Digital Art Zone

 
     
Carrara selection options
Posted: 01 July 2012 09:31 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2012-03-03

This seems like a really sub-basic question, but I haven’t found the answer on my own. In Model room, want to select a vertex object. Ex: a circle that has been unfilled,leaving just the edges.. How do I select the whole thing, not just one edge? If there are other objects close by, (say other interconnected circles) the block select may catch those also, so I’m looking for something else. I have the selection mode set to regular, but have tried polygon and edge as well to see if there would be a difference. I can only select one edge at a time. I think I’m looking for another mysterious keyboard command…can somebody please help?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2012 03:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

In the selection tools area, just below the options for Edge / Vertex / Polygon selection.
thee are a set of buttons which allow you to (Loop, Ring, select Between two selected parts, Invert the selection, and either contract or expand a selection. (+ / -) these allow you to Grow a selection to select more.

If you have more than one object in the modelling room, you can double click on any part to select the whole polymesh.
any other objects will not be selected.

As you work and build objects,.. it’s good practice to “name” objects and shading domains.
This makes selecting easier, as you can “Select by” name (polygon / polymesh / edge / Vertex).. or by shading domain.

Image Attachments
select_grow.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2012 09:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7446
Joined  2009-07-13

the paintbrush tool selects whatever it is “painted” over
(bit dicky, if you accidently move vertices you need to undo and click it again)
I use “hide selection” a lot to get bits out of the way so I can lasso what I want then holding shift unselect any bits I accidently got
I also often create temporary shading domains to hide various bits

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2012 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2012-03-03

Thank you. I knew it would something that simple. I’m sure I clicked, double-clicked, smacked it, and stomped on it.
Why do they not put these simple things in the front of manuals somewhere? The people that write this stuff seem to forget what it was like to be at “Square 1”.

Profile