Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 7
5
I am done with Hexagon - any alternatives?
Posted: 12 December 2013 12:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  203
Joined  2003-10-09

It is very important to DELETE from the scene all parts not to be included in a particular .obj export. Moving them off the grid is NOT an acceptable solution.

 

No need to delete. Just hide everything you don’t want to export and you’re fine.

 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2013 05:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5068
Joined  2012-04-07
Ghostman - 12 December 2013 12:11 PM

It is very important to DELETE from the scene all parts not to be included in a particular .obj export. Moving them off the grid is NOT an acceptable solution.

 

No need to delete. Just hide everything you don’t want to export and you’re fine.

Maybe ... had a little surprize once when I did that. Found that while it didn’t show on import into other programs, Hexie had included all the geo info for the Daz figure which was ‘hidden’.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2013 01:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2008-04-11

It is easy to crash Hex when you get in a hurry, but after years using it I’ve learned and it seldom crashes on me.  I’ve recently upgraded to a Dell XPS with an Intel I 7 processor, 12 gig ram and windows 8, and to my delight, Hex 2.5 runs great.

I have and use Zbrush 4r5, and sometimes use Blender or Carrara for modeling but Hex is so comfortable that I most often use it for modeling.

Here is a recent model I created in Hex.  107,255 polygons.

Image Attachments
Mars-RV.jpg
 Signature 

“If you can dream it, you can do it.”
    Walt Disney

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2013 03:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4772
Joined  2004-07-01
sircamillo - 13 December 2013 01:39 PM

It is easy to crash Hex when you get in a hurry, but after years using it I’ve learned and it seldom crashes on me.  I’ve recently upgraded to a Dell XPS with an Intel I 7 processor, 12 gig ram and windows 8, and to my delight, Hex 2.5 runs great.

I have and use Zbrush 4r5, and sometimes use Blender or Carrara for modeling but Hex is so comfortable that I most often use it for modeling.

Here is a recent model I created in Hex.  107,255 polygons.

neat model

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2013 02:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  203
Joined  2003-10-09
sircamillo - 13 December 2013 01:39 PM

It is easy to crash Hex when you get in a hurry, but after years using it I’ve learned and it seldom crashes on me.  I’ve recently upgraded to a Dell XPS with an Intel I 7 processor, 12 gig ram and windows 8, and to my delight, Hex 2.5 runs great.

I have and use Zbrush 4r5, and sometimes use Blender or Carrara for modeling but Hex is so comfortable that I most often use it for modeling.

Here is a recent model I created in Hex.  107,255 polygons.

Very nice work. smile

 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2013 09:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2005-02-08
sircamillo - 13 December 2013 01:39 PM

It is easy to crash Hex when you get in a hurry, but after years using it I’ve learned and it seldom crashes on me.  I’ve recently upgraded to a Dell XPS with an Intel I 7 processor, 12 gig ram and windows 8, and to my delight, Hex 2.5 runs great.

I have and use Zbrush 4r5, and sometimes use Blender or Carrara for modeling but Hex is so comfortable that I most often use it for modeling.

Here is a recent model I created in Hex.  107,255 polygons.

Nice model…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2013 10:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  806
Joined  2011-08-05

Please, let me ask an additional question about ZBrush (to anyone who owns and uses it):

Is ZBrush also useable for box-modeling? Has is similar functions like Hex?
Or is ZBrush the “sculpt me like clay” type of software only?

I have tried Sculptris (a free very very light version of ZBrush) but I could not make friends with that kind of workflow.

Can I also box-model something like a car or a gun in ZBrush? Or is it really made for organic shapes only?

Sorry for all those questions, but ZBrush is not cheap, and there is no trial, so I simply have to ask grin

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2013 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  203
Joined  2003-10-09
XoechZ - 17 December 2013 10:32 AM

Please, let me ask an additional question about ZBrush (to anyone who owns and uses it):

Is ZBrush also useable for box-modeling? Has is similar functions like Hex?
Or is ZBrush the “sculpt me like clay” type of software only?

I have tried Sculptris (a free very very light version of ZBrush) but I could not make friends with that kind of workflow.

Can I also box-model something like a car or a gun in ZBrush? Or is it really made for organic shapes only?

Sorry for all those questions, but ZBrush is not cheap, and there is no trial, so I simply have to ask grin

Box-modeling no! But you can make whatever you like in it though from concept to finished work. It used to be an organic only program, but with the latest updates (all versions and upgrades are free once you’ve bought it) you can do hard surface modeling with ease.
Sculptris is a stand alone program that is only similar to Zbrush. It’s not a light version of it. The only thing they have in common is that they both use the sculpting method.  You should head over to pixologic.com and check out the Classroom section. That way you can see yr self what you can and cannot do with it.

 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2013 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  806
Joined  2011-08-05

Thanks for the info Ghostman.

So ZBrush seems to be a great program, but not a valid alternative to Hexagon. I simply cannot live without box modeling grin
That is the way I have learned modeling and thats the way I start all my modeling projects. Of course I could create the base mesh in Hex and then refine it in ZBrush, but for that only it is a bit too expensive for me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2013 02:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  203
Joined  2003-10-09
XoechZ - 18 December 2013 02:34 PM

Thanks for the info Ghostman.

So ZBrush seems to be a great program, but not a valid alternative to Hexagon. I simply cannot live without box modeling grin
That is the way I have learned modeling and thats the way I start all my modeling projects. Of course I could create the base mesh in Hex and then refine it in ZBrush, but for that only it is a bit too expensive for me.

I do all my base modeling in Hex and then I take it further in Zbrush. Works very good.

 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2013 11:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2007-09-18

I do not work for Luxology or the Foundry, BUT:

IMHO once you try modo, you will probably find it hard to use anything else for modeling. I love silo—it is very “zen” in its simplicity, but the lads are tired of developing for it, so we had a nice run…..

modo is the best modeler—IMHO—out there, especially if you like box modeling. Just doodling with it, I came up with a piece of “dystopian future” hardware that looked like a jet engine/ion cannon/whatever. Honestly, that’s why I said “doodling”—because it’s actually fun to use and I don’t fight with it to do something creative. What a concept!

cinema4d is also good, but I’ve noticed that some of the new features started with modo, just like strata 3d’s new features. Everybody upgrades as things get developed. It’s all good.

modo is complex, but not impossible to learn. 3dgarage has some excellent tutorials for newbies.

Now, price. $1495 is a lot, but if you qualify, an academic license is $139. But—Steam is selling a version of modo for $119—how this compares with the “full” version I don’t know, but it is being sold for modeling so it might be just what you need.

Good luck, and pm me if you want to know anything more specific.
tongue wink

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2013 12:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  296
Joined  2008-05-23
Astrin - 19 December 2013 11:58 PM

I do not work for Luxology or the Foundry, BUT:

IMHO once you try modo, you will probably find it hard to use anything else for modeling. I love silo—it is very “zen” in its simplicity, but the lads are tired of developing for it, so we had a nice run…..

modo is the best modeler—IMHO—out there, especially if you like box modeling. Just doodling with it, I came up with a piece of “dystopian future” hardware that looked like a jet engine/ion cannon/whatever. Honestly, that’s why I said “doodling”—because it’s actually fun to use and I don’t fight with it to do something creative. What a concept!

cinema4d is also good, but I’ve noticed that some of the new features started with modo, just like strata 3d’s new features. Everybody upgrades as things get developed. It’s all good.

modo is complex, but not impossible to learn. 3dgarage has some excellent tutorials for newbies.

Now, price. $1495 is a lot, but if you qualify, an academic license is $139. But—Steam is selling a version of modo for $119—how this compares with the “full” version I don’t know, but it is being sold for modeling so it might be just what you need.

Good luck, and pm me if you want to know anything more specific.
tongue wink

The steam version looks extremely limited.  For example, saving to an .obj is disabled.  The steam version is specifically for making game engine models.  Commercial use outside of that is prohibited.

By the way, Modo is on sale for 40% off until Christmas Eve.  If you are going to buy it, now is the time.

ncamp

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2013 11:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  203
Joined  2003-10-09
Astrin - 19 December 2013 11:58 PM

I do not work for Luxology or the Foundry, BUT:

IMHO once you try modo, you will probably find it hard to use anything else for modeling. I love silo—it is very “zen” in its simplicity, but the lads are tired of developing for it, so we had a nice run…..

modo is the best modeler—IMHO—out there, especially if you like box modeling. Just doodling with it, I came up with a piece of “dystopian future” hardware that looked like a jet engine/ion cannon/whatever. Honestly, that’s why I said “doodling”—because it’s actually fun to use and I don’t fight with it to do something creative. What a concept!

cinema4d is also good, but I’ve noticed that some of the new features started with modo, just like strata 3d’s new features. Everybody upgrades as things get developed. It’s all good.

modo is complex, but not impossible to learn. 3dgarage has some excellent tutorials for newbies.

Now, price. $1495 is a lot, but if you qualify, an academic license is $139. But—Steam is selling a version of modo for $119—how this compares with the “full” version I don’t know, but it is being sold for modeling so it might be just what you need.

Good luck, and pm me if you want to know anything more specific.
tongue wink

Both C4d and Modo is really good modeler. Bought them both but haven’t got much time yet due to RL work to really dig into them.
It is however something I’m really looking forward to. smile

 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 December 2013 03:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2009-04-24

This is what I’ve been able to come with using Hexagon 2.5 on my XP Home OS.  The characters are Michael 4 and the hair is from Neftis but everything else, clothing, set and creatures were modeled in Hex.  I have a few things unticked in the Preference Editor and the only time it crashes on me is if I click too quickly while UV mapping.

Image Attachments
_5_c14.jpg
 Signature 

Audiences know what to expect and that is all they are prepared to believe in.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 December 2013 05:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2011-03-01
XoechZ - 28 October 2013 04:43 AM

Hello!

I have spent some hours to model a nice armor belt and a pantie. Now it looks nice and I am trying to apply shading domains. But this is simply not possible. Every time I try it crashes. Tried 100 times, 100 crashes are the result. Something is terribly wrong here. I even cannot select a single face on the belt without having a crash. So all the time and work was useless.

Now I think I am done with this crappy Hexagon. I really liked it, the useage is easy and it´s fun to work with. But it is much too unstable. Sorry, this is not acceptable. I wonder how DAZ dares to take money for this piece of .... This is not even beta software in my eyes.

Sorry, but I am really a bit upset in the moment grin

So, who can suggest me a good alternative software to Hexagon, which is also easy to use and does not cost hundreds or thousands of dollars. Oh, and please don´t say Blender. I know it is free, but hard to learn and not really useable without learning many many keyboard shortcuts, which is definitely not working for me. I am used to work with mouse or tablet only, and I don´t want to change that.

Thank you!

I have the same problem and I’m gonna switch to blender open source and free.

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 7
5