Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 8
1
Now Available, DAZ Studio Pro BETA (4.6.2.23)!
Posted: 14 October 2013 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
Rank
Total Posts:  176
Joined  2007-11-12

DAZ 3D is pleased to announce the next public version of the DAZ Studio Pro BETA - version 4.6.2.23!

Another BETA, so soon?

Yes.  We want to provide access to builds that fix issues you may have encountered in the General Release, earlier and more frequently.  Obviously we realize that there are users who don’t have an interest in using BETA software (see below).  However, we also realize that there are many who are willing to use BETA software in order to gain access to fixes and/or new features, earlier.

What is a BETA?

Despite our best efforts, DAZ 3D cannot possibly test the software under all possible conditions. So, we are providing this version of the application to the general public in order to uncover problems that were not discovered during internal/private testing. We expect that there will still be problems and we hope that when users encounter any problems, they will report them to the Bug Tracker so that they can be validated, prioritized and fixed.

As with any software classified as being in the BETA phase of development, you should expect to encounter bugs. Any bugs you do encounter while using BETA software can vary in terms of severity, from minor features that do not work correctly to problems that cause your computer to crash. Before choosing to use BETA software for production purposes, you should decide whether the benefit of new features and bug fixes provided by the BETA version outweighs the risk of instability you may encounter.

What is new in this version? Do I need to update my copy?

The 4.6.2.23 version resolves several issues and implements many improvements since the 4.6.1.17 General Release. More detail on specific fixes/changes/improvements can be found in the Change Log, which can be viewed online within the Documentation Center portion of our site. All new downloads of the DAZ Studio Pro BETA product (SKU: 12000) will be of this version.

Public BETA 1 (4.6.2.23) highlights are:
1) Added a clear [DSON] cache button to the preferences dialog
2) Added functionality to Morph Loader Pro that allows splitting a GeoGrafted export into separate morphs for the individual mesh contributors
3) Added an option to restrict influence in the weight map smoothing dialog
4) Fixed a bug in the Hierarchical Material save filter to handle Geometry Shells
5) Fixed a bug in the Hierarchical Material save filter relating to the inclusion of parent data regardless of checked state
6) Fixed #DS-169/CS148257: Fixed delta save for legacy content when multiple figures of the same content are in the scene
7) Added a script to fix problematic legacy scene files with more than one of a given figure; available via this CS Knowledge Base article
8) Fixed #DS-143/CS145252: All textures where being converted to JPG during OBJ export; added an “Original Maps” option; “No Maps” option now prevents maps from being written; paths no longer write out using quotes
9) Fixed #DS-179/CS152340/CS152232: Fixed a crash in ERC Freeze when rigging or hidden properties were involved
10) Optimized ERC Freeze
11) Fixed #DS-174/CS152086: Fixed a crash related to the Scene Selection popup on Mac
12) Added support to content manager* for shortcuts (PC)/symlinks (Mac) of files; *used by the Content Library pane
13) Optimized the Content Library pane to better handle folders with many subfolders

Has the Genesis Starter Essentials, or the Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials, content packages been updated too?

No, the Genesis Starter Essentials and Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials content that is provided with the product has NOT been updated beyond what is currently available with the General Release.

How do I get the latest version?

If you have previously added the DAZ Studio Pro BETA product to your account, launch Install Manager, log into your account and type “DAZ Studio 4.6 Public Beta” into the filter field to filter out anything else.  Then simply download and install as you would normally.

Optionally, you can locate, download and install the BETA from the Product Library [once you are logged into your account] by entering “DAZ Studio Pro BETA” into the text field near the top left of the page and clicking the “Filter” button, or by clicking here. Then, simply click the “download & install” button.

If this is your first time downloading DAZ Studio Pro BETA, simply follow this link, click the “Add to Cart” button on the page and then follow the checkout process.

*Note: This BETA version is not available as a standalone installer.  It must be downloaded and installed using Install Manager.  This does not impact the General Release, which will be made available through Install Manager as well as a standalone installer.

Can I have the General Release and the BETA installed at the same time?

Yes!  You can now have both the General Release and a Public Beta (as well as a Private Beta, for those involved in that endeavor), of the same major version, installed at the same time.  Please be aware that the settings for each of the builds are now stored independent of each other.  This includes mapped content directories, layout, style and style colors, among many others.

What about the plugins I have?

The DAZ Studio 4.5 SDK has not changed in any way that is binary incompatible, which means that any plugins created for a previous version of DAZ Studio 4.5.x should continue to load and function. That said, as with any new release, there is always the possibility that a plugin has had bugs fixed or features added, so the latest versions should be downloaded and installed if they are provided.

Plugins that are currently built/produced by DAZ 3D will provide a separate package specifically intended for the BETA.  3rd party plugins that DAZ 3D creates install packages for will be updated to allow simultaneous installation into the General Release and the BETA builds. These packages will display as “Product Updates” within Install Manager once they have been updated.

Is there any documentation?

Yes, some documentation is located here.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4727
Joined  2004-08-11

YAY~  So glad the wait is over.  Hope the ERC Freeze issue is truly a thing of the past. 

Now about that eye dropper tool we’ve all been wanting??  shock

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 06:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4727
Joined  2004-08-11

YEE HAW, ERC Freeze is not only fixed it’s super duper fast now! THANKS DAZ!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 06:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4727
Joined  2004-08-11

Wanted to ask about this:

2) Added functionality to Morph Loader Pro that allows splitting a GeoGrafted export into separate morphs for the individual mesh contributors

So is there a way to tell MLP to split morphs on a figure?  Say I import a FBM or PBM morph for Genesis and I want 5 morphs made from that, one each arm, one each leg and torso.  It would be nice to have such functionality!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 06:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
RAMWolff - 16 October 2013 06:22 PM

Wanted to ask about this:

2) Added functionality to Morph Loader Pro that allows splitting a GeoGrafted export into separate morphs for the individual mesh contributors

So is there a way to tell MLP to split morphs on a figure?  Say I import a FBM or PBM morph for Genesis and I want 5 morphs made from that, one each arm, one each leg and torso.  It would be nice to have such functionality!

This splits a morph among grafted figures (tail, wing, replacement legs, etc).  It does not split a morph on the same figure.  Studio does not currently ship with a way to split a morph on a single Tri-Ax figure.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 07:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4727
Joined  2004-08-11
DAZ_cjones - 16 October 2013 06:31 PM
RAMWolff - 16 October 2013 06:22 PM

Wanted to ask about this:

2) Added functionality to Morph Loader Pro that allows splitting a GeoGrafted export into separate morphs for the individual mesh contributors

So is there a way to tell MLP to split morphs on a figure?  Say I import a FBM or PBM morph for Genesis and I want 5 morphs made from that, one each arm, one each leg and torso.  It would be nice to have such functionality!

This splits a morph among grafted figures (tail, wing, replacement legs, etc).  It does not split a morph on the same figure.  Studio does not currently ship with a way to split a morph on a single Tri-Ax figure.

Yea, I understand that.  But please add it to the list!  THANKS!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 11:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1136
Joined  2003-10-09

12) Added support to content manager* for shortcuts (PC)/symlinks (Mac) of files; *used by the Content Library pane

What do the ‘*‘s signify?

I clicked the link but couldn’t find the change log for this version. Does the above mean what I hope it means? smile

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 11:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  373
Joined  2003-10-09

“content manager*” indicates that there is a footnote.  “*used by the Content Library pane” is the footnote.

“Content Manager” refers to an important component of the DAZ Studio API.  Not to be confused with the “Content Directory Manager” which is a script/dialog that provides visual access to a specific portion of the data handled by the Content Manager; i.e. content directory mappings.  Also not to be confused with the “Content Management Service” or “CMS” which is a related but separate database service that deals specifically with metadata associated with files that are ultimately sent to the Content Manager for opening/importing.  The support of shortcuts (PC) and aliases/symlinks (Mac) for files being at the Content Manager level means that in addition to the Content Library pane being able to handle them, they can also be used by scripts and plugins.

-Rob

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 12:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1136
Joined  2003-10-09
rbtwhiz - 16 October 2013 11:26 PM

“content manager*” indicates that there is a footnote.  “*used by the Content Library pane” is the footnote.

“Content Manager” refers to an important component of the DAZ Studio API.  Not to be confused with the “Content Directory Manager” which is a script/dialog that provides visual access to a specific portion of the data handled by the Content Manager; i.e. content directory mappings.  Also not to be confused with the “Content Management Service” or “CMS” which is a related but separate database service that deals specifically with metadata associated with files that are ultimately sent to the Content Manager for opening/importing.  The support of shortcuts (PC) and aliases/symlinks (Mac) for files being at the Content Manager level means that in addition to the Content Library pane being able to handle them, they can also be used by scripts and plugins.

-Rob

Kudos. I would expect nothing less than full integration. You guys are great designers.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 12:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1947
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,

rbtwhiz - 16 October 2013 11:26 PM

The support of shortcuts (PC) and aliases/symlinks (Mac) for files being at the Content Manager level means that in addition to the Content Library pane being able to handle them, they can also be used by scripts and plugins.

-Rob

Wait…so I could build essentially a ‘bookmarks’ folder that was visible in Content Library which just had symlinks to my most commonly used content folders?  Is this totally new (I can’t believe I never tried it!) or is it just that it’s newly (now) supported in scripts and plugins?

In trying it out in the current stable version, the Content Library seems to ignore soft links; they don’t even show up in the listing, so I’m guessing this is a fully new feature.

— Morgan

 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 01:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  373
Joined  2003-10-09

Appreciate the compliment and confidence, Spit.

Cypherfox - 17 October 2013 12:02 AM

Wait…so I could build essentially a ‘bookmarks’ folder that was visible in Content Library which just had symlinks to my most commonly used content folders?  Is this totally new (I can’t believe I never tried it!) or is it just that it’s newly (now) supported in scripts and plugins?

In trying it out in the current stable version, the Content Library seems to ignore soft links; they don’t even show up in the listing, so I’m guessing this is a fully new feature.

Yes, completely new to 4.6.2.x.  This was not supported in earlier builds… be that in the Content Library pane, in scripts or in plugins (assuming they passed paths to the Content Manager for opening/importing and didn’t manually resolve them using other means).

Notice that I’ve specifically indicated “files” and not “folders”.  That understood, yes… you can now create a ‘bookmarks’ folder that is visible in the Content Library pane (assuming its within a mapped directory) which contains a bunch of symbolic links (aka shortcuts, aliases, symlinks, soft links, etc) to your most commonly used files in their respective canonical file paths and the Content Manager will resolve the link and act as though it were the linked file.

-Rob

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 02:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1947
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,
Interesting…probably a deep technical reason it couldn’t resolve symlinks to folders…?

Still, I’ll have to play with this.

— Morgan

 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 10:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  98
Joined  2011-04-11

It says “We expect that there will still be problems and we hope that when users encounter any problems, they will report them to the Bug Tracker so that they can be validated, prioritized and fixed”  However, clicking on the link takes me to the Help Center.  So where is the Bug Tracker now?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 10:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1165
Joined  2007-10-17
artistb3 - 17 October 2013 10:40 AM

It says “We expect that there will still be problems and we hope that when users encounter any problems, they will report them to the Bug Tracker so that they can be validated, prioritized and fixed”  However, clicking on the link takes me to the Help Center.  So where is the Bug Tracker now?

Connected to the Help Center, on our end. Your end is simplified so that you have one stop for Technical Support, Customer Service support or filing bugs.

Just file a support ticket/Submit a request. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 11:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2615
Joined  2007-12-07
RAMWolff - 16 October 2013 06:22 PM

<snip>...
So is there a way to tell MLP to split morphs on a figure?...</snip>

Oh gods, shoot me.  Shoot me now.  I read MLP as My Little Pony ... wink

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 October 2013 11:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1165
Joined  2007-10-17
SimonJM - 17 October 2013 11:10 AM
RAMWolff - 16 October 2013 06:22 PM

<snip>...
So is there a way to tell MLP to split morphs on a figure?...</snip>

Oh gods, shoot me.  Shoot me now.  I read MLP as My Little Pony ... wink

You have discovered our secret. That is the magic behind how Morph Loader Pro works. smile

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 8
1