Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Shortcut to content library items
Posted: 10 October 2013 12:20 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2013-05-29

I’m using the city limits layout and there is plenty of room around the border for more icons.  I was hoping I could simply drag items from my content catalog onto the border to create shortcuts to those items (similarly to how you pin a program in the Windows taskbar), but it doesn’t work.  Is it possible to create shortcuts to my most used items?

Thanks!
dpm316

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 01:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4999
Joined  2005-08-03

Right click the item > create custom action (or something like that, it’s at the bottom of the right click menu). You’ll get it in a Scripts menu at the top of DS. You can then go to Window > Workspace > Customize and drag ‘em where you want ‘em.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Free Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 01:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

That is done in Windows Menu> Workspace> Customize. Most common Commands are there. To Add Items (Content) you first need to do a Right Click and Create Custum Action on the Item, which adds the item to the Script Menu. You can then move Items from the Script Menu to other Custom lay outs in the Workspace editor.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 01:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

And VASK beat me to the Post button.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 01:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2013-05-29

Sweet!  Thanks to you both for the quick replies.  This is exactly what I needed!

Peace \/
dpm316

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 01:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4999
Joined  2005-08-03
Jaderail - 10 October 2013 01:07 AM

And VASK beat me to the Post button.

Bwahahaha

raspberry

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Free Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 02:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2013-05-29

So if I’m creating “custom actions” is it possible to script something like this:

1. Select left eye.
2. Select right eye.
3. Point at camera.

Thanks again!
dpm316

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 02:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4999
Joined  2005-08-03

Don’t think so. I don’t think the ‘point at’ portion can be saved into a pose file. You’d need to code an actual script for something like that.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Free Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 05:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15815
Joined  2003-10-09

You could script it, certainly, but it would be a custom script - written in the ScriptIDE pane or a text editor and saved as a .dsa file. Once saved the script could be made a custom action in exactly the same way as content.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 07:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Yes, I have many Scripts added to my interface in that fashion.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2013 08:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2013-05-29

So how would one go about writing a script that selects the left and right eyes of the selected object (i.e. Genesis) and sets them both to point to the camera?  I’ve seen more complicated scripts for following the camera which seems to be made for animation and correction scripts for adjusting the eye lids, but nothing simple like what I’m trying to achieve.  Is there a script recorder tool I can use to record my actions in real time?  If not, is there a sample script for selecting objects and changing parameter values?

Thanks!
dpm316

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2013 07:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15815
Joined  2003-10-09
// Get the last item selected, if any
// Ignoer other selections in this case
var item Scene.getPrimarySelection();
// Make sure soemthing was selected
if ( item {
 
// If the seelcted item was a bone,
 // get its skeelton (the actual figure)
 
if ( item.inherits("DzBone" ) ) {
  item 
item.getSkeleton();
 
}
 
// Make sure we have a skeleton, as opposed to a prop or light
 
if ( item.inherits"DzSkeleton" ) ) {
  
// Get the eyes - the true tells the search
  // to check the whole figure rather than just
  // the immediate children
  
var rEye item.findNodeChild"rEye" true );
  var 
lEye item.findNodeChild"lEye" true );
  
// And find the camera - use the right label, of course
  
var cam Scene.findNodeByLabel"Camera 1" );
  
// make sure we have all three items
  
if ( rEye && lEye && cam {
   
// getPointAtControl iss aid to be always valid, so
   // we can skip any checking here, just set the target node
   
rEye.getPointAtControl().setNodecam );
   
lEye.getPointAtControl().setNodecam );
  
}
 }

I’ve tried to add explanatory comments

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2013 08:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks, very helpful.  I renamed Camera 1 to the name of my camera and it worked…once.
It’s not continuing to work, and I wonder if the value has to be set to 1.0 ?  If so,
what would be the code needed for that?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2013 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  98
Joined  2012-06-28

what is the use of “LOOK AT” ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2013 01:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15815
Joined  2003-10-09
CMacks - 15 October 2013 08:33 AM

Thanks, very helpful.  I renamed Camera 1 to the name of my camera and it worked…once.
It’s not continuing to work, and I wonder if the value has to be set to 1.0 ?  If so,
what would be the code needed for that?

Not working how? You can’t change it to point at a different camera, or you can’t use it on another figure to point at the same camera?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2013 12:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2003-10-09

The first time I run the script I saved based on your code, the eyes look at the camera as expected.  If I then leave the Point At value at 1.0 but use the parameter drop down to change Camera 100mm to None, and try the script it works (again).  However, if instead I put the value at 0.0 and try the script, it doesn’t work.  Hope that’s clear.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1