Digital Art Zone

 
     
No ambient value for lights?
Posted: 13 October 2013 07:27 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2013-10-04

In every 3d modeling program I’ve ever used, there were at least three light types:  diffuse, specular, and ambient.  However, although I’ve found several tutorials on how to add even lighting for a scene (3-point lights and all), I’m wondering why there is no ambient light or an ambient value for any of the existing lights.  (Ambient light being an even, omnidirectional light source that provides every polygon with at least a minimum amount of lighting value, for those who may not be familiar.)

Am I missing something?  Is there a hidden control somewhere that is disabled by default?  A setting outside the of the normal “parameters” tab?  Adding multiple distant light still tends to give a somewhat uneven lighting level and adds to render time, which is why I’m trying to avoid it for now.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2013 07:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

You’d use something like the UE2 sphere for ambient.

Content Library > Daz Studio Format > Library > Light Presets > Omnifreaker > Uberenvironment.

Double click the !Uberenvironment2 Help icon for the how-to.

/edit
It’s not as accurate as it could/should be though. Take a look here: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/28358/P15/#422435

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2013 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1333
Joined  2003-10-09

Note that there are quality vs. speed settings when using the UberEnvironment.  You will probably want to start out with low quality just to see the effects of the lighting, but then when you get a rough idea, adjust the settings to get rid of the grainy spots that will show up in the shadows using lower quality settings, although this will increase render times.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2013 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  712
Joined  2012-02-12

There is an ambiant value and color for every surface shader that I’ve seen for DS It adds a fixed color to the surface and that can be different for every surface. That is more controlable than an ambiant light for the whole scene

As Vaskania said, you can also use Uberenvironement in Ambiant mode and it will give you a constant ambiant light

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile