Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 9
1
DAZ Studio Pro 4.6.1.39 - General Release - Update!
Posted: 12 December 2013 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
Rank
Total Posts:  229
Joined  2007-11-12

DAZ 3D is pleased to announce the next General Release version of the DAZ Studio Pro - version 4.6.1.39!

Another build, so soon?

Yes.  We want to provide access to builds that fix issues you may have encountered in the General Release, earlier and more frequently.

What is new in this version? Do I need to update my copy?

The 4.6.1.39 version resolves several issues and implements several improvements since the 4.6.1.33 General Release. More detail on specific fixes/changes/improvements can be found in the Change Log, which can be viewed online within the Documentation Center portion of our site. All new downloads of the DAZ Studio 4.6 Pro product (SKU: 13176) will be of this version.

Highlights are:
1) Replaced the [Lesson Strip] Welcome page with a help “Home” page; a hub for providing quick access to various forms of help
2) Added a “Home…” action
3) Fixed a naming issue in the Startup Wizard, allowing the Home and Scene Builder dialogs to record/apply independent size and placement
4) Reworked the Help menu; replaced various help action classes to clarify purpose; users should run the ./Scripts/Utilities/Update and Merge Menus script
5) Tweaked the Help Browser action to open the window at a size that causes little or no horizontal scrolling; dependent on available screen resolution
6) Replaced Activity Bar buttons with “Home”, “My Account”, and “My Gallery” buttons
7) Updated various help related URLs
8) Updated the Help pane index
9) Fixed #DSON-5: Fixed read/write of presets to correctly read/write the name in modifier paths instead of asset ids; modifier paths use the name scheme; read falls back to asset ids if name cannot be found, to preserve backward compatibility; new saves cannot be read correctly by prior versions as their reader [incorrectly] operates on asset ids instead of name
10) Fixed #DS-231: LOD Mesh resolutions did not loaded correctly via PowerLoader
11) Fixed a crash when nodes are deleted during load
12) Improved feedback (progress) while waiting for metadata import
13) Updated default interface files; actions, menus, toolbars
14) Updated default styles; added several help related icons
15) Fixed an issue where the “Do not show this again” option in the Startup Wizard was not being respected in some cases for some pages
16) Added a scroll area to the Create Property dialog
17) Fixed some sizing issues on the Create Property dialog
18) Holding the Ctrl/Cmd key when the log action is triggered will now open the native file browser to the log file; as opposed to opening the log file itself
19) Added and/or updated various script APIs; DzApp, DzStyle, DzWidget, DzLabel, DzLineEdit, DzScrollArea and DzTabWidget
20) Added support for labels finding images in resources folders; specify the image with “resources:path/to/image.ext”

Have the Genesis Starter Essentials, the Genesis 2 Starter Essentials (Male/Female), or the Default Lights and Shaders packages been updated too?

Yes, there have been several changes to the starter essential packages.

    Genesis Starter Essentials
      Fixed hair poses in Fiery Genesis Tutorial
      Added Scene Builder files in /Scene Builder/Starter Essentials
        Alchemy Chasm Lights
        Alchemy Chasm
        Dragon Slayer
        Fiery Genesis Lights
        Fiery Genesis

  Genesis 2 Male Starter Essentials
      Added Multiplane Cyclorama beach scene
      Fixed Phillip Specular MATs
      Fixed Phillip SSS MATs
      Fixed Phillip limb textures that were missing parts
      Added Scene Builder files in /Scene Builder/Starter Essentials
        Surfer Guy Beach Lights
        Surfer Guy Beach
        Surfer Guy

  Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials
      Added Scene Builder files in /Scene Builder/Starter Essentials
        Barefoot Dancer Lights
        Barefoot Dancer
        Shaded Haven

*Note: Install Manager users are notified of product updates when they occur.

How do I get the latest version?

If you have previously added the DAZ Studio 4.6 Pro product to your account, launch Install Manager, log into your account and type “DAZ Studio 4.6” into the filter field to filter out anything else.  Then simply download and install as you would normally.

Optionally, you can locate, download and install DAZ Studio Pro from the Product Library [once you are logged into your account] by entering “DAZ Studio 4.6 Pro” into the text field near the top left of the page and clicking the “Filter” button, or by clicking here. Then, simply click the green “download & install” button to launch Install Manager with an appropriate filter or click the blue “download” button to download the standalone installer.

If this is your first time downloading DAZ Studio Pro, simply follow this link, click the “Add to Cart” button on the page and then follow the checkout process.

*Note: This General Release version is available through Install Manager as well as a standalone installer.

Can I have the General Release and the BETA installed at the same time?

Yes!  You can have both the General Release and a Public Build (as well as a Private Build, for those involved in that endeavor), of the same major version, installed at the same time.  Please be aware that the settings for each of the builds are stored independent of each other.  This includes mapped content directories, layout, style and style colors, among many others.

What about the plugins I have?

The DAZ Studio 4.5 SDK has not changed in any way that causes it to be binary incompatible with the current release, which means that any plugins created for a previous version of DAZ Studio 4.5 (i.e. 4.5.0.100+) should continue to load and function in this version. That said, as with any new release, there is always the possibility that a plugin has had bugs fixed or features added, so the latest versions should be downloaded and installed if they are provided.

Some plugins that are currently built/produced by DAZ 3D will provide a separate package that is specifically intended for use with this General Release; these packages will not contain “Public Build” in the package name, as that moniker is used for pre-release builds.  3rd party plugins that DAZ 3D creates install packages for will be updated to allow simultaneous installation into the General Release and the pre-release builds. These packages will display as “Product Updates” within Install Manager once they have been updated.

Is there any documentation?

Yes.  Be sure to check out the User Guide and QuickStart Guide that we’ve recently posted in the DAZ Studio 4.x Documentation section.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2013 10:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1360
Joined  2006-09-09

what is the “Scene builder” file that is in the product library with the new version of DS 4.6? I haven’t noticed that before.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2013 11:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2280
Joined  2003-12-06

Are highlights 5 and 9 supposed to be the same, or did one of them get pasted over the text that should be there?

I was holding off on updating due to the reported glitches in the last version, I think I’ll try this one if nothing goes >clunk<.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2013 11:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2003-10-09

Clicking on the download link for DAZ Studio: “DAZ 3D is pleased to announce the next General Release version of the DAZ Studio Pro - version 4.6.1.39!” on first page brings up a 404 error.  Are there any other links to the latest version of DS? Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 12:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06
Jeador - 12 December 2013 11:50 PM

Clicking on the download link for DAZ Studio: “DAZ 3D is pleased to announce the next General Release version of the DAZ Studio Pro - version 4.6.1.39!” on first page brings up a 404 error.  Are there any other links to the latest version of DS? Thanks.

http://www.daz3d.com/downloader/customer/files/#prod_13176
will go to DS4.6 in your Product Library, or DIM will show it under Ready to Download.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 12:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
jakiblue - 12 December 2013 10:55 PM

what is the “Scene builder” file that is in the product library with the new version of DS 4.6? I haven’t noticed that before.

Yep, Wondering that myself.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 02:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-01-22

Content manager still does not work. Without that the Genesis M6 and V6 content still does not work properly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 02:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1672
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,
Having installed it (it’s 1K!) it appears to be a tiny JSON-based ‘wizard’ for creating a scene (or, perhaps better phrased, a trivial example of a wizard), where you select a figure (Barefoot Dancer, Surfer Guy, Dragon Slayer, or Fiery Genesis), an environment (Shaded Haven, a cyclorama beach, or Alchemy Chasm), and the lighting set you’d like.

I kind of like the idea; provide a set of DUF files which interact in some semi-consistent way, and build a wizard that lets you build the base scene up out of pre-existing pieces.

— Morgan

 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  155
Joined  0

Thanks for the update:
I ran the script as suggested:
” Reworked the Help menu; replaced various help action classes to clarify purpose; users should run the ./Scripts/Utilities/Update and Merge Menus script”

But now my custom script menu is the first menu even before the file menu.

Image Attachments
Daz_studio_menu.PNG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 08:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2007-08-27
jakiblue - 12 December 2013 10:55 PM

what is the “Scene builder” file that is in the product library with the new version of DS 4.6? I haven’t noticed that before.

Jaderail - 13 December 2013 12:58 AM
jakiblue - 12 December 2013 10:55 PM

what is the “Scene builder” file that is in the product library with the new version of DS 4.6? I haven’t noticed that before.

Yep, Wondering that myself.

You need to enable the “Show Welcome Page” - Edit / Preferences / Startup

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 08:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2007-08-27
Misumu - 13 December 2013 02:45 AM

Content manager still does not work. Without that the Genesis M6 and V6 content still does not work properly

What do you mean it still doesn’t work? Is CMS running when using DAZ Studio?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 08:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  842
Joined  2004-04-05

Ran the /scripts/utilities/update and merge menus as suggested but got the following error and now my Scripts menu is missing completely.

Executing DAZ Script file: C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Scripts/Utilities/Update and Merge Menus.dse
WARNING: Script Error: Line 656
WARNING: SyntaxError: Unable to parse JSON string
WARNING: Stack Trace:
<anonymous>()@:656
WARNING: Script Error: Line 656
WARNING: SyntaxError: Unable to parse JSON string
WARNING: Stack Trace:
<anonymous>()@:656
Error in script execution!

Someone please tell me there is a way to get the script menu back to the way it was without having to go through and rebuild it by hand.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 08:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13690
Joined  2003-10-09
ParisGranville - 13 December 2013 06:52 AM

Thanks for the update:
I ran the script as suggested:
” Reworked the Help menu; replaced various help action classes to clarify purpose; users should run the ./Scripts/Utilities/Update and Merge Menus script”

But now my custom script menu is the first menu even before the file menu.

Window>Workspace>Customise>Menus tab will let you reorder them again.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13690
Joined  2003-10-09
Sisca - 13 December 2013 08:44 AM

Ran the /scripts/utilities/update and merge menus as suggested but got the following error and now my Scripts menu is missing completely.

Executing DAZ Script file: C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Scripts/Utilities/Update and Merge Menus.dse
WARNING: Script Error: Line 656
WARNING: SyntaxError: Unable to parse JSON string
WARNING: Stack Trace:
<anonymous>()@:656
WARNING: Script Error: Line 656
WARNING: SyntaxError: Unable to parse JSON string
WARNING: Stack Trace:
<anonymous>()@:656
Error in script execution!

Someone please tell me there is a way to get the script menu back to the way it was without having to go through and rebuild it by hand.

If you have a recent version of Windows (or a Mac with Time Machine, but I’m not sure of the locations) you can restore the file but going to C:\Users\You\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4\ and right-clicking on the menus.dsx file, and selecting Restore Previous Versions (with DS closed).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 09:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  190
Joined  2005-07-18

I ran the download manager this morning and installed all of the updates. I noticed when I checked the plug-ins installed that Garibaldi Hair was missing. I deleted the plug-in using the control panel in Windows7. I reset, downloaded and installed Garibaldi once again. I rebooted twice during the process of uninstalling and reinstalling. DazStudio does not acknowledge the plug-in however I checked using explorer and the file is located in C:/program files/DAZ3D/DAZStudio4/plugins. I’m totally lost as to how to make it work now. Anyone else having issues with the plug-in after this update?

 Signature 

http://www.daz3d.com/media/3d/badges/images/badges/badge_16.png

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 01:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  842
Joined  2004-04-05
Richard Haseltine - 13 December 2013 08:50 AM
Sisca - 13 December 2013 08:44 AM

Ran the /scripts/utilities/update and merge menus as suggested but got the following error and now my Scripts menu is missing completely.

Executing DAZ Script file: C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Scripts/Utilities/Update and Merge Menus.dse
WARNING: Script Error: Line 656
WARNING: SyntaxError: Unable to parse JSON string
WARNING: Stack Trace:
<anonymous>()@:656
WARNING: Script Error: Line 656
WARNING: SyntaxError: Unable to parse JSON string
WARNING: Stack Trace:
<anonymous>()@:656
Error in script execution!

Someone please tell me there is a way to get the script menu back to the way it was without having to go through and rebuild it by hand.

If you have a recent version of Windows (or a Mac with Time Machine, but I’m not sure of the locations) you can restore the file but going to C:\Users\You\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4\ and right-clicking on the menus.dsx file, and selecting Restore Previous Versions (with DS closed).

Running Windows 8.1 and I don’t have that option when I right click the file (or any file). Guess I’ll be spending another 2 hours rebuilding the menu. This time I’ll remember to save it out before I let DS do anything else to it.

I should have known better than to run a script just because it was recommended.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 9
1
 
[ Problem      Exporting a CR2 ]