Digital Art Zone

 
     
Fitting Genesis clothing
Posted: 06 July 2012 03:59 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2007-01-13

I’ve just started mucking around with V4 - Genesis , female, applied some bodybuilder, then clothed the character - the cloths don’t fit unless I remove the body builder - I thought they automatically did - or have I missed something obvious?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 04:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6734
Joined  2005-08-15

Where did you get the BodyBuilder morph from?  Are you using clothing designed for Genesis or for V4 via AutoFit?

Are you using a freshly loaded Genesis to apply the V4 morph and BodyBuilder, then applying the clothing all in one session, or are you saving Genesis first before applying the clothing?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 05:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2007-01-13

OK - I’m using only what was downloaded as part of the free V4 Pro package - so I presume everything is Genesis. I have not saved anything and/or downloaded an extra plug-ins or other items.

Thanks for your response.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3308
Joined  2007-06-22

V4 is not Genesis.  There is a morph for Genesis that makes Genesis look like V4. http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v4-and-m4-shapes-for-genesis/


Do you have a link to the free V4 pro package you are using.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 08:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6734
Joined  2005-08-15

As scorpio64dragon says, Victoria 4 is the generation before Genesis.  If you are only using the V4 figure that came with the V4 Pro bundle, then the BodyBuilder morph would need to be built into the clothing to work out of the box.  In DS3 there was an option to use Morph Follower which will tranfer morphs from the figure to the clothing for you.  A similar method is available in DS4 and is called Transfer Active Motphs, which should put the BodyBuilder morph into the clothing you are trying to apply.

Genesis is the latest generation of figures (Generation 5), and can be motphed into almost any shape.  The clothing automatically adjusts to fit the Genesis morph in most cases.  The V4 shape that scorpio64dragon has given a link to is just that, a shape that makes Genesis look like V4, but it is still a Genesis morph, and not a stand-alone figure like V4.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 06:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2007-01-13

OK I think I am confusing people here by using the wrong terminology - by V4, I mean Daz4 Pro (Version 4.0.3.47 Pro Edition (32 bit) - which has Auto Fit plugin as part of the package. As I say I think it is something obvious - staring me in the face.  I’ll chase up the ‘Transfer Active Motphs’ to see if I’m missing something. Thanks for the feedback.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 08:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8987
Joined  2007-11-06

Okay, you are using DAZ Studio 4.0.3.47, you dial in Basic Female and Bodybuilder to Genesis.  What is the clothing item you are having trouble fitting?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 08:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2007-01-13

jacket and shorts mainly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 08:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8987
Joined  2007-11-06

What is the exact product?  If you right-click on the clothing and choose “Fit to…” is it fit to Genesis or None?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2012 09:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2007-01-13

I’m not in DAZ at present, but I think you may have hit it on the head - I said it might be something obvious - let you know if it don’t work - thanks for your patience everyone

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 July 2012 03:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6734
Joined  2005-08-15
Tarak - 06 July 2012 06:22 PM

OK I think I am confusing people here by using the wrong terminology - by V4, I mean Daz4 Pro (Version 4.0.3.47 Pro Edition (32 bit) - which has Auto Fit plugin as part of the package. As I say I think it is something obvious - staring me in the face.  I’ll chase up the ‘Transfer Active Motphs’ to see if I’m missing something. Thanks for the feedback.

Just for future reference:  If you say you are using V4, that is the shorthand for the Victoria 4 model, Michael 4 is known as M4 for obvious reasons, and the other figures have their own shorthand versions too.  The software that you are using is called DAZ Studio 4, and it is usually shortened to DS4 or DS4P for the Pro version.  The previous version was known as DS3 or DS3A for Advanced.

I hope you got your problems sorted out, but if not, you know where we are.

Profile