2013 10:23 AM

Sorry to rant and whine…

Not as sorry as we are to have to listen to another Mac user ranting and whining instead of finding a work around. rolleyes


And yes I’m a Mac user, I use Bryce 7.1 Pro everyday on a perfectly working Mac running a perfectly working copy of Bryce on a Mac OS that not only runs Bryce but also runs every other software I need perfectly too.

And the software wasn’t ruined when it was bought up by Daz. The latest version has given us more and better features than Bryce has ever had. Daz has made Bryce much much better, not ruined it.

Apple ruined it for the stick in the mud Mac users that can’t be assed or just point blank refuse to find ways to work Bryce (it runs using Parallels or an other Windoze emulator, you can set up a partition running Leopard, you can buy a perfectly working older Mac with Leopard installed for less than £120 on eBay and run Bryce on that etc.).
It’s not Daz’s fault that Lion (which was released after Bryce 7.1) was not compatible with Bryce.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  127
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m currently on Mountain Lion. I use quite a few applications including the Adobe Creative Suite and other major programs. Bryce is the last of the big apps that I still want to use that isn’t Lion/Mountain Lion compatible. I realize that not every company has the resources to keep up all the software in a timely manner all the time, but it’s been quite a while since Lion came out, about two and half years, which would make you think that is plenty of time to update Bryce to be compatible with at least Lion since it still allows 32-bit programs. However, since just about every program has moved to 64-bit even here at Daz. I’m hoping that Bryce will become a 64-bit program and that’s one of the reasons for the long delay.

I did notice on another thread that Bryce 7.5 is in testing. I have no idea what level of testing, but just having it being mentioned and not have the post deleted gives me hope that it’s in beta testing, not alpha. Either way, I certainly hope Daz will give Platinum members a beta preview option so we can put Bryce through it’s paces. It would be very nice to be able to use Bryce again on my Mac.

 Signature 

SpaceCorps Command

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 March 2013 03:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1772
Joined  2007-12-10

Sorry MacSavers, I think what you read about Bryce 7.5 was most likely a joke (If it’s the thread I’m thinking of).

At present Daz doesn’t have anyone on staff who can recode Bryce.
Ever the optimist, we all believe that when that situation alters Daz will prioritise the Mountain Lion issue and the 64bit issue, but at the moment, there is no word of when that will be.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 March 2013 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  127
Joined  2003-10-09

There have been similar complaints with Hexagon, but they did finally come out with a fix to make it useable again.

Still, even being a joke, Daz isn’t in the habit of letting threads or posts exist that could cause frustration on their end. Bryce is also a true money maker, unlike Hexagon, so it would probably receive a higher priority than Hexagon. Even Carrara gets some love. Obviously DazStudio is at the top of the food chain here, but Bryce isn’t at the bottom.

 Signature 

SpaceCorps Command

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 March 2013 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  931
Joined  2003-10-09
pitgrapher - 13 February 2013 08:23 PM

So, the problem is not only that MAC-users of Bryce cant’ work with the program, is not only that Daz has issues to develop the Bryce (funds, availability, experience programers etc.), is that new users with MAC systems (and beleave me, there are many and increasing every year), will avoid to buy this very good program, old-users will try to found other software and at the end Daz will lose all the MAC’s customers.

Well to put it bluntly, the possibility of losing all the Mac/Bryce customers isn’t going to change anything. Like it or not there just aren’t enough of you and therefore the loss of business from all Mac/Bryce users would have little to no impact on Daz’s bottomline. If there were enough users that Daz would feel it to lose all Mac/Bryce customers then Daz would have been forced to find a way to fix the Mac/Bryce problem before now.

I doubt your forecast though, there are Mac users right now enjoying Bryce 7.1 Pro, some even making a living from it. They’re not looking for a way to use Bryce, they have found a way.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 March 2013 09:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  127
Joined  2003-10-09
LordHardDriven - 12 March 2013 08:59 AM
pitgrapher - 13 February 2013 08:23 PM

So, the problem is not only that MAC-users of Bryce cant’ work with the program, is not only that Daz has issues to develop the Bryce (funds, availability, experience programers etc.), is that new users with MAC systems (and beleave me, there are many and increasing every year), will avoid to buy this very good program, old-users will try to found other software and at the end Daz will lose all the MAC’s customers.

Well to put it bluntly, the possibility of losing all the Mac/Bryce customers isn’t going to change anything. Like it or not there just aren’t enough of you and therefore the loss of business from all Mac/Bryce users would have little to no impact on Daz’s bottomline. If there were enough users that Daz would feel it to lose all Mac/Bryce customers then Daz would have been forced to find a way to fix the Mac/Bryce problem before now.

I doubt your forecast though, there are Mac users right now enjoying Bryce 7.1 Pro, some even making a living from it. They’re not looking for a way to use Bryce, they have found a way.

The only people still using Bryce on the Mac are using older computers with a 4-year old Mac OS. They certainly aren’t ‘purchasing’ new copies. Right now, I’m fairly certain, that Mac sales are pretty much nonexistent. This is strictly due to the fact that you can’t use it on the newer machines and Mac OS. Since the newer machines are faster and can render much faster than the older computers, anyone wanting to improve Bryce’s performance are out of luck on a Mac.

Of course, if you don’t own a Mac, you shouldn’t care. Mac users should be very concerned. If you don’t own a Mac and are commenting on this issue… why? You have nothing to gain from this conversation and surprisingly very little to offer.

 Signature 

SpaceCorps Command

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 March 2013 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  931
Joined  2003-10-09
MacSavers - 12 March 2013 09:07 AM
LordHardDriven - 12 March 2013 08:59 AM
pitgrapher - 13 February 2013 08:23 PM

So, the problem is not only that MAC-users of Bryce cant’ work with the program, is not only that Daz has issues to develop the Bryce (funds, availability, experience programers etc.), is that new users with MAC systems (and beleave me, there are many and increasing every year), will avoid to buy this very good program, old-users will try to found other software and at the end Daz will lose all the MAC’s customers.

Well to put it bluntly, the possibility of losing all the Mac/Bryce customers isn’t going to change anything. Like it or not there just aren’t enough of you and therefore the loss of business from all Mac/Bryce users would have little to no impact on Daz’s bottomline. If there were enough users that Daz would feel it to lose all Mac/Bryce customers then Daz would have been forced to find a way to fix the Mac/Bryce problem before now.

I doubt your forecast though, there are Mac users right now enjoying Bryce 7.1 Pro, some even making a living from it. They’re not looking for a way to use Bryce, they have found a way.

The only people still using Bryce on the Mac are using older computers with a 4-year old Mac OS. They certainly aren’t ‘purchasing’ new copies. Right now, I’m fairly certain, that Mac sales are pretty much nonexistent. This is strictly due to the fact that you can’t use it on the newer machines and Mac OS. Since the newer machines are faster and can render much faster than the older computers, anyone wanting to improve Bryce’s performance are out of luck on a Mac.

Of course, if you don’t own a Mac, you shouldn’t care. Mac users should be very concerned. If you don’t own a Mac and are commenting on this issue… why? You have nothing to gain from this conversation and surprisingly very little to offer.

You ASSuME too much. There are some Mac users enjoying Bryce 7.1 Pro on older systems running an old OS then there are some on brand new systems using things like Parallels.

Sounds to me you’ve taken your own personal situation and your own refusal to do what is necessary to be able to run Bryce 7.1 Pro and projected that on everyone else so that you can make unsubstantiated claims in the hopes of threatening Daz into making life more convenient for you. “You better fix Bryce for Mac Daz or you’re going to lose all these customers”.

You shouldn’t ASSuME that Windows users have nothing to offer or no reason to care either. First of all a windows user can tell you just as easily as a MAc user that Bryce is currently not being developed and there is no timeline for when that will change but when it does change Daz has stated that the Mac compatability issue will be top priority. Aside from that though we windows users also enjoy this forum as it is not a MAc only forum and frankly we’re tired of seeing people coming in here and pissing all over Daz just because they are mad they can’t do what they want, when they want, the way they want. Okay now run along and get back to holding your breath and stamping your feet in protest.

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 6
3