Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Collision handling for more that one object / character
Posted: 29 October 2013 04:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2012-07-28
Szark - 29 October 2013 04:41 AM

You could try this but you will not be able to adjust the figures with doing it this way.
Select both figures and clothing and “Export” as OBJ
“Import” this OBJ back into Daz Studio
set collison as the two figures are now one object..

Yes, that works as well. Just to add, set resolution of the figures and clothing to base in parameters tab - mesh resolution, before you export to reduce amount of polygons (geometry) you dont need.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2013 04:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7796
Joined  2009-05-14

Also hide any body part that is hidden by clothing, that is also reduce the poly count. wink

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2013 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2012-07-28

hehe, yeah. When you export, it exports everything in the scene, regardless of what you have selected. A way to export some things and not the other things, is to make things you dont want exported invisible and have “ignore invisible nodes” option from export menu checked/active. So basically, you can hide everything but the parts you want for collision.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2013 06:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7796
Joined  2009-05-14

Indeed ben.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2013 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  173
Joined  2013-07-02

Hi Pete,

the hint to export as obj and re-import was quite good. But after the re-import the skin looked very strange (some kind of pastell). Perhaps I forgot to consider something?

Andy

 Signature 

my Deviant Art

http://www.daz3d.com/media/3d/badges/images/badges/badge_10.png

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2013 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7796
Joined  2009-05-14

Could be down to the materials going from advanced to default shaders. You can select your pre exported items and save a material preset and then use that to reload the surfaces on the OBJ.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2013 03:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  173
Joined  2013-07-02

Hm Pete,

sounds good but didn’t work at all.
I selected my two characters and saved a materials preset of the selected items.
After importing the object I tried to apply the material preset. But it only applyed all at only one of the original characters in the object in a much darker color. The other parts of the object belonging to the second character stayed in pastell.

OK, it might be possible to create a suit (geometry shell) out of the object and use this instead the object. Then following the suggestions in one of the earlier posts. That way you’re not spending that much memory in the scene.

Andy

 Signature 

my Deviant Art

http://www.daz3d.com/media/3d/badges/images/badges/badge_10.png

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2013 04:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13946
Joined  2003-10-09

A Materials Preset is saved for only one character. If there are other items parented to the first you can save a Hierarchical Materials preset to capture all of them, but not if they are not parented together.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 October 2013 04:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2012-07-28

The exported/imported parts are not supposed to be visible in render so it doesnt matter how object looks. It is used as collision item, but make the object invisible and render your original figures.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2