Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 5
1
Alembic Exporter for DAZ Studio- How Do You Use It- Does It Work With Lightwave, etc
Posted: 15 January 2014 01:57 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8033
Joined  2012-09-10

Alembic Exporter for DAZ Studio is confusing to me- (nothing new.) Does this work with, say, Lightwave?  Is it just for animations? Totally lost. Below is the product description. It’s 50% off plus you can use your PC coupon for another $6 off as it’s a DO.

The Alembic format is used in production pipelines involving many of the top 3D modeling/animation applications.
With this exporter plugin for DAZ Studio you gain the ability to use DAZ Studio assets, as well as “Vertex Exact” animations, in your favorite 3D modeling/animation applications.

One possible pipeline where the Alembic exporter will be useful is when doing the following:

  Animate a figure such as Victoria 6 in DAZ Studio
  Export to Alembic format
  Import Alembic file into preferred 3D application
  Set up surfaces, lighting and cameras
  Render

The animation of Victoria 6 will deform exactly the same in the target 3D application as it did in DAZ Studio due to the way Alembic handles animation.

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #5   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8528
Joined  2009-06-11
Novica - 15 January 2014 01:57 AM

Alembic Exporter for DAZ Studio is confusing to me- (nothing new.) Does this work with, say, Lightwave?  Is it just for animations? Totally lost. Below is the product description. It’s 50% off plus you can use your PC coupon for another $6 off as it’s a DO.

The Alembic format is used in production pipelines involving many of the top 3D modeling/animation applications.
With this exporter plugin for DAZ Studio you gain the ability to use DAZ Studio assets, as well as “Vertex Exact” animations, in your favorite 3D modeling/animation applications.

One possible pipeline where the Alembic exporter will be useful is when doing the following:

  Animate a figure such as Victoria 6 in DAZ Studio
  Export to Alembic format
  Import Alembic file into preferred 3D application
  Set up surfaces, lighting and cameras
  Render

The animation of Victoria 6 will deform exactly the same in the target 3D application as it did in DAZ Studio due to the way Alembic handles animation.

LW11.6 will import abc format see this thread
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?136740-Where-is-the-Alembic-support-in-LW11-6
see the caveats in this thread
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?136915-Better-Alembic-support

and see here

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 03:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8033
Joined  2012-09-10

Thanks for the links.
http://vfxio.com/PDFs/Whats_so_Hot_About_Alembic_v02.pdf  helped somewhat.

Basically, I’m trying to figure out what I can do in DAZ that I would need to send over to Lightwave- or what the benefits would be. I don’t use Lightwave but my sons do, so can anyone answer this- does Lightwave do animation better than DAZ in some respects/all respects? Is the renderer better or the same?

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #5   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 03:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8033
Joined  2012-09-10

I also bought iclone- haven’t touched it of course, but got a great deal on it and figure I can get around to it. Does this thing work for that too? it wasn’t listed in the Wikipedia article, but Lightwave was.

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #5   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 04:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8033
Joined  2012-09-10

Also, keep in mind it will get you near the $50 mark, you get $5 off if you get 50.00 in your cart,plus it is DAZ so you can use your $6 off code if you are a PC member, so it would end up being $33.67

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #5   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 05:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  2008-11-10

I noticed that Modo and Cinema 4D uses this format for importing as well. Cool! smile May have to play around rendering with those apps to see how it looks. It’s great that you can export scenes to those and other apps as well now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 06:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15742
Joined  2003-10-09

As I understand it it’s similar to mdd, it stores the way the vertices that define a shape move so that you get exactly the same animation in source and target, but it’s a snapshot not a rigged figure so you can’t (easily) edit the animation in the target application. It does seem to be pretty much an animators tool.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 06:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8431
Joined  2009-07-13

not suitable for iClone, that uses bone rigging, FBX the only supported animation format, does obj, skp and other static meshes otherwise
dunno if Blender can use it, I have gotten genesis animation in via animate2 .mdd using frozen simulated optitex cloth into Blender from Daz.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 07:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  49
Joined  2004-12-05

Do you think this plug-in will become a standard part of the next version of DazStudio as an exporter ? And about software, Do you think actual version software are using this format for now or we will have to update or upgrade major software to get this option. Perhaps Autodesk product like Maya or other could use it ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 08:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  34
Joined  2003-10-09

This wiki page has a list of software and release versions that support the format currently.  I am pretty sure there are others not on the list.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alembic_(Computer_Graphics)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 08:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3143
Joined  2004-04-25
JayPeeBee - 15 January 2014 07:52 AM

Do you think this plug-in will become a standard part of the next version of DazStudio as an exporter ? And about software, Do you think actual version software are using this format for now or we will have to update or upgrade major software to get this option. Perhaps Autodesk product like Maya or other could use it ...

DAZ may do it eventually.  They sold the FBX exporter for years (at a significantly higher price tag than the one you see on the product page) before adding FBX support to DS.  In the end, your guess is as good as the next persons regarding what DAZ will do.

As for other software, you would have to check each individual software version to see if they support it at all and what version.

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  463
Joined  2011-11-12

Alembic is cool if you’re an animator. It certainly beats having exporting a Collada version of a DAZ figure, having to tweak the bones and possibly re-paint the weights (if you’re hardcore). That said, DAZ is not a great animation program without plugins.

 Signature 

My 3D/DAZ/Poser news blog - DigiSprawl

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 09:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3143
Joined  2004-04-25

A short informational piece I found when trying to understand what the exporter actually does

http://www.quadernii.com/2012/12/fbxcollada-vs-alembic-2/

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 10:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  463
Joined  2011-11-12

Alembic doesn’t export rigging. Just exports vertice data from an animated sequence. No rigging, no weights, just an animated sequence.

I was wondering about the import thing too. If it includes one, then yes, we will be able to import physics simulations.

 Signature 

My 3D/DAZ/Poser news blog - DigiSprawl

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 10:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  181
Joined  2003-10-09

Does DS Alembic export the basic surface materials along with the vertices?  OR do we have to setup surfaces in our target app?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
nakamuram002 - 15 January 2014 10:30 AM

Does DS Alembic export the basic surface materials along with the vertices?  OR do we have to setup surfaces in our target app?

The current (released) version of the format does not support surfaces, yet. THe exporter will collect all the maps for you in order to help you set up the surfaces in your target app.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 5
1