Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 4
1
Off to the Retirement Home for TC2?
Posted: 14 January 2014 11:59 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2003-10-09

I didn’t buy TC2 when it was released, but just recently I had a need to convert a V3 texture. I remembered the product and went searching. It’s still in the DAZ Store but, out of curiosity, I clicked through to the 3D Universe web site.

Imagine my utter astonishment when I saw the statement that there will no further updates for the Windows platform because 3DU have moved all their development to the Mac OSX platform!

What??!!! Are you insane? I know there are a lot of Apple fanbois out there that swear by the Mac. I even have an old MacBook that I like to use for some jobs but, for crying out loud, to abandon the most common application platform on Earth (however annoying WinDoze has become) to lock yourselves away in that tiny pocket universe that is the Mac??? Where is the sense in that?

Now I have to think very, very, carefully before spending money on what is, by 3DU’s own admission, an obsolete product.

Personally, I think you guys at 3DU are stark raving mad - but, anyway, does anyone have any experiences with this product so I can gauge whether it is worth shelling out on?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 12:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10939
Joined  2007-11-06

...woah, that’s a twist.  Usually it’s Mac users have been getting the “back seat” so to say.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 12:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2011-10-02

I didn’t see anything like that on their website.

Unfortunately, I don’t have experience with the products.  I use the defaults for the older figures when I want to use them, and otherwise I think a better investment would be some of the newer figures.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 12:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2003-10-09
Penname - 15 January 2014 12:44 AM

I didn’t see anything like that on their website.

Unfortunately, I don’t have experience with the products.  I use the defaults for the older figures when I want to use them, and otherwise I think a better investment would be some of the newer figures.


http://www.3duniverse.co.za/page/?texture_convertor

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 12:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10939
Joined  2007-11-06

...hopefully someone will move into fill the void.

Does TC2 even work with Genesis and Genesis 2?

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 01:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3364
Joined  2009-08-05

Daz Studio has map transfer built in which is free and more accurate, so in a way the void has already been filled:)

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 01:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2003-10-09
Zev0 - 15 January 2014 01:31 AM

Daz Studio has map transfer built in which is free and more accurate, so in a way the void has already been filled:)

So, in DAZ Studio, out of the box, with no addons, I can just slap a V3 texture onto Genesis? I didn’t know that!

(Edit: But it doesn’t alter the fact that a retired product is being sold in the DAZ Store without any warnings to purchasers that they are buying an obsolete end of line piece of software)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 01:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3364
Joined  2009-08-05

Yep:). You will need The UV maps from the legacy shapes. Basically you can transfer from whatever UV is populated on your Genesis1\2. Here is some tutorials

http://kaos3d.deviantart.com/journal/Daz-Studio-4-Map-Transfer-Mini-Tutorial-303888794

http://kaos3d.deviantart.com/journal/Tutorial-The-Map-Transfer-Utility-368686796

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 01:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2003-10-09
Zev0 - 15 January 2014 01:52 AM

Yep:). Here is some tutorials

http://kaos3d.deviantart.com/journal/Daz-Studio-4-Map-Transfer-Mini-Tutorial-303888794

http://kaos3d.deviantart.com/journal/Tutorial-The-Map-Transfer-Utility-368686796

Fantastic! Thanks for these links. I think you’ve just saved me an unnecessary expense!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3364
Joined  2009-08-05

Cool:) I use it all the time, if you experience any issues just post them. Make sure the settings are on full. The higher the settings, better the conversion. Also only do one group at a time (eg all maps starting with 1) or you might get some weird results. So you would do all face, torso and limb conversions seperately.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2802
Joined  2009-02-24

Sadly, I haven’t had much luck converting my K4 textures using the map transfer utility. I keep getting seams on the joints between surfaces which can be really noticeable. I think it’s a bit hit and miss at times, so some textures may convert better than others. It’s for this reason alone that I think I’ll keep TC2 in reserve smile

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2003-10-09
Zev0 - 15 January 2014 02:00 AM

Cool:) I use it all the time, if you experience any issues just post them. Make sure the settings are on full. The higher the settings, better the conversion. Also only do one group at a time (eg all maps starting with 1) or you might get some weird results. So you would do all face, torso and limb conversions seperately.

To save myself an awful lot of time, could you please give a hint as to how I can actually apply the V3 MATs to Genesis? That’s the first step in the tutorial. There is no Victoria 3 UV set, and the INject MAT pose has no effect. Do I have to manually set the texture maps on each surface?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3364
Joined  2009-08-05

edited

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2003-10-09
Zev0 - 15 January 2014 02:34 AM

In order for Genesis to register V3 UV maps you need to have the following http://www.daz3d.com/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis

Yes, I’ve got them. I’m trying to apply a V3 texture to Genesis 1 with the Victoria 3 Female Shape slider set to 1. But there is no option in the UVs for Victoria 3.

Edit: Looking at some other threads from a few years back (http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/10638/) It seems this is not a new problem. Basically, it can’t be done.

So it does look like TC2 or nothing :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3364
Joined  2009-08-05

You don’t need any shape dialled. Just load on the texture map you wish to convert and then go to map transfer and follow the steps in the tutorial

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2014 02:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2003-10-09
Zev0 - 15 January 2014 02:39 AM

You don’t need any shape dialled. Just load on the texture map you wish to convert and then go to map transfer and follow the steps in the tutorial

Got that, but the first step is: “You load the desired texture on to Genesis in Daz Studio 4 (in which ever form, V5, M5 etc)” and that cannot be done because there is no way to load the maps that I can find.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 4
1