Digital Art Zone

 
     
problem with genesis 2, missing dsf file.
Posted: 09 October 2013 04:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-11-30

I’ve uninstalled Daz, then reinstalled everything with the DLM.  Started the Content Management Service.  But only part of Genesis 2 seems to have installed.  Some of the files are there, but the .dsf is missing.  Tried re-downloading it using the dlm again, same results.  Any ideas?


I get an error message saying “/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis 2/Female/Genesis2Female.dsf” is missing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2013 10:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2287
Joined  2003-12-06

Have you checked in your installation location /data/ folder if the file is actually there, or D|S only thinks it isn’t? Also, are you sure D|S and DIM are agreeing on where to install things? The two programs don’t talk to each other, and by default DIM does not install content to the same location as D|S by default looks for it. Yes, that is as accident-prone as it sounds.

Can you post screenshots of your DIM installation location and D|S Directory Manager settings? They should be preserved from your previous installation (unless you know how to do a clean sweep of the hidden files), but sometimes Weird Stuff™ happens.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 12:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

If your missing the Start up scene you need to change that in Preferences>StartUp so it points to the Genesis.duf
Here is mine pointing to my DIM content folder.

Image Attachments
Capture-001.png
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 01:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03
Jaderail - 10 October 2013 12:34 AM

If your missing the Start up scene you need to change that in Preferences>StartUp so it points to the Genesis.duf
Here is mine pointing to my DIM content folder.

Not trying to step on toes, but I’m not sure adding the startup scene for Genesis 1 would help with the /data files for G2F.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2013 01:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Miss read the post… ignore the goofy blue guy…

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2013 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-11-30
SpottedKitty - 09 October 2013 10:07 PM

Have you checked in your installation location /data/ folder if the file is actually there, or D|S only thinks it isn’t? Also, are you sure D|S and DIM are agreeing on where to install things? The two programs don’t talk to each other, and by default DIM does not install content to the same location as D|S by default looks for it. Yes, that is as accident-prone as it sounds.

Can you post screenshots of your DIM installation location and D|S Directory Manager settings? They should be preserved from your previous installation (unless you know how to do a clean sweep of the hidden files), but sometimes Weird Stuff™ happens.

DS wasn’t looking in the C drive where DLM was installing stuff.  It was looking at the drive I had an old installation on.  Seems I have to go in and specifically add each sub-directory (like “people” or “product X”,) even though I’ve added the parent directory.  But now I know how to add the directory for anything I can’t find at least.  Thanks!

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2013 06:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

You never ADD sub-directories Just the TOP folder. But you add it as BOTH a Daz Studio Format folder and as Poser Format both.
Like shown here.

Image Attachments
Paths.png
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2013 11:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

If adding your sub-directories are fixing your issue, you may have a nested runtime problem.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile