Digital Art Zone

 
     
BONE after BONE
Posted: 30 June 2012 11:47 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Is there anyway to LOCK objects so you can’t select them. I am busy rigging my F4 PILOT and about have the time while trying to select a BONE to adjust I select the OBJECT

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 02:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7169
Joined  2009-07-13

if it is not yet attached and you are working on making the skeleton, you can just choose “lock” in motion for the mesh until you are ready to attach the skeleton.
I do that a lot with props and terrains I do not want accidently select to move
once attached depending on the restraints used (I usually use ball joints or in my case usually an invisible Daz figure) you can use target helpers to pin stuff.
(you are prob more experienced at rigging stuff than me btw so I should just shut up! but I do do it it occasionally albeit mostly attaching things mostly to Daz doll bones)

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4875
Joined  2006-08-27

You could select the bone in the instances pane. Much easier if you’ve named the bones logically. Another possibility (which I just thought of, but haven’t tried) is to select the model and choose hide in 3D view.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 03:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Well thats not what I need! And its no big deal but is a lot of a pain. I am laying out my BONES rig. Specially in the finger I have a little bone in the middle of the finger. I have to adjust IT while i can see the geometry to set it just so. So I need to see the object. And if you dont select the bone exactly right it gunna select the FINGER and the bone will disappear TEH NI got to go back to the INSTANCES and reselect the bone.

One thing I did/do love about LIGHTWAVE is they have LAYERS just like photoshop and you can do with them a lot just like photoshop.
I think we need layers in carrara!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 06:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-02-12

On the Scene Tab there is a column titled “S”. you can click on the arrow next to the object to make it selectable or not
Hope it helps

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 08:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2003-10-23
Takeo.Kensei - 30 June 2012 06:26 PM

On the Scene Tab there is a column titled “S”. you can click on the arrow next to the object to make it selectable or not
Hope it helps

I must be blind. I can’t find anything like you mention.  Can you show a quick screenshot to point it out to me please? Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2012 09:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
DougS - 30 June 2012 08:14 PM
Takeo.Kensei - 30 June 2012 06:26 PM

On the Scene Tab there is a column titled “S”. you can click on the arrow next to the object to make it selectable or not
Hope it helps

I must be blind. I can’t find anything like you mention.  Can you show a quick screenshot to point it out to me please? Thanks.

This kind of thing happens when a responder doesn’t look where he’s going and tells you how to do things in DAZ Studio in reply to a question about Carrara.

Happens a lot when you have proselytizing Blender fancritters overrunning your forum.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2012 01:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-02-12
Ascania - 30 June 2012 09:45 PM
DougS - 30 June 2012 08:14 PM
Takeo.Kensei - 30 June 2012 06:26 PM

On the Scene Tab there is a column titled “S”. you can click on the arrow next to the object to make it selectable or not
Hope it helps

I must be blind. I can’t find anything like you mention.  Can you show a quick screenshot to point it out to me please? Thanks.

This kind of thing happens when a responder doesn’t look where he’s going and tells you how to do things in DAZ Studio in reply to a question about Carrara.

Happens a lot when you have proselytizing Blender fancritters overrunning your forum.

Sorry. My mistake. Ascania is right

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2012 05:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

OKAY OKAY! Here its is! If I want to SELECT the FInger Bone 2 To adjust it prior to attaching the object IF you don’t hit the exact very center of that BONE it will select the HAND!

Image Attachments
1p.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2012 07:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4875
Joined  2006-08-27

Got ya’ Rich. The easiest thing you could do is try and use one of the multiple screen views and select the views that work best for the hand, such as front, top, left, etc. Then zoom wa-a-a-y-y in.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2012 08:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20

Select with a right-click instead.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2012 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2006-01-28
Ascania - 01 July 2012 08:20 AM

Select with a right-click instead.

I second that.

Right clicking should bring a panel that shows a list of object in that area. For instance you have a hand, bones, something behind the object and it will show a list of object in order of which one is closer. This way you don;t need to lock anything and will have a precises selecting options.

 Signature 

Kind regards,
Danas
Carrara 3D Expo
http://issuu.com/c3de
http://www.carraracafe.com
http://www.danas-imaging.com

Profile