Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Aiko 4 in DS 4.6 problem
Posted: 03 September 2013 04:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31

I’ve just installed Aiko 4 Base in a separate runtime which I use for both DS 4.6 -32 (XP) and Poser, but her head looks weird in DS (no problems in Poser). V4 is installed there too, but she looks OK.  Any idea what can be causing this?

Image Attachments
a4inds46headerr.jpg
 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2013 05:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6756
Joined  2005-08-15

I had that problem years ago, and it was caused by having more than one version of V4 installed.

Makes sure that you only have one V4 installed, and it will work OK.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 04:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14778
Joined  2003-10-09

In particular, it’s duplicate \Runtime\Libraries\!DAZ\Victoria 4 folders that can cause the issue.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2013 02:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31

Yep, I actually had two V4, one in the DAZ library and one in the runtime shared by DS and Poser. Removing one of them fixed the problem.

Does it have anything to do with that one of them was installed in the DAZ library, or will the problem occur if you have V4 installed more than once, no matter which runtimes it is, if they all are imported into DS? 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2013 03:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14778
Joined  2003-10-09

It can happen in Poser and DAZ Studio, any time there are two sets of folders - especially if they aren’t synched, but I’m not sure that’s necessary.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2013 03:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31

OK. What does it mean that they’re synched?

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2013 03:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14778
Joined  2003-10-09

I meant if they have slightly different contents then problems are very likely.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2013 09:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31

But why would you have two runtimes with the same content?

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2013 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14778
Joined  2003-10-09

Aborted installation. Forgetting that a previous installation already existed. Uninstalling by deleting the main library, texture and geometry files and missing the morphs. Having two different directory sets for different purposes but then setting both active at once. Stealth install (at one stage DS 2 or 3 came with a subset of V4, and possibly M4). There are lots of ways it could happen - but it certainly does, or did, from time-to-time.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2013 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31

OK - so it’s accidental, not intentional. That makes more sense.

Thanks…

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2013 05:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2501
Joined  2003-12-06

It’s also not necessary to have two of them, even if you do actually need to have the figure installed in more than one place (most of the time you really don’t). As long as these invisible-to-the-user folders are in the right place inside a Content folder, the program can find them no matter which Content folder they’re in. Another possible cause of having two folders is installing for both Poser and DAZ|Studio, which isn’t really necessary — install once, and make sure both programs are pointed to the same Content location.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2013 03:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31
SpottedKitty - 07 September 2013 05:58 PM

It’s also not necessary to have two of them, even if you do actually need to have the figure installed in more than one place (most of the time you really don’t). As long as these invisible-to-the-user folders are in the right place inside a Content folder, the program can find them no matter which Content folder they’re in.

So you say Aiko 4 can find the V4 files it needs no matter where they are, at long as the runtime they’re in is imported into DS/Poser?

SpottedKitty - 07 September 2013 05:58 PM

Another possible cause of having two folders is installing for both Poser and DAZ|Studio, which isn’t really necessary — install once, and make sure both programs are pointed to the same Content location.

But DS seems to create two different sets of folders, one with DS content and one with Poser content. I find it rather confusing and annoying to have to jump between these two folder sets when creating a scene. Is there a way to get around this?

And when sharing a runtime between DS and Poser, I assume it would be better to install V4 here, rather than in the DS Library (I don’t think it’s a good idea to import the DS library/runtime into Poser)?

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2013 05:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14778
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t think you can safely spread fourth generation morph expansions across multiple content folders, certainly not if you ar relying on the updater batch file, but it doesn’t matter which single content directory they are in so - as long as you are using Poser 7, if you use Poser - you don’t need multiple installs for multiple applications.

You can’t combine the folders in the ... Formats groups, though you can have the same folder listed in both places. That’s at least partly because Poser content is imported, rather than opened, and also probably because if there was a flat view all the Geometries and Textures (and extra library folders like the !DAz one) would be visible. You can, however, use the “companion files” trick to place DS content in the Poser libraries, or simply use categories to make a combined listing of all your content.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2013 07:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31

Well currently I’m using PP2012 and occasionally P8. Can you use Genesis 2 i PP2012 btw, or do you need PP2014?

Generally I’m a bit confused about what you must (as well as what you (for practical reasons) would prefer to) install in respecetively the DS and the Poser format categories in DS.

I prefer to have separate runtimes for V3, M3, K3, V4, M4, K4, Miki 2, Miki 3 and other characters, as well as for Animals, Props, Environment, Toons, Vehicles, etc.. I’m trying to find a way to share all my content between DS and Poser in the most efficient and logical way when it comes to workflow. And I intend to use DIM to install all my DAZ stuff.

So what would be the smartest thing to do here? Are there any tutorials around that can give a clue to this?

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2013 08:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14778
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m not sure if I’ve tested, but G2F certainly should work in PP2012 (and P9) with the DSON Importer.

I’m not clear what you mean on the way content should be split - Poser format items will appear under Poser Formats, DS under DS Formats. If you are wanting to use the same content in Poser and DS I would use a single folder for each category and place both the Poser and DS files in that, then select them under both headings in DS and in the Poser library panel.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2013 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1729
Joined  2008-05-31
Richard Haseltine - 08 September 2013 08:01 AM

I’m not sure if I’ve tested, but G2F certainly should work in PP2012 (and P9) with the DSON Importer.

Sounds good, will give it a try then.

Richard Haseltine - 08 September 2013 08:01 AM

I’m not clear what you mean on the way content should be split - Poser format items will appear under Poser Formats, DS under DS Formats. If you are wanting to use the same content in Poser and DS I would use a single folder for each category and place both the Poser and DS files in that, then select them under both headings in DS and in the Poser library panel.

You mean put everything in external runtimes, and nothing (except for Genesis stuff I suppose) in the DAZ Library?

In any case, why does DS split the content into Poser and DS formats, when they can coexist fine within the same folder structure in an external runtime?

 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1