Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Why does one of my figures go blank white after rendering?  I have attached three screen shots.
Posted: 06 July 2012 04:36 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2011-08-10

Please see the three screen shots.

Image Attachments
scene_after_rendering.png
scene_before_rendering_--_without_light_preview_on.png
scene_before_rendering,_with_light_preview_on.png
 Signature 

You can call me “eee” for short.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 05:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  193
Joined  0

I don’t think it is as simple as the ambient setting for the skin, but it is worth a check.
Advanced shaders use diffuse as preview but can look completely different when rendered.
So what are the material settings for the skin?
Edit:
Have you by any chance use a skin shader made for Poser?
Oh, and you have exceeded the max size for posting on your renders.

Oom

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 05:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7953
Joined  2009-05-14

I have seen this happen with old shaders that are not compatable with the upgraded software. I am not saying that this is the case.


Oom could be right about Poser shader but until know I have only seen them come out black in Daz Studio. But never say never just becase I haven’t seen it doesn’t make to true. smile

Can you provide a little info on what Skin texture is it and what the surface settings are (screenshot will help)

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3246
Joined  2007-06-22

I’ve had this happen with shaders recently, especially the Visual style shaders I was told that its a memory problem.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

80% certain that’s an issue with the version of the old Elite Human Surface Shader.  I’d suggest removing it (EHSS) from your system and reinstalling DS4 to get the native version.


Either way before you do that confirm that the skin in question is using EHSS. smile  If it is, then I think I’ve got the answer (above), if it isn’t, then let us know and we’ll keep trying to help.

 

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 11:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2011-08-10

Must run to work now, so will reply to only one at this moment, will reply more after I return from work.  Thank you to everyone for your replies.


adamr001,


How would I find out if the skin in question is using Elite Human Surface Shader?  If I’m not mistaken, I did once purchase EHSS, but whether I’ve downloaded it to my current computer and whether the skin in question is using it, I’m not sure…

 Signature 

You can call me “eee” for short.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7953
Joined  2009-05-14

Just post a screencap of your Surface settings and we should be able to see if you are using EHSS. Just make sure the scrrencap is no bigger than 800 pixels wide. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 11:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Yup, select the figure on the scene tab, swtich to the surface tab and then select something like “2_SkinFace” and look at the top, it’ll show you the shader, it’ll say like “DAZ Default” or omHumanSurface or omUberSurface.


If it’s the middle one omHumanSurface, then that’s you’re culprit.  If it says something else, then it may be a purely custom shader.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7953
Joined  2009-05-14

Just goes to show my eyes are painted on…I have never noticed that Adam. wink

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 12:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

It might also say pw<something>... In which case you need to make sure you’re using the latest version of those…

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Oh and I just really noticed…. holyschmoly that’s a lot of lights.  Is that a Poser light set you’re trying to use in DS?

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 10:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2011-08-10

This is probably much more than you guys want, but here are screen shots.

Image Attachments
Part_1._Surfaces_.colors_tab_._M4_._.png
Part_2._Surfaces,_colors_Tab_._M4_.png
Part_3._Surfaces,_colors_Tab_._M4_.png
Part_4._Surfaces,_colors_Tab_._M4_.png
Part_5._Surfaces,_colors_Tab_._M4_.png
 Signature 

You can call me “eee” for short.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 10:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2011-08-10

a couple more screen shots:

Image Attachments
Part_6._Surfaces,_colors_Tab_._M4_.png
Surfaces,_colors_Tab._Shader_Baker_._M4_.png
 Signature 

You can call me “eee” for short.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 10:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2011-08-10
adamr001 - 06 July 2012 12:33 PM

Oh and I just really noticed…. holyschmoly that’s a lot of lights.  Is that a Poser light set you’re trying to use in DS?

I don’t know if this will answer your question, but the lights (“Lights1”) are in the Poser Formats section of the Content Library.

 Signature 

You can call me “eee” for short.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 10:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2011-08-10

By the way, the render is from quality setting “3”.  (“4” being the best—and slowest.)

 Signature 

You can call me “eee” for short.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 July 2012 12:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

Hi…

EdwardEdwardEdward - 06 July 2012 10:23 PM

By the way, the render is from quality setting “3”.  (“4” being the best—and slowest.)


Change the render quality setting to “4”.  “3” is a hardware assisted render using OpenGL Shader, that’s why the figures skin is washing out with the current light set.
Also the light set you are using is optimized for poser, so you may need to adjust some of those lights. Unless you are happy with the lighting in the render, then leave them be.
I sometimes believe lighting is a personal taste if it achieves the look you are going for.


Hope this helps… smile

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1