Digital Art Zone

 
     
Multi-Layered Image Editor Installtion Help!
Posted: 04 July 2012 11:42 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2005-04-06

I recently tried to (re-install) the Multi-Layered Image Editor for DAZ Studio 3 but it is not letting me pick my default directory. Normally everything installs in F:\DAZ\Studio, but when I do the LIE Installation it will not stop defaulting to C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio3\.

It is not giving me a choice to change the directory!

Normally I would fix such a problem by manually moving everything, but as you can see my folder is DAZ, not DAZ 3D, and I’m afraid it won’t read right even if I do copy it all over. Folders don’t even match.

For the DAZ Studio 3 folders, there is docs, plugins, resources, uninstallers. But I don’t see any of these in my own DAZ directory except resources. So I popped everything into F:\DAZ\Studio which is where the resources file is. But when I opened DAZ nothing is there. The menu doesn’t show.

Please help, it’d be appreciated!

Also, I have used default LIE stuff in DAZ studio already. The problem is I cannot edit stuff myself so I keep thinking it didn’t install right, even thoughI can use LIE products fine. I just cannot find anywhere where to open the LIE menu window.

Also, I went under the Help menu to “About Installed Plugins” Everything is showing now invalid, including the LIE, but I have bought this, so I don’t understand >.>

 Signature 

http://drowelfmorwen.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9573
Joined  2007-11-06

The LIE is not content, but a plugin for the program, and does not get installed to your content folder, but to the location of the program.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8313
Joined  2009-05-14

As mike said above it should just install to Daz Studio 3 without giving you the chance to install to a different directory, it should find the correct location by itself. This is true for all Daz Studio Plug-ins.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2005-04-06

Ah, okay… so… I don’t understand. How do I FIND it in DAZ? DAZ is not finding it. I have DAZ itself on an external harddrive because it would never fit on my computer (a laptop). So with this plugin going into my C drive… I mean, please explain this to me. I cannot find it within DAZ Studio, and the program isn’t finding it either. Apparently, anyway. When I go into my textures tab and to a draw-down menu there is no choice for LIE at all.  It’s not there.

 Signature 

http://drowelfmorwen.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15665
Joined  2003-10-09

Where is the DAZ Studio application file - F:\DAZ\Studio or C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio3\? The plugin should go in the Plugins folder in the application folder, rather than in a content folder.

DS can read LIE files without needing the plugin, so what you are experiencing is consistent with it being in the wrong place or being the wrong version - exactly which version of DS are you running (Help>About DAZ Studio), and which versions of the plugins?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2005-04-06

Studio 3.1.2.32 is my version.

And the program is LIE DS3.

LIE DS3 installed into C:\Program Files (x86)\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio3

My DAZ runs from F:\DAZ\Studio

 Signature 

http://drowelfmorwen.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2005-04-06

Actually sorry my DAZ does run from “C:\Program Files (x86)\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio3\DAZStudio.exe”

 Signature 

http://drowelfmorwen.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2012 04:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8313
Joined  2009-05-14

Well if your Daz Studio is installed to your main hard drive being C: then I am at a loss to what is happening.

It does sound like your installation is messed up with the mention of your F: drive.

Any chance you could uninstall DS3 and start again. If all the plug-ins are showing Invalid then I think reinstalling is going to be your best option.

Sorry for the delay in responding as I have had no electric until now.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2012 06:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2005-04-06

I might just have to try that. It’s so odd it’s asking me for a serial number for the LIE, but I’d like to know where to get one. I have no idea how, and it should be reading it just fine. phaw.

 Signature 

http://drowelfmorwen.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8313
Joined  2009-05-14

Well if it is asking for a serial number then don’t do anything yet.

Go your your Account page and scroll down to were is says “My Serial Numbers” and you should find the serail number there for LIE. Then just Copy and paste the serial number in the “About Plug-ins” window in Daz Studio. If Right clicking mouse to copy doesn’t paste try the keyboard shortcuts of CTRL + C to copy and then CTRL +  V to paste making sure no spaces are present at the end of the serial number.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2012 10:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2005-04-06

Thank you I will try that!

 Signature 

http://drowelfmorwen.deviantart.com/

Profile