Off to the Retirement Home for TC2?

acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
edited December 1969 in The Commons

I didn't buy TC2 when it was released, but just recently I had a need to convert a V3 texture. I remembered the product and went searching. It's still in the DAZ Store but, out of curiosity, I clicked through to the 3D Universe web site.

Imagine my utter astonishment when I saw the statement that there will no further updates for the Windows platform because 3DU have moved all their development to the Mac OSX platform!

What??!!! Are you insane? I know there are a lot of Apple fanbois out there that swear by the Mac. I even have an old MacBook that I like to use for some jobs but, for crying out loud, to abandon the most common application platform on Earth (however annoying WinDoze has become) to lock yourselves away in that tiny pocket universe that is the Mac??? Where is the sense in that?

Now I have to think very, very, carefully before spending money on what is, by 3DU's own admission, an obsolete product.

Personally, I think you guys at 3DU are stark raving mad - but, anyway, does anyone have any experiences with this product so I can gauge whether it is worth shelling out on?

«1

Comments

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 16,143
    edited December 1969

    ...woah, that's a twist. Usually it's Mac users have been getting the "back seat" so to say.

  • PennamePenname Posts: 224
    edited December 1969

    I didn't see anything like that on their website.

    Unfortunately, I don't have experience with the products. I use the defaults for the older figures when I want to use them, and otherwise I think a better investment would be some of the newer figures.

  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited December 1969

    Penname said:
    I didn't see anything like that on their website.

    Unfortunately, I don't have experience with the products. I use the defaults for the older figures when I want to use them, and otherwise I think a better investment would be some of the newer figures.


    http://www.3duniverse.co.za/page/?texture_convertor

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 16,143
    edited December 1969

    ...hopefully someone will move into fill the void.

    Does TC2 even work with Genesis and Genesis 2?

  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited January 2014

    Daz Studio has map transfer built in which is free and more accurate, so in a way the void has already been filled:)

    Post edited by Zev0 on
  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited January 2014

    Zev0 said:
    Daz Studio has map transfer built in which is free and more accurate, so in a way the void has already been filled:)

    So, in DAZ Studio, out of the box, with no addons, I can just slap a V3 texture onto Genesis? I didn't know that!

    (Edit: But it doesn't alter the fact that a retired product is being sold in the DAZ Store without any warnings to purchasers that they are buying an obsolete end of line piece of software)

    Post edited by acanthis on
  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited January 2014

    Yep:). You will need The UV maps from the legacy shapes. Basically you can transfer from whatever UV is populated on your Genesis1\2. Here is some tutorials

    http://kaos3d.deviantart.com/journal/Daz-Studio-4-Map-Transfer-Mini-Tutorial-303888794

    http://kaos3d.deviantart.com/journal/Tutorial-The-Map-Transfer-Utility-368686796

    Post edited by Zev0 on
  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited December 1969

    Zev0 said:

    Fantastic! Thanks for these links. I think you've just saved me an unnecessary expense!

  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited December 1969

    Cool:) I use it all the time, if you experience any issues just post them. Make sure the settings are on full. The higher the settings, better the conversion. Also only do one group at a time (eg all maps starting with 1) or you might get some weird results. So you would do all face, torso and limb conversions seperately.

  • Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,384
    edited December 1969

    Sadly, I haven't had much luck converting my K4 textures using the map transfer utility. I keep getting seams on the joints between surfaces which can be really noticeable. I think it's a bit hit and miss at times, so some textures may convert better than others. It's for this reason alone that I think I'll keep TC2 in reserve :)

  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited January 2014

    Zev0 said:
    Cool:) I use it all the time, if you experience any issues just post them. Make sure the settings are on full. The higher the settings, better the conversion. Also only do one group at a time (eg all maps starting with 1) or you might get some weird results. So you would do all face, torso and limb conversions seperately.

    To save myself an awful lot of time, could you please give a hint as to how I can actually apply the V3 MATs to Genesis? That's the first step in the tutorial. There is no Victoria 3 UV set, and the INject MAT pose has no effect. Do I have to manually set the texture maps on each surface?

    Post edited by acanthis on
  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited January 2014

    edited

    Post edited by Zev0 on
  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited January 2014

    Zev0 said:
    In order for Genesis to register V3 UV maps you need to have the following http://www.daz3d.com/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis

    Yes, I've got them. I'm trying to apply a V3 texture to Genesis 1 with the Victoria 3 Female Shape slider set to 1. But there is no option in the UVs for Victoria 3.

    Edit: Looking at some other threads from a few years back (http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/10638/) It seems this is not a new problem. Basically, it can't be done.

    So it does look like TC2 or nothing :(

    Post edited by acanthis on
  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited December 1969

    You don't need any shape dialled. Just load on the texture map you wish to convert and then go to map transfer and follow the steps in the tutorial

  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited December 1969

    Zev0 said:
    You don't need any shape dialled. Just load on the texture map you wish to convert and then go to map transfer and follow the steps in the tutorial

    Got that, but the first step is: "You load the desired texture on to Genesis in Daz Studio 4 (in which ever form, V5, M5 etc)" and that cannot be done because there is no way to load the maps that I can find.

  • Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,384
    edited December 1969

    Zev0 said:
    In order for Genesis to register V3 UV maps you need to have the following http://www.daz3d.com/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis
    Sadly, that product only gives you the shapes and does NOT include UV's for Genesis V3. As others have pointed out, the material zones are widely different between Generation 4 and 3 and the V3 textures are not divided in the same way either.

    TC2 is pretty much the only way I know of to convert V3 textures to V4 and beyond. To be fair though, many V3 textures are showing their age, so I never bought the plugins for the older generation of figures.

  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited December 1969

    It works like this. Say I want to convert a V5 texture set to be converted to V3. I load the V5 texture set onto Genesis, then in map transfer, set the output to V3. It will now convert the V5 texture to V3 UV.

  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited December 1969

    Zev0 said:
    It works like this. Say I want to convert a V5 texture set to be converted to V3. I load the V5 texture set onto Genesis, then in map transfer, set the output to V3. It will now convert the V5 texture to V3 UV.

    I think I might not have made my requirement clear. I wanted to convert a V3 texture to Genesis. I can't load the textures onto Genesis because there is no UV set for V3. Thanks anyway for all your help.

    Anyway, this all started out with the story of a product (TC2) that is advertised as running on the PC only, but, according to the vendor's website, is no longer supported on Windows because they are only going to develop for the Mac!

    I can see now that the only way to get that V3 texture converted is via TC2 into V4, then I can use the Map Transfer utility. I'm just more than a little teed off about buying a product that the vendor has made obsolete and is still selling at full price!!!!

  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited January 2014

    Zev0 said:
    In order for Genesis to register V3 UV maps you need to have the following http://www.daz3d.com/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis
    Sadly, that product only gives you the shapes and does NOT include UV's for Genesis V3. As others have pointed out, the material zones are widely different between Generation 4 and 3 and the V3 textures are not divided in the same way either.

    TC2 is pretty much the only way I know of to convert V3 textures to V4 and beyond. To be fair though, many V3 textures are showing their age, so I never bought the plugins for the older generation of figures.

    As far as I remember the Genesis1 version of the shapes provides the UV as well. I know the ones for Genesis2 does not.

    Post edited by Zev0 on
  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited January 2014

    Zev0 said:
    Zev0 said:
    In order for Genesis to register V3 UV maps you need to have the following http://www.daz3d.com/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis
    Sadly, that product only gives you the shapes and does NOT include UV's for Genesis V3. As others have pointed out, the material zones are widely different between Generation 4 and 3 and the V3 textures are not divided in the same way either.

    TC2 is pretty much the only way I know of to convert V3 textures to V4 and beyond. To be fair though, many V3 textures are showing their age, so I never bought the plugins for the older generation of figures.

    As far as I remember the Genesis1 version of the shapes provides the UV as well. I know the ones for Genesis2 does not.

    Well if it does provide them then I don't know where they are, because they're not in the (quite long) dropdown list of available UVs for almost every living thing in creation besides Gen3. :)

    Post edited by acanthis on
  • Zev0Zev0 Posts: 3,639
    edited January 2014

    Oh Crap, HeraldOfFire you are correct......my mistake...I don't have them either. Why the hell did I think I had them:( sigh...sorry I apologize. Ok this is a clear sign that I need to go sleep:)

    Post edited by Zev0 on
  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited December 1969

    Zev0 said:
    Oh Crap......my mistake...I don't have them either. Why the hell did I think I had them:( sigh...sorry I apologize.

    That's OK.

    Although Gen3 is effectively dead, I think there might still be a market for a DAZ Studio Plugin that would allow you to select a MAT INJection Pose file for a Gen3 product and then convert (and automatically apply) the textures to Genesis/Genesis 2. Not sure how hard that would be, but TC2 was possible so I assume it could be done.

  • Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,384
    edited December 1969

    acanthis said:
    Zev0 said:
    Oh Crap......my mistake...I don't have them either. Why the hell did I think I had them:( sigh...sorry I apologize.

    That's OK.

    Although Gen3 is effectively dead, I think there might still be a market for a DAZ Studio Plugin that would allow you to select a MAT INJection Pose file for a Gen3 product and then convert (and automatically apply) the textures to Genesis/Genesis 2. Not sure how hard that would be, but TC2 was possible so I assume it could be done.

    The way TC2 works is by mapping out each polygon on the target figure to the source figure and working out how the texture would appear in that area. It then copies that portion of the texture onto a new texture map for the target polygons. It's for this reason that TC2 can work with extremely different figures, no matter how the textures are laid out.

    Applying V3 textures to Genesis could never be as simple as double-clicking since the resulting texture maps would be very different from the source. Still, TC2 is still sold for the PC in the Daz store, along with the V3 plugin. You'll want to buy plugins for the source figure and the end figure. Converting to V4 will give you compatibility with Genesis and Genesis 2, so I'd recommend starting with those two.

  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited January 2014

    Probably would be the answer, except that the DAZ Store reports: "This product(s) is currently out of stock" when you try and add it to the shopping cart.

    Hah! Hah! I'm giving up on this.

    Edit: Oh ... no ... wait ... it seems it's suddenly back into stock! :)

    Post edited by acanthis on
  • icprncssicprncss Posts: 3,480
    edited December 1969

    Sadly, I haven't had much luck converting my K4 textures using the map transfer utility. I keep getting seams on the joints between surfaces which can be really noticeable. I think it's a bit hit and miss at times, so some textures may convert better than others. It's for this reason alone that I think I'll keep TC2 in reserve :)

    The reason for this is that DAZ for whatever reason chose not to create a K4 shape for Genesis. Which doesn't make sense. They of course can claim all they want that there was no need for Young Teen or Preschooler iconic shapes for Genesis because in theory they could all use the same maps (in theory because if stretching an other textural issues). Gen 4 had only 3 base mesh shapes. V4, M4 and K4. Would it have been so difficult to create the K4 shape for Genesis?

  • Male-M3diaMale-M3dia Posts: 2,013
    edited January 2014

    acanthis said:
    Zev0 said:
    Oh Crap......my mistake...I don't have them either. Why the hell did I think I had them:( sigh...sorry I apologize.

    That's OK.

    Although Gen3 is effectively dead, I think there might still be a market for a DAZ Studio Plugin that would allow you to select a MAT INJection Pose file for a Gen3 product and then convert (and automatically apply) the textures to Genesis/Genesis 2. Not sure how hard that would be, but TC2 was possible so I assume it could be done.

    You still need TC2 to go from V3 to V4. Genesis does not support Gen3 UVs.

    Post edited by Male-M3dia on
  • acanthisacanthis Posts: 409
    edited December 1969

    Well, on a positive note, TC2 did actually do a very good map conversion and, with the aid of that Wonder Tool: GenX, I was able to achieve what I needed. So, it seems that my Gen3 resources are not yet ready to be consigned to that great Recycle Bin in the sky.

  • KatteyKattey Posts: 2,912
    edited December 1969

    I can vouch that TC2 usually does a very good job on converting Gen 3 textures. I only have V3/M3 to V4/M4 converters and it pretty much covers all that I need to convert.

  • Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,384
    edited December 1969

    icprncss said:
    The reason for this is that DAZ for whatever reason chose not to create a K4 shape for Genesis. Which doesn't make sense. They of course can claim all they want that there was no need for Young Teen or Preschooler iconic shapes for Genesis because in theory they could all use the same maps (in theory because if stretching an other textural issues). Gen 4 had only 3 base mesh shapes. V4, M4 and K4. Would it have been so difficult to create the K4 shape for Genesis?
    Genesis already has Kids 4 UV's as an option though. The shape doesn't matter since all it's really doing is matching which part of the mesh matches which part of the texture. That said, I haven't had much luck converting V4 to V5 when testing the map transfer utility either, as I still get seams there too.

    Maybe it works better with some textures, but as I said earlier, I still prefer TC2 if I need to transfer textures.

  • KharmaKharma Posts: 1,528
    edited January 2014

    EDIT, Post removed by poster

    Post edited by Kharma on
Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel