Digital Art Zone

 
     
Background paper in Bryce 7.1 Pro
Posted: 24 May 2012 11:59 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2010-05-06

Hi

Is it possible to add my own background paper in Bryce?

EG Two-point perspective graph paper?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 01:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16423
Joined  2003-10-09

Be better if I moved your query to the Bryce forum, as Brycers rarely venture far from home. rolleyes

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2010-05-06

Thanks for that

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3697
Joined  2004-10-01
Fhalo - 24 May 2012 11:59 AM

Hi

Is it possible to add my own background paper in Bryce?

EG Two-point perspective graph paper?

Not to my knowledge. There are 9 presets and you can change the colour.

 

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 09:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2005-09-28
Fhalo - 24 May 2012 11:59 AM

Hi

Is it possible to add my own background paper in Bryce?

EG Two-point perspective graph paper?


2-point perspective as a background? Do you want the perspective changing with your view? If so, that’s not a background. You’re looking for a co-ordinate system that changes with your view.


If you’re looking for a 2-point perspective system for your camera’s POV only (not the director), that NEVER changes, let me know and I’ll show you something.

 Signature 

Oroboros Presents… KEY-FLAME: Bryce Animation Tutorials

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 09:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  0

What I usually do is create a flat plane mesh and apply a texture to it. Then place that mesh just behind my other objects. Wha-la instant reusable custom backgrounds.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2010-05-06

Thanks

yes, what I’m looking for a a grid. For example, the third, whereby I can position objects in the correct possition so that I can create the correct affect.

Hope this help.

Oroboros, what do you suggest?

I’ll try both ideas.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-08-23

well in maya i create a cube then then assing image to the face im not sure how you do it in bryce

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 06:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2005-09-28
Fhalo - 25 May 2012 03:49 PM

what I’m looking for [is] a grid. For example, the third, whereby I can position objects in the correct possition so that I can create the correct affect.


Oh ok, then screw my idea then.


Bryce already has an internal grid and a serviceable alignment system. Each grid point is at 20.48 BU. Using the drop-down menu under the Alignment tool, you can snap to this invisible grid (see attachment).


If you want to make the grid visible… You can’t :( However, you can create some 3D crosshairs and perhaps that might help in modeling your scene:


Create a pyramid (least polys). Snap it to the grid. It should now be at 0, 20.48, 0.
Edit attributes…
Position: -102.4, 0, -102.4
Size 0.01, 5.12, 0.01. Tick.


Copy, paste, rotate 90° about X. DO NOT DESELECT. Copy, paste, rotate 90° about Y.
Select all pyramids, change their family color to a light grey, then group them.


Edit > Multi-Replicate… Use these numbers:
Number: 9
Offset: 0, 20.48, 0
Rotate: 0, 0, 0
Size: 100, 100, 100. Tick.


You should now have a column of 10 cross hairs (the first of which is deselected), each at 20.48 BU above the other.


Select ALL the groups.
Edit > Multi-replicate…
Number: 9
Offset: 20.48, 0, 0
Rotate: 0, 0, 0
Size: 100, 100, 100. Tick.


You should now have a ‘2D Grid’, a 10 x 10 set of crosshairs (the first column of which is deselected). See if you can figure out what’s coming…


Select ALL the groups.
Edit > Multi-replicate…
Number: 9
Offset: 0, 0, 20.48
Rotate: 0, 0, 0
Size: 100, 100, 100. Tick


You should now have a full 3D grid, above the horizon, at 20.48 BU increments, centered about origin, you can use for positioning. Finally…


Select all groups.
Edit attributes…. Check ‘Hidden’ and ‘Locked’. This will stop you from inadvertently selecting the grid when modeling, and will hide the grid when you render out the scene.


Notes:
• Use the least number of pyramids you need as possible. The more objects you have, the slower Bryce’s response time is.

• Don’t “fill the world” with a grid, for the same reason. Rather, use a small grid you can move from place to place as you work on a scene. If you use grouping and families intelligently, a grid like the one I’ve outlined is very portable.

• If moving your grid, make sure it’s snapped in place before locking it down. It’s center should be a multiple of 20.48.
• Bryce’s internal grid can’t be changed, but there’s nothing stopping you from creating a grid that has better meaning for you. For instance, follow the steps above for a 10 BU grid rather than a 20.48 grid, or a 100 BU grid, if that’s more useful to you. You’ll lose the advantage of the Snap to Grid option in the Alignment tool, but perhaps you don’t need it. Experimenting with the other Alignment tools might serve you nicely, whatever sized grid you make.

Image Attachments
snap.png
 Signature 

Oroboros Presents… KEY-FLAME: Bryce Animation Tutorials

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2010-05-06

Great!

Thanks for this.

I’ll try the above method on my next tutorial (A sci fi scene)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 03:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2004-06-24

Just a thought , maybe this is what you want.

Cheers
GG

Image Attachments
S_shot.gif
 Signature 

WHO said Kiwis can’t fly ?????

Profile