Digital Art Zone

 
     
I was under the impression that…. Logon issues..
Posted: 03 July 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4674
Joined  2004-08-11

HEY DAZ…

What’s with constantly having to log on?  Still is just as much of a pita as it was over at the old site.  I NEVER EVER have to log on at ‘Rosity unless I change browsers.  My information seems safe enough over there!  What’s the deal with this setting still in place that constantly asks folks to log on?  What’s worse is that there is a glitch that causes a member to have to sometimes have to log on more than one time for it to stick.  This is NOT acceptable.  cool mad

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2012 10:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1869
Joined  2005-12-31

It really varies from person to person. I stay logged into the forums for days at a time and through reboots. As far as the store goes I seem to keep access to the fact that I am plat etc but need to relog in to see account stuff and make purchases. But that has always been true for me. I’ve also seen no rhyme or reason as to who gets logged out regularly and those of us who stay on. No single web browser seems to be magic though I seem to recall that chrome has a tougher time of it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2012 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16766
Joined  2003-10-09

Agree with what Khory has just said. Even among the FOrum team it is unpredictable and oesn’t happen to all of us, and most of us use the same Browser.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        November Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2012 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2006-05-12

It does suck. I have been trying to log into my account all day, but I cannot get in. Every time I enter my password it takes me to the main Daz page with nothing showing in my cart. Then when I try to access my account it takes me back to the log-in screen. I am stuck in a continuos loop where I cannot log in. But for some strange reason I appear to be logged in as far as the forums are concerned. Frustrating does not even begin to cover it. I have tried resetting my cache, deleting all cookies, removing browser history, but nothing is working.
EDIT: I am now in, but it has taken me 6 attempts to add something to my cart ;( I hope daz get these things fixed soon.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2012 02:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4674
Joined  2004-08-11

Varies from person to person…. REALLY??  Doesn’t just sound WRONG to you??  It sure does to me.  This is NOT a good glitch and should be at the top of the “RESOLVE” list. 

.

PS.  I do clear my cache and all the other tricks that have been mentioned.  I follow the rules apparently DAZ keeps tweaking things to the point where the rules change seemingly day to day at times.  Not cool!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2012 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16766
Joined  2003-10-09
RAMWolff - 03 July 2012 02:13 PM

Varies from person to person…. REALLY??  Doesn’t just sound WRONG to you??  It sure does to me.  This is NOT a good glitch and should be at the top of the “RESOLVE” list. 

.

PS.  I do clear my cache and all the other tricks that have been mentioned.  I follow the rules apparently DAZ keeps tweaking things to the point where the rules change seemingly day to day at times.  Not cool!


It’s like a llot of bugs, when you can work out the common denominator is, then it is easier to trace what is causing this. How can you trace a biug or glitch or whatever it is, when you have, for example, 2 people who live in the same country, use the same ISP, use the same Browser, with the same updates, and yet get different behaviour with the log out thing.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        November Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 09:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  773
Joined  2003-10-09
chohole - 03 July 2012 02:23 PM
RAMWolff - 03 July 2012 02:13 PM

Varies from person to person…. REALLY??  Doesn’t just sound WRONG to you??  It sure does to me.  This is NOT a good glitch and should be at the top of the “RESOLVE” list. 

.

PS.  I do clear my cache and all the other tricks that have been mentioned.  I follow the rules apparently DAZ keeps tweaking things to the point where the rules change seemingly day to day at times.  Not cool!


It’s like a llot of bugs, when you can work out the common denominator is, then it is easier to trace what is causing this. How can you trace a biug or glitch or whatever it is, when you have, for example, 2 people who live in the same country, use the same ISP, use the same Browser, with the same updates, and yet get different behaviour with the log out thing.

Maybe so, but it’s been going on for the best part of three years now, and I’m totally sick of it. This is NOT a new bug unique to the new site. And no other site I visit regularly has the same issue.

I agree with RAMWolff. This should be a major priority. The best way to annoy customers (and for me to lose sales as a PA here) is to force them to log in the minute they arrive.

I wonder how many people don’t bother nowadays. I know I only come here occasionally now. Used to be 3 times a day.

mac

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 11:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  110
Joined  2006-05-14

i have this problem also, it’s quite frustrating, especially when trying to follow a thread.  i get an e-bot, then have to leave my mail program, go to the daz site and log in and then go back to my email just so the thread link will work. 
not to mention the constant cache clearing,etc.—i never know if any of that will make a difference - some days it does, some it doesn’t.
i find i don’t bother to even lurk here as much as i used to…:down:

i see my smileys aren’t working again either….

edited to fix spelling

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16766
Joined  2003-10-09

smiley is not working because you didn’t leave a space after your typing. It likes a little space. cool smirk

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        November Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  110
Joined  2006-05-14

really?  weird, i didn’t know that.  but it was working for a while before, and i don’t think i’ve typed differently.  angry


hey, look at that, it worked - although, i’m not even sure what most of the smileys mean anymore, but guess i can’t blame the site for that.

cheers for the info!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2012 12:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15258
Joined  2003-10-09

The old forum inserted a space before the smiley code automatically, the new forum doesn’t unfortunately.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile