Digital Art Zone

 
     
Fog?
Posted: 10 September 2013 02:52 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2013-08-27

Hey, with Bryce can I add fog or rain effects into Daz Studio 4.6?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2013 03:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3452
Joined  2004-10-01

DS cannot render atmospherics as far as I know. Do it the other way around. Get the objects into Bryce and render there.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2013 03:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2013-08-27

@Horo: What about Carrara? Can I use my Poser animated figures in Carrara in order to add atmospheric effects?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2013 04:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15586
Joined  2003-10-09

There are products in the store that help you to do some atmospherics in DS,  like this one http://www.daz3d.com/atmospheric-effects-cameras-for-daz-studio  or add ons like this one http://www.daz3d.com/blowin-in-the-wind-tool (which effectively is single sided planes placed in the scene with a mat and alpha)

Carrara, it would be better to ask in the Carrara forum.

However as Horo says, the easiest way is to use your DS figures in Bryce environments rather than the other way round.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2013 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1422
Joined  2003-10-09

While you can’t use Bryce to send a fog object to Daz Studio to interact with other objects in your DS scene, depending on your scene you might be able to render the background including the fog in Bryce and use it as a backdrop image in DS.  That might work if your foreground was outside the range of the fog, for instance distant foggy hills or haze, or a scene looking out a window at fog.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2013 01:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2006-02-02

In DS 4.6 you actually use the shader mixer to make a special camera with a fog or other kind of atmospheric node attatched to it. You´d be better off asking in the Studio forum about that. I´ve seen fantastic renders of that. BUt its very slow and you need a good computer for it really.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2013 01:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2013-08-27

@dyret: Thank you! I will try to play around with that option. Huzzah!

Profile