Digital Art Zone

 
   
48 of 100
48
CAR AND BIKE LOVERS THREAD - MARK II
Posted: 02 January 2013 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 706 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

ok…I found the Japanese page you guys were talking about, but I have no idea which of these things to download, there are lots of them.

I got one called “gta tools for Blender”, but where the heck do I put the contents from the .zip file? I am just lost! I am not even sure I got the right script.

Someone PLEASE help me get this thing working. I have Blender 2.60 and 2.65a.

 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 January 2013 09:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 707 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2012-11-16
music2u4u - 02 January 2013 08:59 PM

ok…I found the Japanese page you guys were talking about, but I have no idea which of these things to download, there are lots of them.

I got one called “gta tools for Blender”, but where the heck do I put the contents from the .zip file? I am just lost! I am not even sure I got the right script.

Someone PLEASE help me get this thing working. I have Blender 2.60 and 2.65a.

if it is the Japanese one with the gui there will be a folder space3dview something or other….just move that folder into \blender-2.65a-windows32\2.65\scripts\addons then start blender and go to file/user preferences/add ons/ look in left column 3d view click it then tick the box and also the save as default and your all set., the gui will be on the blender main page left column under object tools at the bottom.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 January 2013 09:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 708 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

I got the 0.9.2 one you put the link up for. I went through the user preferances/addon thing and installed it. It shows in the import now as renderview .dff. I clicked it and went to the Ford .dff file, clicked it and Blender went black and said not responding, so I waited and waited and finally it loaded…whew! I’ll let you know what I have later.

grin

 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 January 2013 11:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 709 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

Ok you’ze guyz!

I got it all working now. I had to go into Super Modeling Man mode. I have never even opened Blender before tonight and had to learn the entire interface in like 30 minutes…I did!

I also discovered that on the right upper corner there is a model hiarchy tree. I can click it open and it lists all the parts like it does in ZModeler. I was able to go to each DAM file and delete each one (the alt+H didn’t work BTW, it did nothing at all.)

with this I figured out how to delete all the parts except the part I wanted to export as an .obj. This way I can export the doors and the hood and trunk and each tire as seperate objects, making them movable. Once I import each part into Poser, and they do load in place, I can set the point of origin for rotation and make them open and close with limits so they stop perfectly in place and only open as far as they should. Then I can save the entire car as a .pp2 file with all the parts working perfectly.

The texture files should load into place. Each part has a number now, and all in series. So I can just write down which series goes to which part of the car, as these also show in the hiarchy tree under the part.

I was able to duplicate the tire fast and import what I have into DS3.1. Here is a quick OpenGL render of what I have now. Next…textures.

I have learned ALL this in under an hour. Start to finish. Am I Super Model Man or what?....hehehe.

grin

Image Attachments
1940FordDeluxeRaw1.jpg
 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 January 2013 11:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 710 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

Here is a screeshot of the hiarchy tree in Blender.

Image Attachments
Hiarchy.jpg
 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 January 2013 11:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 711 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2012-11-16

Nice work, I am impressed, I’ve used blender before and about all I can do is import and export and I struggle with that. I tried exporting it straight out as an obj and it melted, so I exported it as an fbx and it exploded, lol. Anyway I have it sort of under control now except I have to align the hood trunk and doors. I think in blender h is hide and alt h is unhide, but I may be wrong. I have extra dented parts I guess I’ll just delete….?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2013 03:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 712 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

So I finally finished it. When I first exported it as an .obj file, took it into DS3 and applied shaders and texture maps, it took a while because I had to guess at which texture went where…lots of them. I started seeing a pattern of them and it went faster. I had to make my own transmap for the letters on the hubcaps as they had a white square backing. Then when I got all textures in place, I tried a render with the included 3Delight render engine. The entire car came back black! OMG!

So, I then tried a quick low quality OpenGL render and you could see it all, but no gloss and chrome was black. I went back through the advanced settings and noticed there were many zones that had a blue image under reflections, so I removed all of them. Still black.

So here is what resolved it…I re-exported it from DS3 as an .obj file and had it save the maps with it. I then imported the new .obj file back into DS3 and all the chrome was bright white. The chrome shaders did not export with the file, but DZFire’s real paint ones did. So I then re-applied all the chrome shaders same as before and did a 3Delight render again in DS3. BINGO! That fixed it. Don’t know why it kept rendering back black, but it must have had something to do with the Blender exported .obj file into DS3.

Anyway…here is the final model. Thanks to everyone who helped me out. This was brain straining…lol. I need 8 hours sleep now. I was impressed with Blender 2.65a. Never used it before. I thin I might play with it some more and learn it real good. Maybe render something in it.

oh…betsy….how do you rotate the camera in Blender? I never could figure that out. Not the model, but the camera so I can look at the car from different angles when I am working on it without moving the car.

grin

Image Attachments
1940FordDeluxeDaz1.jpg
 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2013 04:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 713 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2010-12-04

music do you want to rotate the camera or the viewport????
there is a diference
the camera is mainly for the render but the main viewport is is the viewport
depending on desired rotations CTRL+ALT+ RMB(middle right mouse button)
or SHIFT+ALT+RMB
now wait until you get into the integrator settings for the diferent cameras
and then we add in the options for the occlusions

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2013 09:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 714 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

I’ll give both a try. Thanks SP.

grin

 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2013 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 715 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

Here are a few more I did in Blender today. Don’t know why they all render black until I resave them as .obj files in DS. Then they are fine.

grin

Image Attachments
60sXKEJaguarDaz1.jpgJunkyardTruckDaz1.jpg
 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2013 10:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 716 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2010-12-04

i just realised that i wrote RMB and then middle mouse button
it is the scroll wheel or middle mouse button depending on the mouse or device you are using
as for why they render black id need to see the materials settings that you are using and also the lights layout

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 07:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 717 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

Default DS lighting, none added. Material settings stay the same after I re-export it as an .obj file. Nothing changes. .obj to .obj.

I do know that it is similar to when I open a .3ds file in Poseray, and then hit groups/flip normals. The entire object turns black the same way. Flip it again and it clears up, etc. so maybe this is what is happening. I do know that when I import the Blender .obj file into DS, it loads with all the letters backwards. I have to change the “X” from 100 to -100 for it to be correct. Always exports backwards. Writing on tires is backwards, on dash guages is backwards, steering wheel is on wrong side, etc.

grin

 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 02:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 718 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  436
Joined  2003-10-09

Just a post to jog the notifications back into action

 Signature 

Old Posts: 2913
The person who makes no mistakes usually doesn’t make anything—-Edward J. Phelps

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 January 2013 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 719 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2037
Joined  0

HULLO?....anyone home?

 Signature 

I am not this way because I am a musician, I am a musician because I am this way.

old posts: 10,322 Daz member since Build 1

Freebie Challenge Rules! - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/286/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 January 2013 08:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 720 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  253
Joined  2003-10-09
music2u4u - 06 January 2013 07:56 AM

HULLO?....anyone home?

I’m not real sure.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
   
48 of 100
48