Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 6
3
New Update, DAZ 3D Install Manager 1.0.1.90, Now Available!
Posted: 04 October 2013 12:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1452
Joined  2006-09-09
Vaskania - 04 October 2013 12:19 AM

There are no words.

I have no excuse.


downer

LOL! it’s in eeny weeny teeny tiny writing and we just never notice it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 06:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14209
Joined  2003-10-09

The interesting, if slightly unbelievable, thing is that the folder of downloads holds almost the same quantity of data as I have waiting to download, but I still have almost everything from 2010 and before waiting to download. I know files have grown larger, but ten years matching two and a bit seems excessive.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 09:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2003-10-09

Bigger screens, faster processors, more ram, makes for HUGE jpgs for textures. I remember when 1000x1000 was considered large and now we don’t blink at 4096.. And the extra maps now besides diffuse and bump…not to mention the figures being split into several themselves. And the polycounts are much higher as well. It’s amazing we can still import stuff into Bryce.

But plain text is still plain text. Thankfully there are some things that never change.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 09:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2003-10-09

Oh, I found a new use for DIM. Since I don’t use Smart Content and tend to go to Explorer when I want to browse that leaves searching for a specific product in the maze of stuff in My Library.

Since I normally keep DIM open, I just call it up and use search, then right-click on the product name and select ‘Show Installed Files’ and there ya go.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1361
Joined  2008-01-01

Just wanting to check whether others are getting this problem…

Since updating DIM this morning, the updated products which show in the top portion of the ready to download tab simply will not complete the download - they get to 99%, then “download failed”.  Tried numerous times, same result.  Previously, when a download failed, I could click on the the message and it would resume from where it left off - but not with these products.

The other products give no problem - I have a whole slew of stuff waiting to download because I’m busy with a totally fresh install of all things Daz to my new machine using DIM and get to it as and when I have time.

This is really strange, so I’d like to know whether anyone else is experiencing it smile(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t think I’ve had any updates since I installed this new version so I couldn’t say.

I noticed one file in the log that had a network error and had only a partial download. I also noticed that it started again on its own and completed it. I didn’t even know about it. So you don’t have to do anything.

In your case since it’s only updates, perhaps there’s something corrupt there. Anything of interest in the log?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 01:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  548
Joined  2005-09-12
Roygee - 04 October 2013 09:52 AM

Just wanting to check whether others are getting this problem…

Since updating DIM this morning, the updated products which show in the top portion of the ready to download tab simply will not complete the download - they get to 99%, then “download failed”.  Tried numerous times, same result.  Previously, when a download failed, I could click on the the message and it would resume from where it left off - but not with these products.

The other products give no problem - I have a whole slew of stuff waiting to download because I’m busy with a totally fresh install of all things Daz to my new machine using DIM and get to it as and when I have time.

This is really strange, so I’d like to know whether anyone else is experiencing it smile(

I’ve run into this on a couple of updates, when they were not set up properly in the store. Check the file sizes - anything smaller than 1 KB is a sure sign of an improperly set up product. The ones I ran into showed 223 Bytes, for some reason.

Report the items to sales support via zendesk if that is what you’ve got.

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 11:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1361
Joined  2008-01-01

Thanks for responding - no, its not the files size, that looks good.  Tried again this morning and was pleasantly surprised to find “Resume” against the entries, but when I did, they start back from zero and again fail to download.

There three files which are giving me problems are shown in the attached pic - I imagine everyone using Studio or Carrara would have been offered them ?

There is a log somewhere?

If you can tell me were to find it, I’ll take a look before opening a support ticket.

Image Attachments
Dim.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2013 11:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8649
Joined  2007-11-06

Click the Settings ger in the upper right corner and there will be a “Show Log” button on the bottom left.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2013 12:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1361
Joined  2008-01-01

Thank you - got it smile

This is an extract from a typical entry for a failed download - I am sure this will mean something to you

WARNING: Error renaming temporary file “E:/DIM_Downloads/IM00002106-01_MillenniumHorseTexturePack1.zip.{9ea8c51a-3917-2f7b-e65b-1e7dbd9a6fe4}.part”
WARNING: Network Error while downloading to file “E:/DIM_Downloads/IM00002107-01_MillenniumHorseTexturePack2.zip.{18aeb6ab-8325-4f79-fe25-df326703d764}.part”: Operation canceled

EDIT:  Just tried again with the Mil Horse Texture Pack - again 99% then fail.  Took a good look at the log for this try and found that DIM seems to think I’m running Windows Vista, when I’m actually running Windows 7 - don’t know whether that would have any relevance

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2013 01:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2003-10-09

I’d close DIM, delete the partial files, then run DIM again. Something may be preventing the rename process (locked for some reason or other) or it may have become corrupted in some way. Hopefully this will force DIM to start the download from the beginning.


.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2013 12:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1361
Joined  2008-01-01

Thanks for the tip - but sadly it din’t work.  Got exactly the same result as before - there must be something wrong with the files, so I’ll open a support ticket.

Thank you for the help, though smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2013 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  548
Joined  2007-08-14

Installed Advanced Ambient Light, then realized it went to the wrong folder, so clicked Uninstall. DIM is apparently now stuck saying “Uninstalling… 100%”, it’s been several minutes now.

I’ll just leave it sitting there until I’m done watching some SNL, then I guess a force quit if it’s still stuck.

Edit: After killing and restarting DIM I see Advanced Ambient Light is again Ready to Install.

DIM 1.0.1.90, CMS not installed

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2013 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2003-10-09
araneldon - 06 October 2013 12:35 PM

Installed Advanced Ambient Light, then realized it went to the wrong folder, so clicked Uninstall. DIM is apparently now stuck saying “Uninstalling… 100%”, it’s been several minutes now.

I’ll just leave it sitting there until I’m done watching some SNL, then I guess a force quit if it’s still stuck.

Edit: After killing and restarting DIM I see Advanced Ambient Light is again Ready to Install.

DIM 1.0.1.90, CMS not installed


Strange. I use DIM to install and all the files went to their proper locations. Seriously. The ones that were to go in the Studio program folder did—they did NOT go into the users appdata area as some have reported.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2013 12:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  548
Joined  2007-08-14
Spit - 06 October 2013 07:00 PM

Strange. I use DIM to install and all the files went to their proper locations.

Some files went to the wrong place because I had the wrong target selected in DIM. This was my mistake and not the problem I’m reporting.

The point of my post is that DIM hang during uninstall. Sorry if my wording was unclear.

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 6
3