Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 3
1
what does all this mean!
Posted: 09 December 2013 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2011-10-04

I’m sorry if these are stupid questions.  I’m a pretty amateur Daz user..  meaning i don’t use it a lot.  I have Daz 4.5… the Genesis figure, Victoria 5…  NOW there’s Genesis 2, Victoria 6,,  what does this mean? what’s the difference between Genesis and Genesis 2 .
  What do I need to do to be up to date with this?

Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2013 10:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  607
Joined  2011-05-31

For starters there is 4.6 version of Daz Studio out now.

If you go to your product library under your account page you should see genesis starter essentials (which is both male and female) and also genesis female 2 starter essentials and genesis 2 male starter essentials. They are all free. I’m not sure but I don’t know if any of the genesis 2 stuff will work with 4.5.

The genesis female and genesis 2 female have a ‘shape’ character that is an updated version of Victoria 4. Genesis has V5 and Genesis 2 female has V6 shape.

But both also have a V4 shape you can get that is almost identical to the original Victoria that came out with Daz Studio 3. It will allow you to use your V4 items on Genesis/Genesis 2 Female if you bought the shapes for them.

 Signature 

Known as fictionalbookshelf on Renderosity.
My Freebies
My Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2013 10:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2011-10-04

hey thanks for your response.  I really appreciate it.  I have the 4.6 install, but one thing I know about DAZ is that its not the kind of program you want to mess with once you have it running fairly okay..  So can I install 4.6 over 4.5?  or should I uninstall 4.5, then install 4.6?  and what about my 4.5 content?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2013 11:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06

Installing 4.6 will uninstall 4.5, but it will leave your content and settings alone.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2013 11:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2011-10-04

so your saying the content should transfer over?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2013 11:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06

Yes, only the 4.5 application will get uninstalled and replaced.  The content and your settings will be left alone.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 03:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2011-10-04

so now I installed 4.6, and the Genesis 2 essentials..  I want to download the V6, but I’m not sure..  what else does it need?  My V5 has muscles, all kinds of morphs attached to it.  What does V6 have? 

-Wow,  i found it.  Its all the same V5 morphs stuff, but for V6,,  just have to buy it all again.  -wonderful

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 03:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1377
Joined  2010-02-14

V6 is a more realistic take on modern supermodel ideals. However what makes V6 unique from her proceeding sisters is the fact that she has the updated G2F mesh with all the improved bends and curves. However, if you learn how to utilize the Transfer Utility, you can easily send all your Gen 5 morphs over to G2F so you can use them on V6.

There is a glorious page here that teaches you how to do that HERE.

 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1377
Joined  2010-02-14
11R1CH11 - 10 December 2013 03:32 PM

-Wow,  i found it.  Its all the same V5 morphs stuff, but for V6,,  just have to buy it all again.  -wonderful

Actually, you don’t if you know to use Autofit, which works MUCH better with the G2 figures than it did with the G1 figure. smile

 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2013 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2011-10-04
RCDeschene - 10 December 2013 03:49 PM
11R1CH11 - 10 December 2013 03:32 PM

-Wow,  i found it.  Its all the same V5 morphs stuff, but for V6,,  just have to buy it all again.  -wonderful

Actually, you don’t if you know to use Autofit, which works MUCH better with the G2 figures than it did with the G1 figure. smile

hey, thanks for responding.  I know about the Autofit.. but that’s just for hair, clothes, etc..  The body morphs have to be all bought from scratch though…  I’m only sad because I bought quite a bit for the G1/V5..  It’s just a bit annoying.. it’s not like we can trade stuff back

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 03:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2011-10-04

Hey, what options for Muscles does the V6 have?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 04:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  497
Joined  2003-10-09
fixmypcmike - 09 December 2013 11:17 PM

Yes, only the 4.5 application will get uninstalled and replaced.  The content and your settings will be left alone.

This is not entirely true.

It is true if DS 4.5 was installed with DIM.

If DS4.5 was installed manually, then DIM will create a new install directory and install to that.

It’s an issue I pointed out to CS a month ago.

 Signature 

My Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 06:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06
Legionair - 11 December 2013 04:02 PM
fixmypcmike - 09 December 2013 11:17 PM

Yes, only the 4.5 application will get uninstalled and replaced.  The content and your settings will be left alone.

This is not entirely true.

It is true if DS 4.5 was installed with DIM.

If DS4.5 was installed manually, then DIM will create a new install directory and install to that.

It’s an issue I pointed out to CS a month ago.

Yes, that’s true, the old version will only be uninstalled if you use the same install method.  But settings and content are still not uninstalled regardless.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 07:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  497
Joined  2003-10-09
fixmypcmike - 11 December 2013 06:42 PM
Legionair - 11 December 2013 04:02 PM
fixmypcmike - 09 December 2013 11:17 PM

Yes, only the 4.5 application will get uninstalled and replaced.  The content and your settings will be left alone.

This is not entirely true.

It is true if DS 4.5 was installed with DIM.

If DS4.5 was installed manually, then DIM will create a new install directory and install to that.

It’s an issue I pointed out to CS a month ago.

Yes, that’s true, the old version will only be uninstalled if you use the same install method.  But settings and content are still not uninstalled regardless.

Based on personal experience, all the content needs to be reinstalled. If you don’t a variety of bad things will happen. Errors in DIM on future install processes, shaders missing, lights not working, etc.

It has something to do with the new DS installation not fully integrating with the old software files. Probably due to items being installed in a different DS software directory and not initializing to the new location.

So the content buttons will work, but geometries and such won’t link up.

 Signature 

My Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 07:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  674
Joined  2003-10-09

Whereas V5 and M5 (and Freak5) have been around for a while and have a rich selection of shape and muscle morphs, unfortunately V6 and especially M6 are still relatively new.  The various shape and muscle morph sets may not yet have been issued.

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2013 07:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06
Legionair - 11 December 2013 07:07 PM
fixmypcmike - 11 December 2013 06:42 PM
Legionair - 11 December 2013 04:02 PM
fixmypcmike - 09 December 2013 11:17 PM

Yes, only the 4.5 application will get uninstalled and replaced.  The content and your settings will be left alone.

This is not entirely true.

It is true if DS 4.5 was installed with DIM.

If DS4.5 was installed manually, then DIM will create a new install directory and install to that.

It’s an issue I pointed out to CS a month ago.

Yes, that’s true, the old version will only be uninstalled if you use the same install method.  But settings and content are still not uninstalled regardless.

Based on personal experience, all the content needs to be reinstalled. If you don’t a variety of bad things will happen. Errors in DIM on future install processes, shaders missing, lights not working, etc.

It has something to do with the new DS installation not fully integrating with the old software files. Probably due to items being installed in a different DS software directory and not initializing to the new location.

So the content buttons will work, but geometries and such won’t link up.

Is this only when going from a stand-alone installer to a DIM installation, or every time you update?  I didn’t have any such issues when I first installed DS using DIM, even though it installed to a different location.  This is the release version you’re talking about, right?  Not the public beta?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1