Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
Poser Pro 2010- Library not loading
Posted: 16 December 2013 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  0

Yeah… well here we are again… my Library is white. My computer updated Windows last night and I’m guessing this is the same thing. 

Poser 8/ PC.

I updated Flash and that didn’t fix it. Next is Air.  If that doesn’t work I’ll see what I can do to fix it.

But I’m with chohole: Why do I need to be connected to Content Paradise?  I have never used it, and clearly all it ever does is crash my library every so often when Windows updates… does anyone know how to tell Poser to stop phoning home?

 Signature 

Posing in Poser/Daz studio since 1999

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2013 12:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1016
Joined  2007-11-28

The update likely included Internet Explorer 11, which is incompatible with Poser 8.  You need to either roll back the IE update and install this patch to Windows to prevent it’s automatic reinstallation, ( http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40722  ) or you need to upgrade to Poser 9 or 10.(or 10 if you are using Windows 8.1)..

 Signature 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-
\Who gives a Rat’s Keister how many posts I had at the old Forum? LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2013 05:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  0

Oh… this is nice:

———————————————————

Thank you for contacting Support. Poser 8 is not supported on Windows 7. Recent Operating System Updates and changes to IE have made the program so it no longer functions on Windows 7 or later.

You can upgrade to Poser 10 here

http://poser.smithmicro.com/upgrade.html

John Csaky | Customer/Tech Support
Smith Micro Software, Inc. | Forward Thinking, Delivered Today | http://www.smithmicro.com

————————————————————-

I wish I had a job where every time I made a mistake, people would pay me money.  I’d be a millionaire.

 Signature 

Posing in Poser/Daz studio since 1999

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2013 05:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16030
Joined  2003-10-09

What nonsense.  I am quite happily running Poser 8 on windows 7. THe only problems I have had have been the times that something external has affected it, like the time with the FLash player update, and this time with the IE 11 update.

Use the MS fix to remove IE 11 and block auto updates from reinstalling it and you should be fine.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2013 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  0

Okay…. so I downloaded that patch… just click the .cmd?

Also I clicked off of IE11 in uninstall programs… and downloaded IE 10 (Which said it was already installed)... and I’m still running into the same problem… can anyone help me?  I don’t have $90 to sidegrade.

 Signature 

Posing in Poser/Daz studio since 1999

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2013 08:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1016
Joined  2007-11-28
Aabhnormal - 16 December 2013 05:12 PM

Oh… this is nice:

———————————————————

Thank you for contacting Support. Poser 8 is not supported on Windows 7. Recent Operating System Updates and changes to IE have made the program so it no longer functions on Windows 7 or later.

You can upgrade to Poser 10 here

http://poser.smithmicro.com/upgrade.html

John Csaky | Customer/Tech Support
Smith Micro Software, Inc. | Forward Thinking, Delivered Today | http://www.smithmicro.com

————————————————————-
.

To put it politely, that’s baloney:


Smith Micro titles for compatibility on Windows 7.

Below is the list of programs for use on Windows 7. Please note that you must be running the latest release of each of these programs:

Anime Studio 6 Debut
Anime Studio 6 Pro
Anime Studio 7 Debut
Anime Studio 7 Pro
AquaZone Oceans Of The World
CheckIt Registry Cleaner 2.0.3
CheckIt Diagnostics 8
Manga Studio Debut 4
Manga Studio EX 4
Personal Photo Manager Deluxe
Poser Debut
Poser 8
Poser Pro 2010
StuffIt (Deluxe, Standard and Expander) 2010

https://support.smithmicro.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2239

 Signature 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-
\Who gives a Rat’s Keister how many posts I had at the old Forum? LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2013 08:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  0

Thanks for the support, guys… I’m rather unhappy about this.

Okay, so I unchecked IE 11 in the uninstall programs and restarted and we are still no-go.  Any other ideas?

Now it’s sort of becoming a matter of pride NOT to upgrade… I’m feeling my inner-George-Bush and not wanting to give in to a hostage situation… smile

 Signature 

Posing in Poser/Daz studio since 1999

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2013 09:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1016
Joined  2007-11-28

Did you try reinstalling Flash for IE?  IE 11 has its own Flash plugin…

 Signature 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-
\Who gives a Rat’s Keister how many posts I had at the old Forum? LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2013 08:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  0

Okay… that’s quite the operation…. it’ll take a while (You have to manually delete files?!?! What kind of uninstaller is this?!?).  I’ll report back to you and tell you how it went (And then I guess I’ll make a tutorial on it for anyone else who is going through this… o.O)

Thank you for helping me! :D

 Signature 

Posing in Poser/Daz studio since 1999

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2013 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1016
Joined  2007-11-28

I believe Windows Update should have set a restore point before this update, so I would restore to that point…

 Signature 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-
\Who gives a Rat’s Keister how many posts I had at the old Forum? LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 January 2014 08:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2005-06-23

Is there a solution for this white libraries problem? I have Windows 7 and I have install both Poser 8 and 9 in my computer always work fine until this happened.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 January 2014 08:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8709
Joined  2007-11-06
DiYanira - 24 January 2014 08:13 PM

Is there a solution for this white libraries problem? I have Windows 7 and I have install both Poser 8 and 9 in my computer always work fine until this happened.

Smith Micro has a patch for Poser 9; for Poser 8 the only option currently is to block IE11 from installing.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 January 2014 09:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2005-06-23
fixmypcmike - 24 January 2014 08:26 PM
DiYanira - 24 January 2014 08:13 PM

Is there a solution for this white libraries problem? I have Windows 7 and I have install both Poser 8 and 9 in my computer always work fine until this happened.

Smith Micro has a patch for Poser 9; for Poser 8 the only option currently is to block IE11 from installing.

IE11 is already install how do I uninstall it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 January 2014 09:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2005-06-23

Hi, when trying to install the patch for Poser 9 it shows this

Image Attachments
ScreenHunter_01_Jan._24_23_.10_.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 January 2014 09:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
DiYanira - 24 January 2014 09:19 PM

Hi, when trying to install the patch for Poser 9 it shows this

What version of Windows?

Is IE, Poser or anything else open when installing?

Are you running the installer as a regular, limited user or as an administrator?

 

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2