Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Feet fixed to the ground
Posted: 29 October 2013 07:26 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2012-01-18

is there a way in animate2 or just dazstudio to really fix feet to the ground so they really dont move in animations
i didnt found one
can Carrara do that ?

 Signature 

my Gallery
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/544

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2013 08:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14771
Joined  2003-10-09

The ActivePose tool will do it, but then you are limited to using just the in-viewport translation tool on the bones you want to adjust.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2013 01:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2012-01-18

thx i will try
is there anxthing official how to use the active pose tool
i read in a thread a year ago
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/12600/
that daz will work on the posing/pinning Problems
did they?

 Signature 

my Gallery
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/544

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2013 05:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  36
Joined  2012-09-22

Active pose tool works the same as far as I understand.
I think the issue you see - feet moving below ground level - is because of the interpolation between keyframes.
If you have keyMate or graphMate, you can change the interpolation type. In animate2, I don’t think you can do this.
You can also add one or more keyframes in between the ones where the feet go below ground.
I couldn’t find it back, but I remember having seen a video on youtube showing how to deal with this. Have a search and see what turns up

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2013 06:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2012-01-18

activepose has no Rotation involved
you cant move both thighs together
you can pin and pin and often thats useless
powerpose have no abdomen2 and no pelvis
no its a pain to work with and i tryed alot

 Signature 

my Gallery
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/544

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 October 2013 03:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2003-10-09

Somehow Studio never got it down, I do not know the state of things with
Poser since I never got beyond version 7.

I have done some professional character animation in Maya, and there it
is easy. You move characters up and down at the base, which is placed at
feet’s height in the neutral T-pose with stretched legs.
Feet with a 0 Y-value will always be on the base.
Feet with zero rotation values will be flat on the base.

You put the base on ground level, wherever that is. Usually you fix
the pose for the base, you do not use it to create forward motion
during walks (But you could animate it in case the character would
move up an escalator, for instance)

You fix the feet on the floor.
Set two keys for the foot position, the second a copy of the first one.
In the graph editor, you create flat tangents between these keys.

And they will be fixed to the floor.

As long as the motion paths between the keys remain some form
of curvature, however small, the feet will float, or even sink through
the floor.

Then there are toe and heel roll blend shapes (Maya jargon for morphs)
to change the poses of the feet, keeping toes or heels fixed to the floor.

Maya had this since the first day I touched it, somewhere around 2005.

We had several requests for DAZ to implement something similar
features in STUDIO, but as yet nothing significant has happened.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 October 2013 09:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1385
Joined  2010-03-25

I love Maya’s mesh floor.  Maya has some new Improvements
Maya 2012 and newer versions have a floor magnet that allows you to actually stick the character to a preset level you determine as the floor and the character/obj will follow that level the giving the appearance of the character stuck to the floor during the motion cycle. the best thing with the Magnet is you can use it along the time to raise and low your character over a uneven terrain. this especially helpful for use of cars that require you to make a slide during a animation sequence. and if during a character jumping sequence this make sure your character lands on the floor at the present level rather than dropping below the mesh floor.  I’m still learning Maya   there are so many tools and tricks

What I have found to work fairly well for Daz studio to give the appearance that the character is magnetized to the floor is make sure your character/.obj and Floor level are both set at zero in the beginning..  that would be a good starting point so when your moving your .obj along the daz timeline , you will always know your floor level will be zero and you can maintain your character animation to that level by each key-frame that way. to appear as it is stuck to the floor or ground. it can be a lot of work I agree but that is how I found you get the best results.
I wish there was a script to make a floor magnet , But I’m not very good at scripts so hopefully someone will come up with one. for Daz
Also helpful . I use the daz spot render tool to test that my character is maintain the floor level before final rendering of a animated scene
also some ani block that will drop below your mesh floor can be fixed by baking the ani block to the timeline and then correcting the movement and re-baking the fixes to the timeline

Of coarse I agree it is a little more tricky for moving a obj over a uneven terrain in Daz Studio   wink

Image Attachments
Capture.JPG
 Signature 

My Daz & Poser animations & art work
http://www.youtube.com/user/IvySummers1
My Art on Google
http://plus.google.com/+IvySummers

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2013 03:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2012-01-18

@Ivy a Maya license is about 4000 bucks i think
you have the free education Version?

 Signature 

my Gallery
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/544

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2013 06:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1385
Joined  2010-03-25
ruphuss - 03 November 2013 03:15 PM

@Ivy a Maya license is about 4000 bucks i think
you have the free education Version?

The Autodesk 2012 entertainment suite was $4800 this semester . Plus I got use of pixar tractor cloud for one year and still have the life time use of Autodesk University Online resources… it comes part of my student package I’m taking at Tennessee State University. two
year course.
like I said I’m still learning and this crap is hard.!

 Signature 

My Daz & Poser animations & art work
http://www.youtube.com/user/IvySummers1
My Art on Google
http://plus.google.com/+IvySummers

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2013 01:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2012-01-18

now pls tell me why one is using dazstudio or poser who has this resource for his work or art

 Signature 

my Gallery
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/544

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2013 02:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2003-10-09

Poser and DAZ Studio come with pre made content, and you can buy
a lot of stuff for it cheaply. It is quite OK for making still pictures on the
fly.

MAYA is a complex beast that comes with no content at all.

If you work as an animator with Maya in a studio surrounding you have
experts creating the models, rigs, blend shapes, weighting,. textures,
shaders, simulations, lights, render settings, compositing etc - as an
animator I only need to know the animation part of Maya.
Oh, and there is a render farm at my studio as well…

If you are alone at home you need to learn it all.
You need to learn how to model, how to rig, how to create blend shapes,
how to make UV maps, how to create textures, how to create shaders,
how to set up lights, how to do good render settings, how to split up
a render in different passes, how to combine it all again in Nuke or
something similar, etc.

There are some simple cartoony free rigged Maya Characters, but most
of the content is very expensive.

If you know your Maya you can do things way beyond what is possible
with Poser or Studio.

If you are new to Maya, there’s little you can do right out of the box
and you have a steep learning curve ahead of you.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2013 05:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2012-01-18

thx for Explanation sempie
so you say you cant use Genesis or V4 in Maya ?

 Signature 

my Gallery
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/544

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2013 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1385
Joined  2010-03-25
ruphuss - 04 November 2013 01:29 AM

now pls tell me why one is using dazstudio or poser who has this resource for his work or art

because student licensing does not allow me to produces film & art. for commercial use. I’m a Youtube partner and I would not be allowed under those terms

Autodesk requires a full license for public commercial exhibition
as stated in update to our student terms of use.

Quote ” While the Autodesk Student Version software incorporates all the functionality of our professional licenses, it may not be used for commercial or for-profit purposes, as more fully described in the License and Services Agreement. Term-based licenses of Autodesk student software are not eligible for product upgrade or migration to a commercial license”
This is why I still have autodesk 2012
I am taking this course for my job @ HOC.Llc   they pay for about 70% student cost in reimbursements .  when i am done I am hoping to be promoted to the media department. 
some times I still sneak the use of Maya into my animations wink and I have showed case a few building models i have made on Daz forums , But licensing is different for autodesk than Daz and Poser. i think that is why lately YouTube has been asking me for EULA for the animations I’ve been making.  But it does not stop me from applying what I know from class to daz and poser.  smile

So now you know why i don’t use it for my art ... YET!
Have a great day

(Edited once for spelling and grammar ~ Sorry)

 

 Signature 

My Daz & Poser animations & art work
http://www.youtube.com/user/IvySummers1
My Art on Google
http://plus.google.com/+IvySummers

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2013 09:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1385
Joined  2010-03-25
ruphuss - 04 November 2013 05:45 AM

thx for Explanation sempie
so you say you cant use Genesis or V4 in Maya ?

You can imports generation4 figures directly into Maya or 3ds with a bridges Smith micros has for auto desk
its called poser fusion and it worked great for pp12 and its free as long as you have pp2012 or newer
In the new PP2014 I read this allows you to use the new Sub Div in Poser 2014 with Maya sub div Great for close angled shots I have not got a chance to use it yet though.
http://poser.smithmicro.com/poserfusion2014.html

If FXB Genesis into Maya is hit or miss and most of the time you will need to re-rig and sometimes re texture the character

 

 Signature 

My Daz & Poser animations & art work
http://www.youtube.com/user/IvySummers1
My Art on Google
http://plus.google.com/+IvySummers

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2013 09:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1385
Joined  2010-03-25
Sempie - 04 November 2013 02:59 AM

Poser and DAZ Studio come with pre made content, and you can buy
a lot of stuff for it cheaply. It is quite OK for making still pictures on the
fly.

MAYA is a complex beast that comes with no content at all

If you are new to Maya, there’s little you can do right out of the box
and you have a steep learning curve ahead of you.

I have to agree you need to take a class to learn it. and even then it is challenging & expensive course.

 

 Signature 

My Daz & Poser animations & art work
http://www.youtube.com/user/IvySummers1
My Art on Google
http://plus.google.com/+IvySummers

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2013 12:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2003-10-09

I was lucky enough to learn it on the job, used to be a traditional
cartoon animator, made a late jump to Maya and 3D.

In the flow of artists at the studio I am working at there were
some former Disney, Pixar and Weta people along the way,
that helps…

Most of the manuals that come with Maya suck, they explain
you the menu items without really telling you how to use the
program in real world situations.

There are online animation schools like Animation Mentor,
but they are very expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1