Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Carrara 8.5 vs. 8.5 Pro
Posted: 26 August 2013 11:11 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  177
Joined  2003-10-09

Is there a CURRENT side-by-side comparison of the Carrara 8.5 vs. 8.5 Pro features somewhere?  I believe that the tech-specs page (http://www.daz3d.com/products/carrara/carrara-tech-specs/) is for 8.0, since I don’t see any mention of auto-fit.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  389
Joined  2005-11-10
nakamuram002 - 26 August 2013 11:11 AM

Is there a CURRENT side-by-side comparison of the Carrara 8.5 vs. 8.5 Pro features somewhere?  I believe that the tech-specs page (http://www.daz3d.com/products/carrara/carrara-tech-specs/) is for 8.0, since I don’t see any mention of auto-fit.

I will ask for you

 Signature 

Community Volunteer:
My DAZ Store 

NeilV Poser Stuff & Chohole’s Space

Old Post Count = 6362

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 12:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  389
Joined  2005-11-10

for the C8.5 page

Genesis Content

  Victoria 5 Starter Bundle
  Michael 5 Starter Bundle

Native AutoFit Functionality

  Conversion of legacy parametric clothing to TriAx™ weight mapped figures
  Automatic Morph Projection
  Automatic Weight Map Projection
  Morph Preservation
  AutoFit does not currently work on Genesis 2

this is the normal version not pro.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer:
My DAZ Store 

NeilV Poser Stuff & Chohole’s Space

Old Post Count = 6362

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 02:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  177
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks NeilV 1!!

This is a deal stopper—“AutoFit does not currently work on Genesis 2”.  When is this going to be fixed?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 02:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11487
Joined  2007-11-06

...so does the 8.5 update also include the Genesis content bundles?

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 02:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7795
Joined  2006-03-19
Kyoto Kid - 26 August 2013 02:02 PM

...so does the 8.5 update also include the Genesis content bundles?

Assuming your talking about the M5/V5 bundles yes it is included

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Forgotten Temple Ruins*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 02:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  389
Joined  2005-11-10
Kyoto Kid - 26 August 2013 02:02 PM

...so does the 8.5 update also include the Genesis content bundles?

you get those with DAZ Studio you just make Carrara aware of where you installed to. (If you don’t have you can just grab and only download the content files)

 Signature 

Community Volunteer:
My DAZ Store 

NeilV Poser Stuff & Chohole’s Space

Old Post Count = 6362

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7795
Joined  2006-03-19

Yes, I wasn’t sure what their talking about. The bundles that come with Carrara or Genesis Starter Essentials

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Forgotten Temple Ruins*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 04:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11487
Joined  2007-11-06

...it was the M5/V5 ones I was referring to.  Makes this a very good deal (now I just have to scrape up the zloty’s by next week)

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  389
Joined  2005-11-10

if this helps this is what 8,5 pro contains

Image Attachments
contains.jpg
 Signature 

Community Volunteer:
My DAZ Store 

NeilV Poser Stuff & Chohole’s Space

Old Post Count = 6362

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 06:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  842
Joined  2004-04-05
NeilV 1 - 26 August 2013 05:01 PM

if this helps this is what 8,5 pro contains

Ok, so the only things I don’t have already are the Carrara Native Content and of course the actual program.

What’s the benefit for me to go for the Pro over the standard version?

NEW in PRO - 64-bit support for MAC and WIN OS
NEW in Pro - Bullet Physics Library
NEW in Pro - Network Render Optimizations
NEW in Pro - Negative Lights and Photometrics
NEW in Pro - Editing of Posed Meshes

Does this mean I need the pro version to get 64bit support that can utilize all of the memory on my Win8 system?

If so is there thought to making a cheaper version of pro available without all of the Genesis/Genesis2Female stuff I already own?

I find it hard to justify double the cost just for 64 bit support and I can’t see the point of buying the 32bit version of an app if there’s a 64bit version available. I can see the physics, network rendering, advanced lighting tools being part of a pro suite but not 64bit support.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 09:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  177
Joined  2003-10-09

I see that the Carrara Tech Specs page has been updated.  Food for thought, especially with 64-bit and 3D Paint in Pro…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2013 06:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6157
Joined  2006-02-20
Sisca - 26 August 2013 06:45 PM

Does this mean I need the pro version to get 64bit support that can utilize all of the memory on my Win8 system?

If so is there thought to making a cheaper version of pro available without all of the Genesis/Genesis2Female stuff I already own?

First: yes, 64bit only pro
second: no, unfortunately not

 

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2013 08:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1054
Joined  2007-10-17
nakamuram002 - 26 August 2013 02:02 PM

Thanks NeilV 1!!

This is a deal stopper—“AutoFit does not currently work on Genesis 2”.  When is this going to be fixed?

Autofit does not currently work between Genesis and Genesis 2 if you have Michael Lane’s Victoria 4 Clone, aside from shoes, Autofit does work from Victoria 4 to Genesis 2 Female. It is not at the top of the priority list to get fixed, but the Known issues list is the Priority list for fixes that are being worked on.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2013 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1054
Joined  2007-10-17
Sisca - 26 August 2013 06:45 PM
NeilV 1 - 26 August 2013 05:01 PM

if this helps this is what 8,5 pro contains

Ok, so the only things I don’t have already are the Carrara Native Content and of course the actual program.

What’s the benefit for me to go for the Pro over the standard version?

NEW in PRO - 64-bit support for MAC and WIN OS
NEW in Pro - Bullet Physics Library
NEW in Pro - Network Render Optimizations
NEW in Pro - Negative Lights and Photometrics
NEW in Pro - Editing of Posed Meshes

Does this mean I need the pro version to get 64bit support that can utilize all of the memory on my Win8 system?

If so is there thought to making a cheaper version of pro available without all of the Genesis/Genesis2Female stuff I already own?

I find it hard to justify double the cost just for 64 bit support and I can’t see the point of buying the 32bit version of an app if there’s a 64bit version available. I can see the physics, network rendering, advanced lighting tools being part of a pro suite but not 64bit support.

64 bit, 3D Paint and Multi-pass rendering are the three, that I, personally, think are the most important differences.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2013 09:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  549
Joined  2011-04-12
Sisca - 26 August 2013 06:45 PM

I find it hard to justify double the cost just for 64 bit support and I can’t see the point of buying the 32bit version of an app if there’s a 64bit version available. I can see the physics, network rendering, advanced lighting tools being part of a pro suite but not 64bit support.

Agreed.  Double the price just to get a program that isn’t hopelessly outdated in its ability to use modern hardware?

 Signature 

Not interested in the giant leap backwards that is “Genesis 2”.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1