Scripts menu disappearing

kurthurtkurthurt Posts: 0
edited June 2012 in New Users

Lately, when I restart DAZ pro 4.0, my scripts menu disappears. I can re-add and it looks persistent for a restart or two, but then it disappears again. Has anyone else seen this?

Post edited by kurthurt on


  • barbultbarbult Posts: 3,703
    edited December 1969

    Mine has disappeared, too, but I can't figure out how to get it back at all.

  • kitakoredazkitakoredaz Posts: 2,286
    edited June 2012

    can not you find the script on smart contents?
    or "content library" too?

    I use dazstudio 4.0.3 pro for PC 64bit,

    I install every scripts in "dazcontentsfolda(myribrary or etc)>scripts folda> utilities or other foldaname>

    and every script file can see and access from "content library".
    (though they often do not have image icon,,)

    if I want to access the sciripts from smart contents, I think I must set metadata for them.
    and they have compatibility,,

    I do not know it has canged with version or not.

    so I can access the script for genesis pose,
    ( I made metadata for it,and set compatibility)
    but I can not access the scripts which has no cpmaptibility.

    (it should be improved, next version ds4.5 ,,)

    767 x 658 - 86K
    Post edited by kitakoredaz on
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 21,561
    edited December 1969

    Have you reloaded your interface layout when the scripts menu disappears? Layouts include the menus, so that will remove it if you are using one of the default layouts or a layout saved before the menu was there. You can recreate the Scripts menu by adding a new custom action, right-click on a file in the content library, or you could create a new menu setup via Edit>Customise, Window>Workspace>Customise in 4.5, and then save the new layout from the Workspace menu or save the menus in particular through the button in the Customise dialogue.

  • kurthurtkurthurt Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    that may be it. I've been playing with the layout recently. Where is the 'scripts' menu contents stored?

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 21,561
    edited December 1969

    There are two bits of information -the list of custom actions, and the menu structure. The menus are stored in the layout, though you can save and load them separately through the Customise dialogue, while custom actions, which you obviously need for the emnus to show the functions, are stored separately and again you can export them from the Customise dialogue. The actual files are in \Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio 4\user layouts by default.

  • kurthurtkurthurt Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    "\Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio 4\user layouts by default."

    thanks. I think we're getting warm, at least. I looked in that path. I found \Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio 4\ but not "user layouts." I do have some scripts in the "scripts menu.

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 21,561
    edited December 1969

    Hmm, well it's possible that i had created the folder. it's also possible that you suimply haven't saved any custom layouts - the current layout and actions are simply saved in various .dsx files in the \Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio 4\ folder - actions, customactions, layout, menus and toolbars.dsx.

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel