Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Mavericks…... Bryce is Back!!!! :-o
Posted: 31 October 2013 07:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2004-11-08
Oroboros - 23 October 2013 03:33 PM

Hi, Grinch here.

This is an interesting footnote to Bryce’s defunct status, but I don’t think it’s a message of hope. It’s what I’d associate with running an alternating current through a corpse and witnessing limbs twitch.

Thanks for making my day.  This is the funniest post Ive read for months.
I will use it to warm my heart while I await Bryce for Mac - with presets!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2014 11:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  122
Joined  2011-09-24

I just discovered this problem. I bought a new Imac and I cant get it to work, this is terrible! The terrain editor seems to crash it.

yikes!

 Signature 

My Store
My Gallery
A captain’s goal was simple: find a crew, find a job… keep flying.
-Firefly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2014 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2004-04-12

“We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” (Albert Einstein) Get people on board that can get the job done otherwise your customer service could come into question!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2014 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2006-09-10

hi there, I just upgraded from a G5 iMac running 10.4 to an intel mac running 10.9, so Imagine that sinking feeling as I realised Bryce wouldnae run on my new machine.

Going back to the G5 isnae an option, thanks to a logic board failure. I was able to get the internal hard drive put into an external caddy so I can still plug it in and access evertyhing…

but what if I was to start up from that external HD, is that an option (another site said it was not recommended but there’s nae harm in getting a second opinion)

What do you think?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2014 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2006-12-04

For anyone who likes to work with Bryce on a Mavericks OSX machine…

Today i have successfully installed Bryce on my new Mavericks laptop.
i used Parallels 9 to run Snow Leopard virtually. and everything is back to normal as it just worked on my old Mac.
i would say it works actually perfect.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2014 02:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  0

Oh, this is just depressing.  So, no way to use Bryce (even through Parallels) on a Mac running Mavericks?  I just assumed that Daz3d would keep working on the product.  Have they abandoned it just like Corel did?

Are we in a position where done of the Daz3d programs will run on the newer Macs?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2014 02:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15134
Joined  2003-10-09

Bryce is the only one that doesn’t work on a newer Mac. all the others are working.  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/19948/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2014 02:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  0

OK ... really depressing.  Bryce is what I use.  And, the post about someone looking into it in the next cycle was posted over a year ago.  So, I’m thinking abandon ware.

I’ll see if I can get it to run on my Windows machine at work.  This means no more Bryce fun at home.  It’s a sad day for me.  I can’t see purchasing more Daz products or content if my favorite program won’t run.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2014 02:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15134
Joined  2003-10-09
rickymaveety - 07 June 2014 02:21 PM

OK ... really depressing.  Bryce is what I use.  And, the post about someone looking into it in the next cycle was posted over a year ago.  So, I’m thinking abandon ware.

I’ll see if I can get it to run on my Windows machine at work.  This means no more Bryce fun at home.  It’s a sad day for me.  I can’t see purchasing more Daz products or content if my favorite program won’t run.

Not abandon ware at all. You only have to look at the amount of posts in this forum for a start, or the number of Bryce images posted to the DAZ 3D Galleries

I feel very sorry for Mac users, but Bryce is still alive and kicking, and some Mac users are getting it to work.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2014 04:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06

Bryce will work under Parallels.  DAZ Studio will work on MacOSX.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2014 07:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2003-10-09
chohole - 07 June 2014 02:25 PM

Not abandon ware at all. You only have to look at the amount of posts in this forum for a start, or the number of Bryce images posted to the DAZ 3D Galleries

I feel very sorry for Mac users, but Bryce is still alive and kicking, and some Mac users are getting it to work.

Abandonware refers to the developers, not the user base.  Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks, and Yosemite fast closing in.  That will be 4 years with no update or even entry into the Dev cycle.  A new version of Windows is slated for next year.  Could this be when it quits running there?  So, Bryce might be alive OR kicking, but it surely isn’t both.

Either Bryce is on life-support in a coma, or it is twitching after being brutally murdered by progress.  I cannot tell which yet.

 Signature 

V3rlon

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2014 07:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15134
Joined  2003-10-09
Verlon - 02 July 2014 07:03 AM
chohole - 07 June 2014 02:25 PM

Not abandon ware at all. You only have to look at the amount of posts in this forum for a start, or the number of Bryce images posted to the DAZ 3D Galleries

I feel very sorry for Mac users, but Bryce is still alive and kicking, and some Mac users are getting it to work.

Abandonware refers to the developers, not the user base.  Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks, and Yosemite fast closing in.  That will be 4 years with no update or even entry into the Dev cycle.  A new version of Windows is slated for next year.  Could this be when it quits running there?  So, Bryce might be alive OR kicking, but it surely isn’t both.

Either Bryce is on life-support in a coma, or it is twitching after being brutally murdered by progress.  I cannot tell which yet.

DAZ 3D still own Bryce, and still sell content for Bryce and are fully aware that they have a thriving Bryce User base.  The sticky post at the top of the forum for Mac Users does explain somewhat. So I am sorry, it is not abandonware.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2014 07:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2003-10-09

And somewhere, there is an Amiga user saying the same thing.

Owning a product and the IP is not the same as working with it.  I own a Bryce 7.1 license, for instance, but I am not doing anything with it (because I am on a Mac).

I would very much like to get Bryce up and running.  I check back in this forum specifically for that reason.  Unfortunately, the message is unchanged, “Bryce came out before those OS versions, so it isn’t DAZ’s fault that it is incompatible.”  If they are not willing to update the software, then Bryce is abandoned.

I really don’t want to keep fighting Vue,

But sooner or later, I may start to like the pain.

 Signature 

V3rlon

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2014 04:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2005-02-11

I come back here from time to time just to see if anything has changed over the years. It seems like a cool thing that “Apple” made changes in OSX10.9 that got Bryce running for some.

As for DAZ, it’s my thinking that DAZ doesn’t know how to update Bryce’s code to run on Mac OSX. They’re simply not able to anymore.

I’d like to thank “zroq” for mentioning Winebottler. For the record, “Wine” can run Bryce for Windows on Linux. At least for me it has. So it’s not inconceivable that a version of Wine for the Mac might.

I’m going to try “Winebottler"and see what happens.

Edit. The less stable development version of “Winebottler” (based on Wine 1.7.16) managed to run Bryce 7.1. Not perfect of course. I had to use Finder to locate the “Bryce.exe”(right click open with Wine) and some advanced material editing things seemed wonky but the program worked. I’ll likely try doing it right with the ‘Winebottler” 1.6.1(stable release) with Mountain Lion later on some time.

A little test render from a Mac mini using “Winebottler”(1.7.16)...

Image Attachments
BryceTest22cc.png
Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2