Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 22
3
DAZ Studio Pro 4.6.1.17 General Release, Now Available!
Posted: 03 October 2013 02:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5349
Joined  2008-03-06

I had installation of the CMS fail on both this machine (all default install paths, DIM install) and on my main workhorse desktop (nonstandard install location, no DIM, no internet connection).  Otherwise the program installed fine and is working great.  The improvements to properties/hierarchy management are great.


Since I never actually use metadata this doesn’t inconvenience me personally, but if in future DAZ decides we have to, this might prove a problem.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery and tutorials.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 03:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  79
Joined  2006-12-12

I may have missed something somewhere but every time I attempt to use Female Genisis2 I only get a cube form of the figure and an error notification…

The error window reads as follows:
Missing Files
Some assets needed to load the file were missing. The content may not work as expected.
The following files could not be found.
/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis2Female.dsf

But the file is EXACTLY where it is supposed to be (where it is listed above).

Before someone suggest that I change the “Draw Style Options” from Bounding Box to another setting it doesn’t make a difference…still getting cubes. downer

H E L P

 

Image Attachments
Capture.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 03:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1426
Joined  2009-09-11

Reality 2.5 was broken with the beta has this been rectified?

 Signature 

http://bobvan.deviantart.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37909888@N05/sets/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 03:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  79
Joined  2006-12-12

....Genesis2 (Cube) Female doesn’t render either.

Maybe this is a vampire morph I am not aware of?

I would assume that I am the only one have this issue….???

M4 loads and renders fine….grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Image Attachments
render1.jpgCapture.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 03:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  373
Joined  2003-10-09
SLoTH_XVX - 03 October 2013 03:19 PM

I may have missed something somewhere but every time I attempt to use Female Genisis2 I only get a cube form of the figure and an error notification…

The error window reads as follows:
Missing Files
Some assets needed to load the file were missing. The content may not work as expected.
The following files could not be found.
/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis2Female.dsf

But the file is EXACTLY where it is supposed to be (where it is listed above).

Before someone suggest that I change the “Draw Style Options” from Bounding Box to another setting it doesn’t make a difference…still getting cubes. downer

H E L P

Is the portion of the path before “/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis2Female.dsf” mapped as a DAZ Studio content directory? The General Release and the Public Build (Beta) do not share settings, so you’ll want to be sure the base folder that contains that file is mapped in this version.

-Rob

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 03:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
Bobvan - 03 October 2013 03:30 PM

Reality 2.5 was broken with the beta has this been rectified?

The individual that reported that bug says that it was fixed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 03:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  373
Joined  2003-10-09
Bobvan - 03 October 2013 03:30 PM

Reality 2.5 was broken with the beta has this been rectified?

Change Log : Do a page search for “reality”... build 4.6.1.7.

-Rob

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  79
Joined  2006-12-12
rbtwhiz - 03 October 2013 03:56 PM
SLoTH_XVX - 03 October 2013 03:19 PM

I may have missed something somewhere but every time I attempt to use Female Genisis2 I only get a cube form of the figure and an error notification…

The error window reads as follows:
Missing Files
Some assets needed to load the file were missing. The content may not work as expected.
The following files could not be found.
/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis2Female.dsf

But the file is EXACTLY where it is supposed to be (where it is listed above).

Before someone suggest that I change the “Draw Style Options” from Bounding Box to another setting it doesn’t make a difference…still getting cubes. downer

H E L P

Is the portion of the path before “/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis2Female.dsf” mapped as a DAZ Studio content directory? The General Release and the Public Build (Beta) do not share settings, so you’ll want to be sure the base folder that contains that file is mapped in this version.

-Rob

....eeeerrr….I think so….

C:\Users\<my info>\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\Content\data\DAZ 3D\Genesis 2\Female\Genesis2Female.dsf

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
SLoTH_XVX - 03 October 2013 04:10 PM
rbtwhiz - 03 October 2013 03:56 PM
SLoTH_XVX - 03 October 2013 03:19 PM

I may have missed something somewhere but every time I attempt to use Female Genisis2 I only get a cube form of the figure and an error notification…

The error window reads as follows:
Missing Files
Some assets needed to load the file were missing. The content may not work as expected.
The following files could not be found.
/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis2Female.dsf

But the file is EXACTLY where it is supposed to be (where it is listed above).

Before someone suggest that I change the “Draw Style Options” from Bounding Box to another setting it doesn’t make a difference…still getting cubes. downer

H E L P

Is the portion of the path before “/data/DAZ 3D/Genesis2Female.dsf” mapped as a DAZ Studio content directory? The General Release and the Public Build (Beta) do not share settings, so you’ll want to be sure the base folder that contains that file is mapped in this version.

-Rob

....eeeerrr….I think so….

C:\Users\<my info>\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\Content\data\DAZ 3D\Genesis 2\Female\Genesis2Female.dsf

You have a Content folder under my Library?  That shouldn’t be there.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  79
Joined  2006-12-12

Ok, where should it be? The file set-up of Studio still confuses me….I have bounced back and forth between Studio and Carrara over the years and (right now) the only file path set-up that makes sense to me is the Poser paths…and I don’t even use Poser.

I save/set-up my runtimes on external drives currently and the set-up for Genesis boggles my mind.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
SLoTH_XVX - 03 October 2013 04:24 PM

Ok, where should it be? The file set-up of Studio still confuses me….I have bounced back and forth between Studio and Carrara over the years and (right now) the only file path set-up that makes sense to me is the Poser paths…and I don’t even use Poser.

I save/set-up my runtimes on external drives currently and the set-up for Genesis boggles my mind.

the standard path would be:
C:\Users\<my info>\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\data\DAZ 3D\Genesis 2\Female\Genesis2Female.dsf

you could have the path you specified but then you would need to map:
C:\Users\<my info>\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\Content
but that can get very confusing.

The folder name content shouldn’t exist anymore.  It can for legacy reasons be there but then it needs to be the folder that is mapped.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15784
Joined  2003-10-09

The DIM zips do contain a Content folder - you need to take the files and folders from that and place them in your actual content directory, which is either the My Library folder in your Documents or the My DAZ 3D Library in Public Documents by default.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  79
Joined  2006-12-12

OK, so let me run this back…

The Content folder is essentially obsolete and everything should NOW go into the My Library folder….correct?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
SLoTH_XVX - 03 October 2013 04:32 PM

OK, so let me run this back…

The Content folder is essentially obsolete and everything should NOW go into the My Library folder….correct?

Correct.  If you had pointed DIM to the My Library folder and told it to install there, that’s exactly what it would do.  So if you are doing it manually that is the correct procedure.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2013 04:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9676
Joined  2007-11-06
SLoTH_XVX - 03 October 2013 04:32 PM

OK, so let me run this back…

The Content folder is essentially obsolete and everything should NOW go into the My Library folder….correct?

It can be called “My Library” or “Content”, but not “My Library/Content”.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 22
3