Digital Art Zone

 
     
Can’t install V4
Posted: 23 August 2013 06:14 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1726
Joined  2008-05-31

I’ve just installed Poser 8 on a XP machine, and then wanted to install V4, but I’m getting this error message (doesn’t matter if I choose DAZ or Poser install). Any idea why that is?

Image Attachments
v4err.jpg
 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 06:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1726
Joined  2008-05-31

I have DIM installed for testing it, but not DS (DS has never been installed on the machine). Can this be the reason?

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1242
Joined  2004-06-13

Don’t install content in to the Program Files folders, these have been protected folders since Windows Vista.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1726
Joined  2008-05-31
jestmart - 23 August 2013 07:56 AM

Don’t install content in to the Program Files folders, these have been protected folders since Windows Vista.

I know, but this is XP.

Besides, I don’t even get to the where you can choose the path, before it errors. It happens right after where you choose between DAZ and Poser.

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4898
Joined  2005-08-03

Check the folder it’s looking for. Does it even exist?

jestmart - 23 August 2013 07:56 AM

Don’t install content in to the Program Files folders, these have been protected folders since Windows Vista.

XP came before Vista and didn’t have that limitation.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 08:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1726
Joined  2008-05-31
Vaskania - 23 August 2013 07:57 PM

Check the folder it’s looking for. Does it even exist?

No, but since DS isn’t installed, I can’t see why it should. It looks like it expects DS is installed before it will install V4 (M4 won’t install either, but other installers seem to work fine). Do you actually have to have DS installed before V4/M4 will install?

 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 08:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4898
Joined  2005-08-03

I’m not sure, but just for the hell of it, here’s what it shows in my dzinstall.ini that’s in Common Files.

[ApplicationPath]
dzHexagon2InstallDir=E:\Program Files\Hexagon
dzStudio4InstallDir-64=E:\Program Files\Daz Studio 4

[InstalledApplications]
dzHexagonInstalls=dzHexagon2InstallDir
dzStudioInstalls=dzStudio4InstallDir-64

[InstalledApplicationKeys]
dzHexagon2AppData=C:\Users\V\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Hexagon2
dzStudio4AppData=C:\Users\V\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4
dzStudio4MappedContent=HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\DAZ\Studio4
dzStudio4RunOnce=C:\Users\V\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4\RunOnce

[ContentPath]
dzStudio4DefaultContent=F:/Daz Studio/!!My Library
dzStudioContentLastDir=e:\documents\downloads\new freebies

dzStudioContentIconGroup=DAZ Productions\Installed DS Content

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 08:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1242
Joined  2004-06-13

Download and install with DIM to avoid all that old crap from the exe installers.  In DIM click the cog icon, select the Installation tab to add the install path you want and let DIM install.  You will have to run the initialization .bat manually.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 09:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1726
Joined  2008-05-31

Well I’ve just installed DS now, and now it lets me install V4.

I still believe it’s an error, as many Poser users AFAIK don’t have DS installed. Just wonder what causes it.

 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 09:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4898
Joined  2005-08-03

That I have no clue. I started with Poser after DS so I’ve always had DS on my machine.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 11:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8979
Joined  2007-11-06

The problem is that the installer is looking for that .ini file to find out where you installed content last time in order to fill in the field—some of the installers weren’t set up to use a default or empty path if the .ini file doesn’t exist.  It’s not that it needs DAZ Studio to be installed, but rather it needs something installed which knows to create the .ini if it doesn’t exist.

And yes, DIM avoids all those finicky installer problems.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 12:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1726
Joined  2008-05-31

Ah, OK. V4 was the first thing I tried to install in that runtime, so that makes sense. Thanks!

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile