Digital Art Zone

 
     
QUESTION ABOUT EMPTY PLUG-INS LIST THAT ALWAYS APPEARS WHEN I OPEN DAZ STUDIO
Posted: 30 June 2012 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-08-10

See the attached image—apparently I have to put a serial number into all those boxes by the plug-in names —looks like about 20 of them, to activate them. 


1. Where do I get the serial numbers?

2. Does the page mean I somehow didn’t install Daz Studio correctly?

3. Is my Daz Studio thus operating with much reduced functionality?


Thank you for any information.

Image Attachments
DAZ_3D_OPENING_PAGE.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 03:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9004
Joined  2007-11-06

When you downloaded DS4 was it in a .zip?  There should be a readme file with the serial number.  Go to “Help > Register DAZ Studio” and put the serial number there.  Then when you restart DS4 you should only have 2 plugins which aren’t activated, Decimator and Animate2.  Both of those are paid plugins that aren’t included with the free DS4, although Animate2 will work for 30 days before reverting to Animate Lite.  You can use the check-box at the bottom when that dialog comes up to stop being alerted about those two.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 03:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14771
Joined  2003-10-09

Those are, as it says at the top, the DS Pro plugins - you need to enter the DS Pro serial number (once) and restart DS. If you bought DS from the store whether for money or free, then the serial number will be in your account’s Available Serial codes page - if you downloaded it it will be in the zip, in the readme, though there was a brief spell when it wasn’t and was instead in a forum thread - if you downloaded then you will, I’m afraid, need to redownload.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 04:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2011-08-10

It was in the zip file, as I recall, but where is the zip file now?  Am having trouble finding it.

There are so many Daz files on my computer, in various places.  I’m wondering what the zip file in question is called.  And then must I again extract the files from inside the zip file?  Or should I try to find the already extracted files?


UPDATE:  I found the serial number and put it in the Register box.  It worked!  Now the plug-ins list has only one item, something called ani-mate” or the like.

Thank you very much both of you.

I may end up re-downloading Daz anyway, as I’m not sure all is well with it. It seems like stuff that used to be in the smart content section is no longer there.

 Signature 

You can call me “eee” for short.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2012 03:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6750
Joined  2005-08-15

Animate 2 is a ‘paid for’ plugin, so unless you bought it, you wont be able to register it.  The same applies to Decimator.

Smart Content relies on the ContentManagementServer process running on your system.  If you are on Windows, have a look in the Task Manager to see if it is listed as a running process.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2012 08:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14771
Joined  2003-10-09

AniMate 2 does work partially, in “Lite2 mode, without a serial number.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile