Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
OK, newbie questions on Rendering times….
Posted: 30 June 2012 03:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07

So, ...how long is ‘normal’? lol!

Doing my first render here. 3Delight at ‘Best Quality’ setting. Rendering to a PNG file.
I have a scene, no background, 2 V5 characters, no clothing, no props, hair on each.
UberEnvironment2, with 2 distant lights and 1 spot. No shadows are turned on with the Distant lights and Spot. Uber2 is a stock preset.
Render started last night. It’s now 16 hours and still going, at 85%. Render window ‘History’ and timer says it’s still working. I’m using Studio 4.5 RC2 64-bit, on an iMac i7 Core machine with 16GB of RAM. So about as much speed as currently available.
So, is this ‘normal’???

I’m assuming adding more props and clothing are only going to dramatically increase the render times, right?

Going forward, is it better to render the characters separately and import them each into my Photoshop background scene? Or is it more time efficient to render the two together as I’m doing now? Just asking newbie questions here to possibly speed things up.
Or is this just the world of 3D rendering?
FYI, as a 15 year Photoshop user, I’m use to things dramatically moving along faster. 
So just looking for feedback from you 3D veterans. smile

Thanks

- Sol

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 03:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15119
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m pretty sure you have ambient occlusion turned on in the light - that is fairly slow, and when you add the multiple layers of transparency in the hair it becomes really slow. One option is to use a shader like uberSurface on the hair and take advantage of its option to exclude the surface from occlusion calculations. You may also want to turn the occlusion distance on the light down - the value is in cm and it’s usually 500, 5 metres, which is excessive if you aren’t rendering a landscape or a giant space ship from a difference.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 03:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07
Richard Haseltine - 30 June 2012 03:33 PM

I’m pretty sure you have ambient occlusion turned on in the light - that is fairly slow, and when you add the multiple layers of transparency in the hair it becomes really slow. One option is to use a shader like uberSurface on the hair and take advantage of its option to exclude the surface from occlusion calculations. You may also want to turn the occlusion distance on the light down - the value is in cm and it’s usually 500, 5 metres, which is excessive if you aren’t rendering a landscape or a giant space ship from a difference.

Thank you, Richard, for the quick reply. Much appreciated.

OK, I know, this is another obvious ‘newbie’ question here, but what exactly is ‘Occlusion’ in 3D world terminology? I’ve seen it mentioned some 50 times, both here in the forums, as well as in YouTube tutorials. But it’s always mentioned as you just did, as in “turn the occlusion down”. What exactly is it’s effect and purpose in relation to 3D lighting? 
Thanks for the suggestions. As my render is still going, I can’t check those setting yet. But I went mostly with defaults, so you’re probably right.

- Sol

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 03:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15119
Joined  2003-10-09

Ambient occlusion fakes the way, in the real world, recesses and niches get less light bouncing off other surfaces than areas that are more in the open - not direct shadows from a light source, but from indirect lighting. It adds realism but, because it needs to cast tests in all directions, it is slow.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 04:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07
Richard Haseltine - 30 June 2012 03:51 PM

Ambient occlusion fakes the way, in the real world, recesses and niches get less light bouncing off other surfaces than areas that are more in the open - not direct shadows from a light source, but from indirect lighting. It adds realism but, because it needs to cast tests in all directions, it is slow.

Cool. Thank you. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 06:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  790
Joined  2012-02-12

For tthe scene you’re rendering even with ambiant Occlusion and hairs it shouldn’t take more than 1 or 2 hours even with high settings with your gear
If you render with Daz standard light without uberenvironnement and without raytraced shadows, your render time could go down to a few minutes
One other option with RC1 or RC2 is to use Scripted rendering and point Based Occlusion with Uberenvironement. It may be faster but I’m not sure. Anyway your 16h hours rendering is abnormal and you may have hit on a bug

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 06:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9251
Joined  2007-11-06

What’s the render size?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 06:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07
Takeo.Kensei - 30 June 2012 06:11 PM

For tthe scene you’re rendering even with ambiant Occlusion and hairs it shouldn’t take more than 1 or 2 hours even with high settings with your gear
If you render with Daz standard light without uberenvironnement and without raytraced shadows, your render time could go down to a few minutes
One other option with RC1 or RC2 is to use Scripted rendering and point Based Occlusion with Uberenvironement. It may be faster but I’m not sure. Anyway your 16h hours rendering is abnormal and you may have hit on a bug

Well, that’s interesting. I had read someone talking about his renders taking anywhere from a few hours to 24 hours. It wasn’t indicated what all was in his ‘24 hr render’ scene, but that’s why I asked here. As I described, it seems like a fairly minimalist scene.

So let me add this to the equation. I am rendering these PNG characters to use on a Photoshop file background. Again, all this is a test. I had read that to use a jpeg file as a background in Studio 4, you need to set your render size to that size. So, my PSD backdrop image is 5000px x 3000 px background. Is my file overly large maybe?

Anyways, any suggestions on what I should do here? Should I re-install 4.5 RC2?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 06:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9251
Joined  2007-11-06

That’s fairly large, so that might also be contributing.  You want the aspect ratio to match the backdrop (or put the backdrop on a plane primitive with the same aspect ratio), the size doesn’t have to.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 06:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07

To follow up.
I just checked back over to the file. It was on 94% 5 minutes ago. Just now when I looked, it suddenly showed 21%. Then it just jumped back up to 40% a couple minutes later. So having never done a full render before, does the ‘History’ box always look like this? Multiple lines of   > Rendering Image, Rendering….  <  as you see in the screen capture? Or should you see this one time? So is it stopping and starting over, or is this normally how it looks?

Image Attachments
Screen_Shot_2012-06-30_at_8.51_.43_PM_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07

And one more thing here.
When I was using 3D Bridge to Photoshop, the preview rendering was fairly instantaneous, and they showed up in PS as png renders with no background from DAZ Studio. Once I added the UberEnvironment2, I started seeing a solid blue background when I hit ‘Update Image’. Is it possible that it spends time rendering that blue background too? I’ve assumed the ‘save to png’ render will leave out that blue background.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 07:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07

back up to 60%

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 07:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07

Hey Guys,

Based on the recent replies here, I cancelled out of the render.
Upon doing so, I noticed the history box saying something about ‘Movie Render Cancelled’ Once it closed I looked over the settings in the Render Settings tab, and sure enough, the ‘Render To:’ pull-down was set to ‘Movie’ Start Frame: 0, End Frame: 30.
Now as this is my very first render, all I can guess is that it defaulted to that, maybe.
I changed pretty much nothing except for naming and where to send the png file.


So anyways, I’m going to try some of the suggestions here and I’ll give you guys an update later.
Thanks for your help and suggestions on this.

- Sol

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 07:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

As your first time to use render you just made a mistake. This is save as file.
The Bottom two are Name of file/type of file (jpg png) and then Folder on system.

Image Attachments
Render.jpg
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 07:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2011-09-07

Thanks, Jaderall.

Hey question, what is ‘Bucket Order’?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 08:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

That determines which direction the Render Buckets are caculated compaired to the next one. I never touch it Default is best in my book. Horizontal is top to bottom, Vertical is left to right and so on and so on…

Edit: They also display the way you set it.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1