Digital Art Zone

 
     
Importing a .car file
Posted: 24 June 2012 10:49 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  56
Joined  2011-11-29

Is there a way to import a .car (Carrara) file into DAZ Studio, Bryce 7.1 or Hexagon 2.5?

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 June 2012 04:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4844
Joined  2004-07-01
MrWizard1024 - 24 June 2012 10:49 PM

Is there a way to import a .car (Carrara) file into DAZ Studio, Bryce 7.1 or Hexagon 2.5?

Thanks!

no can’t be done

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 June 2012 05:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI MrWizard1024

You can export the model from Carrara as OBJ, then import that into Daz Studio or Hexagon,.
Carrara has it’s own Vertex, spline and metaball modellers, but some objects in a Carrara file may be specific to Carrara, such as Plants, Oceans or Terrains, also things like replicators, Surface replicators and particles would prevent DS or Hexagon from being able to import or open a Carrara . car file.

If you can expand on what you’re trying to do, maybe we can offer more help smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 July 2012 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  56
Joined  2011-11-29
3DAGE - 25 June 2012 05:41 AM

HI MrWizard1024

You can export the model from Carrara as OBJ, then import that into Daz Studio or Hexagon,.
Carrara has it’s own Vertex, spline and metaball modellers, but some objects in a Carrara file may be specific to Carrara, such as Plants, Oceans or Terrains, also things like replicators, Surface replicators and particles would prevent DS or Hexagon from being able to import or open a Carrara . car file.

If you can expand on what you’re trying to do, maybe we can offer more help smile

I found some interesting free models of sets in .car format, and was hoping to be able to import them into DAZ Studio, Bryce 7, or Hexagon.  I don’t have Carrara, though.

If you have ideas, I’d be most grateful.

MrWizard1024

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 July 2012 03:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Carrara has some functions and features which will only work in Carrara, such as Replicators, Plants systems, Oceans, Particle systems etc… and since Bryce, and Daz Studio don’t have those abilities, the .car files you have, may only work as intended in Carrara.

Only Carrara can open .car files

What are the scenes ?

Any links?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 July 2012 03:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  56
Joined  2011-11-29
3DAGE - 07 July 2012 03:31 PM

Carrara has some functions and features which will only work in Carrara, such as Replicators, Plants systems, Oceans, Particle systems etc… and since Bryce, and Daz Studio don’t have those abilities, the .car files you have, may only work as intended in Carrara.

Only Carrara can open .car files

What are the scenes ?

Any links?

From ShareCG:

http://www.sharecg.com/v/61360/browse/5/3D-Model/The-Factory-Pt-1

http://www.sharecg.com/v/61361/browse/5/3D-Model/The-Factory-Pt2

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 05:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI smile

Thanks for the links, those were helpful.
 
The .Car files have the textures embedded into the scene file, so,.. unlike Daz/Poser files, they’re not separate image files, and that’s what makes those scene files so large.

The scene has an engine model with animated pistons,. this would only work in Carrara, as it uses the Oscillate tweener type, which neither DS or Poser has.

All the shaders would need to be exported and rebuilt in any other program.

There doesn’t seem to be any building Walls, or lighting, ..as the promo images show, ..(unless I’m missing something).
There are four scene files, which together contain the elements which make the main Engine model,. stairs section and Floor section.
 
The models do not look like they were built in Carrara, and contain some unusual geometry (open areas) where sections have been deleted / removed.
This may produce some problems in other software, if you were importing it.

Overall, the scene files will only open and work as intended in Carrara.

While it may be possible to export the objects from Carrara and open them in another application, it would be a lot of work to reposition the objects, and rebuild the shaders.

If you want to use, and build your own scenes like this, then perhaps Carrara is something you should look at.
If you want to try to export the models to another application, then you’ll need Carrara to load the scene files.

You can download a (fully functioning) 30 day Trial/Demo of Carrara 8 Pro,  at : www.downloads.com

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 06:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  56
Joined  2011-11-29
3DAGE - 10 July 2012 05:01 AM

Overall, the scene files will only open and work as intended in Carrara.

While it may be possible to export the objects from Carrara and open them in another application, it would be a lot of work to reposition the objects, and rebuild the shaders.

If you want to use, and build your own scenes like this, then perhaps Carrara is something you should look at.
If you want to try to export the models to another application, then you’ll need Carrara to load the scene files.

Hope it helps smile

Many thanks, it does—it looks likes the grapes were sour anyway!  Many, many thanks for looking.

MrWizard1024

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2012 12:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7955
Joined  2009-07-13

actually out of curiosity I downloaded it and FBX exported from Carrara it into iClone via 3Dxchange
it came in animated
doubt if that would work for studio or Poser though!
did an anaglyph so put on your red/cyan glasses
ok, would need to reapply the texture maps, they did export but 3dx did not apply them

Image Attachments
factory.gif
 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile