Digital Art Zone

 
     
Carrara 8.5 is a memory-eating zombie from hell (apparently)
Posted: 03 September 2013 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2005-01-13

This is one for the techies, I think. Anyway, it’s got me baffled, which admittedly is not too difficult.

I’m running an iMac with OSX 10.7.5, 4GB RAM.

After numerous hangs with the new version of 8.5, I used Activity Monitor to try to see what was happening. Most of the system report detail is incomprehensible to me, but I concentrated on three things:

%CPU use
Real memory use
Virtual memory use

Any figures below are in that order.

open Carrara:                        3.5%,    85.6MB,    70.7MB
new empty file:                        1.0%,  126.0MB     115.7MB

which seems reasonable.

close new file:                        stays the same

open big file (33MB, terrains, shaders - ran fine on the beta version I was using, 179 I think)     

100%      1.95GB       3.17GB

The memory figures then increases slowly, with me doing nothing at all to the set-up. The spinning beach-ball of death appears, Activity Monitor says Carrara is “not responding”.

For the next five or so minutes the CPU value wanders about between 1.9% and 60%. The memory figures increase to peak at 2.5GB and 6.19GB, there is less than 20MB free system memory. Tense, huh?

I hold my nerve as the Mac shakes and glows cherry red (well, not really). The CPU figure goes to 99.6%, the memory figures drop to 1.08GB and 1.09GB, and Carrara starts to respond again.

Values then fall back to 0.9%, 92MB,  1019MB, and things work until the next hang-up.

Clearly this no way to get things done. As ever, all suggestions gratefully received. Thanks.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2013 05:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2009-12-03

On Ram, as well as Hard Drive space for saved scenes.

For an example scene

1 camera
1 spot light
1 genesis
1 Ad Gladio for Michael 4

Save scene with “Save locally”
And the file size comes out to 375 MBs. And takes near 10 minutes (on my i7 solid state hard drive) to save.

I created a fantastic scene so I’m very happy with the products.

So I’m not sure if I should expect such large file sizes when I’m NOT saving everything internally.

Cheers!

 Signature 

Grok Digital Designs   grokdd.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2013 07:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7684
Joined  2009-07-13

I am windows not Mac but one thing to try might be edit remove unused objects and consolidate duplicate shaders.
also go to that temp folder in documents Daz 3D and delete everything between use.
I had simillar issues due that folder being full of crap on my old laptop with Carrara7

oh and is your Genesis figure loaded from Carrara smart content browser or a saved .duf imported from studio?
I get huge files sometimes with the latter as all the subdivision comes over, gives me a nice high rez figure but the saves can be dodgy.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2013 08:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6155
Joined  2007-12-04
GrokDD - 03 September 2013 05:58 PM

On Ram, as well as Hard Drive space for saved scenes.

For an example scene

1 camera
1 spot light
1 genesis
1 Ad Gladio for Michael 4

Save scene with “Save locally”
And the file size comes out to 375 MBs. And takes near 10 minutes (on my i7 solid state hard drive) to save.

I created a fantastic scene so I’m very happy with the products.

So I’m not sure if I should expect such large file sizes when I’m NOT saving everything internally.

Cheers!

External will create a much smaller file and save faster - as it will leave the file dependency where it was brought in from - and so will reply upon the content library for certain information, like texture image files.
I normally save externally and I compress my saves, which adds quite a bit to save time.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2013 08:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2009-12-03

Dart,

I thought externally saved all the textures, maps and what have you in the same folder as your saved scene. 
More so, “locally” saved just the scene info with references to the imported object’s root locations.

If I have it backwards, ok. but then I should have a folder full of extra files. Since saving “internally” should be the one that bloats a file size.

Wendy.

Window’s users unite! But alas, it is a Carrara smart content, not .duf.  But good idea to watch out for it.


PeterH.

Is it possible that your anti-virus on your Mac is scanning each opened texture file against its virus database? Try disabling it for 10 mins as you open your file.

I had this problem on Windows with Microsofts’ “Windows Devender” and “Malicious Spyware” software, so I switched to a different anti-virus.

 Signature 

Grok Digital Designs   grokdd.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 04:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2005-01-13

Thanks for the suggestion everyone.

By a process of elimination, or blind luck, I seem to have fixed the problem. Briefly, I had exported a soft body animated cloth and reimported it to make a “frozen” vertex object. It was part of a set of objects (table, cloth, crockery etc) which I’d made and saved as a group in the browser.

I found the cloth object had about 160,000 vertices, and rendering smoothing was also set, which seemed potentially indigestible. I tried splitting the group up and saving all the components separately, and for some reason this has done the trick. Not sure why, but at least things are working normally again.

Onwards and upwards…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2013 02:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5464
Joined  2006-08-27
Dartanbeck - 03 September 2013 08:03 PM
GrokDD - 03 September 2013 05:58 PM

On Ram, as well as Hard Drive space for saved scenes.

For an example scene

1 camera
1 spot light
1 genesis
1 Ad Gladio for Michael 4

Save scene with “Save locally”
And the file size comes out to 375 MBs. And takes near 10 minutes (on my i7 solid state hard drive) to save.

I created a fantastic scene so I’m very happy with the products.

So I’m not sure if I should expect such large file sizes when I’m NOT saving everything internally.

Cheers!

External will create a much smaller file and save faster - as it will leave the file dependency where it was brought in from - and so will reply upon the content library for certain information, like texture image files.
I normally save externally and I compress my saves, which adds quite a bit to save time.

Externally saved files and locally saved files are both good for reducing system overhead, but I think you’re confusing externally saved file and locally saved files. What you’re describing is locally saved files, as the files are left in their location.

With externally saved files, Carrara will want you to save all the textures in your scene to a folder, and will also ask you to name them.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile