Digital Art Zone

 
     
Bryce Masters Series Cloud City: no tutorial files?
Posted: 01 September 2013 08:06 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2006-07-05

I downloaded and installed the Cloud City tutorial through DIM, but I can’t get it to work. The individual objects are all there, as well as the sky and the materials, but I seem to be missing the important bit: the actual tutorial that I’ve seen referred to in other threads.

I’ve loaded the scene file but it just shows me a whole load of nothing.

That’s what got installed:
/Presets/Content/Masters Series/CloudCityCloudLayer.jpg
/Presets/Content/Masters Series/CloudCitySky.bsk
/Presets/Materials/Master Series/Cloud City.mat
/Presets/Objects/Master Series/Cloud City.obp
/Presets/Runtime/Support/TB.jpg
/Presets/Scene Files/CloudCity.bmp
/Presets/Scene Files/CloudCity.br5

I installed it in an empty temp folder, and that’s really all there was to it.

Should I download the tutorial separately, and if so, where?

 Signature 

My studio thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 September 2013 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1589
Joined  2011-09-25

@Raindrop:  I do have the Cloud City tutorial but can’t remember whether the 12 tutorial HTML links came with the tutorial or if they were elsewhere.  Hope someone can help you better than I did.

 Signature 

If you constantly look backward, it’s guaranteed you’ll run into something on your forward journey.
My Gallery Page: GussNemo’s Efforts

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 September 2013 08:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2311
Joined  2005-09-14

have you tried downloading the file from the Product Library of your account page?  The setup file should include about 36 megabytes of files.

I can download and install 3197_BryceMastersSeriesCloudCity_1.1_br.exe

The exe setup file includes the tutorials in HTML format

The setup program comes with the following folders:
\content
\presets
\runtime\
\tutorials
\ReadMe’s
\scene Files

Maybe the setup file for the install manager is corrupted?  I think you can file a bug report at https://helpdaz.zendesk.com/requests/new

Hope this helps.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 September 2013 02:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2006-07-05

Hmm, yes, looks like you’re right, and the DIM file is corrupted.
I’ll file a bug report… and download it manually in the meantime!

 Signature 

My studio thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2013 04:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2714
Joined  2007-05-05

found this maybe it will help

Image Attachments
cloud_city.jpg
 Signature 

Please remember my comprehension level is not the same as a rocket scientist…
Bryce7Pro-Addict…............Darkside-oholic…......Carrara-wannabee
http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/269      http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/28462/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2013 07:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2311
Joined  2005-09-14

It looks like Daz 3D fixed the bad zip file; the zip file now includes the tutorial.

Profile