Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 6
1
LAMH Real Fur and Black Panthers for DAZ Big Cats 2: requirements and hints
Posted: 10 December 2013 02:27 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1300
Joined  2009-10-27

Hello, as mentioned also in the product store page notes, I’d like to reinstate that in order to use the Real Fur and Black Panthers LAMH presets you will need one of the two:

- latest LAMH Free Player 1.06.6P (BTW, check your DIM because we are submitting a new and improved version in the next days; if you are eager to try it, you may grab current beta here: http://www.furrythings.com/lamh-free-player-beta-versions-get-public/)
- latest Look at my Hair full Release Candidate version available at: http://bugzilla.look-at-my-hair.com

The promo’s have been produced using a UE2 light with Shading Rate = 1, one Distant Light with raytraced shadows, and Render Settings as follows:

Max Ray Trace Depth: 4 / Pixel Sample: 8 / Shadow Samples: 8 / Shading Rate: 0.1

If you have questions or need support please contact me at info_at_alessandromastronardi.com (replace _at_ with @) as I don’t frequent forums often. Thanks.

Image Attachments
popup_1.jpgpopup_2.jpgpopup_3.jpgpopup_4.jpgpopup_5.jpg
 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 02:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1300
Joined  2009-10-27

Here are the rest of the promo images.

Image Attachments
popup_6.jpgpopup_7.jpgpopup_8.jpgpopup_1.jpgpopup_3.jpg
 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 04:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1286
Joined  2005-02-25

Saber tooth is my favorite totally ready for the stone age, Great work guys !!!

 Signature 

The Mind on the other side!
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/midnight_stories/

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 06:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8122
Joined  2009-05-14

Can I ask why a Max Ray Trace depth of 4? I find that overkill just for fur IMHO.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 06:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1451
Joined  2012-10-10

Those presets are indeed impressive. Thank you!

PS Are there any chances of getting presets for Anubis and any kind of primates out there please? Or maybe even contacting DarioFish to collaborate on a fur set for his orc morphs?

 Signature 

A PA sale creeps upon a victim from behind, punches it in the rear and runs away with its wallet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  260
Joined  2010-11-26

couldn’t you have passed on this product? now I have to buy the big cats now instead of waiting for it to be in fastgrab *lol*

now if someone would create a coyote… I might just have a few bucks left after buying the cats and the panther and the fur and…. ok, maybe no money left :D

 Signature 

A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.  ~Herm Albright

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 07:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1300
Joined  2009-10-27
Szark - 10 December 2013 06:22 AM

Can I ask why a Max Ray Trace depth of 4? I find that overkill just for fur IMHO.

It will make a difference. Usually a MRT depth of 2 will do, but with hairs, given how thin they are, a 4 value will give better results and enhance anti-aliasing. At least from my render tests.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1300
Joined  2009-10-27
cecilia.robinson - 10 December 2013 06:24 AM

Those presets are indeed impressive. Thank you!

PS Are there any chances of getting presets for Anubis and any kind of primates out there please? Or maybe even contacting DarioFish to collaborate on a fur set for his orc morphs?

I’ll see what I (we) can do smile I’ll let you know once I contact DarioFish. What primates models would you like to see furred? DAZ Gorilla already has a preset for it.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 07:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8122
Joined  2009-05-14
Alessandro_AM - 10 December 2013 07:36 AM
Szark - 10 December 2013 06:22 AM

Can I ask why a Max Ray Trace depth of 4? I find that overkill just for fur IMHO.

It will make a difference. Usually a MRT depth of 2 will do, but with hairs, given how thin they are, a 4 value will give better results and enhance anti-aliasing. At least from my render tests.

Is this RiCurve thing as I thought anti aliasing was controlled via the Pixel X and Y sample rate. I cannot use LAMH with my computer and struggle to use a MRT depth of 2 for any scene so I cannot test these things for myself. The reason I am interested as I am gearing up for the future when I can make good use of LAMH.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 07:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1300
Joined  2009-10-27
Szark - 10 December 2013 07:49 AM
Alessandro_AM - 10 December 2013 07:36 AM
Szark - 10 December 2013 06:22 AM

Can I ask why a Max Ray Trace depth of 4? I find that overkill just for fur IMHO.

It will make a difference. Usually a MRT depth of 2 will do, but with hairs, given how thin they are, a 4 value will give better results and enhance anti-aliasing. At least from my render tests.

Is this RiCurve thing as I thought anti aliasing was controlled via the Pixel X and Y sample rate. I cannot use LAMH with my computer and struggle to use a MRT depth of 2 for any scene so I cannot test these things for myself. The reason I am interested as I am gearing up for the future when I can make good use of LAMH.

Just curious, what are your computer specs? These presets are set on 1,5M hairs (even if that amount can be changed): that can be quite intensive on old hardware, especially 32bit systems.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 08:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8122
Joined  2009-05-14

It is not so much the specs but how old and tired the things is. My main machine went pop on new years eve and this is a borrowed machine. I can’t render much in DS4.5+ and haven’t been able to for sometime. I can run DS3A still but even that will crash if I make the scene too big or up the settings.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 06:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1848
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,
As an aside from cats for a moment, I was wondering if anyone had tried building a LAMH preset for the 9mbi fox?  I can’t seem to get the Lyne fox to work (due to it needing UVMapper, and running on Mac OS X primarily), and I like the 9mbi fox.

So I’d love to know if anyone who’s played with setting up LAMH presets has tried to work with that fox at all…?

Thanks muchly for any info and/or pointers!

— Morgan

 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 02:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1598
Joined  2005-02-25

Cypherfox that’s a tad off topic…I have the 9mbi fox but why not use its transmapped fur?  I think i remember starting a fur map for it before my comp died earlier… can see about working on that and a few other things soon

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 04:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

So wish I had seen this thread before my first tests with LAMH Player (old). I get it to work but it is needing some user work a rounds.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 04:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1598
Joined  2005-02-25

Jaderail what problems? can you pm me? thanks smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 04:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1300
Joined  2009-10-27
Jaderail - 11 December 2013 04:03 AM

So wish I had seen this thread before my first tests with LAMH Player (old). I get it to work but it is needing some user work a rounds.

Hi JadeRail, if you wish you may email me at info_at_alessandromastronardi.com (replace _at_ with @). I’ll try to help to settle that.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 6
1