Digital Art Zone

 
     
The tools that Daz studio lacks and desperately needs
Posted: 23 August 2013 03:29 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2013-02-26

Daz is missing the following tools that it so desperately needs, also other programs that provide examples of what Daz should be able to do:

Fast Cloth Simulation   -:-  Marvelous Designer
Physics Simulations   -:- Blender, iClone
Fluid Simulations       -:- Blender
Animation Tools               -:- iClone
—- Key frame drag movement
—- Motion blends and armature bone influence selection
Game engine           -:- Blender, Unity, iClone


Improvements:
Selective bone skeleton import (only import part of pose, such as arms without legs).
Easy export of morphs created for legacy non weightmapped models such as V4.
Scene load times have become ridiculous in the most recent studio release, a scene that used to take 3 minutes to load pre 4.5 now takes 10 minutes to load.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 03:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  113
Joined  2004-07-02

...
why not throw in also a serious UV editor/wrapper and 3d painting a la Cinema4d?

Sure it’d be cool to have all those features in a free application, but i have many doubts these dreams will ever come true.

(PS: sarcasm tag always enabled…) wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15684
Joined  2003-10-09
stwbcsuv - 23 August 2013 03:29 AM

Selective bone skeleton import (only import part of pose, such as arms without legs).

If this is a native pose preset, try holding down the ctrl(Win)/cmd(Mac) key while opening it.

Easy export of morphs created for legacy non weightmapped models such as V4.

Easy would be pushing it, but the ExP Exporter does do this.

Scene load times have become ridiculous in the most recent studio release, a scene that used to take 3 minutes to load pre 4.5 now takes 10 minutes to load.

Is the scene using TriAx or Legacy content?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 06:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4928
Joined  2004-07-01
stwbcsuv - 23 August 2013 03:29 AM

Daz is missing the following tools that it so desperately needs, also other programs that provide examples of what Daz should be able to do:

Fast Cloth Simulation   -:-  Marvelous Designer
Physics Simulations   -:- Blender, iClone
Fluid Simulations       -:- Blender
Animation Tools               -:- iClone
—- Key frame drag movement
—- Motion blends and armature bone influence selection
Game engine           -:- Blender, Unity, iClone


Improvements:
Selective bone skeleton import (only import part of pose, such as arms without legs).
Easy export of morphs created for legacy non weightmapped models such as V4.
Scene load times have become ridiculous in the most recent studio release, a scene that used to take 3 minutes to load pre 4.5 now takes 10 minutes to load.

 

get Carrara 8.5 on Monday (26) - just what you need !

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 06:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2013-02-26
Richard Haseltine - 23 August 2013 05:53 AM

Easy would be pushing it, but the ExP Exporter does do this.

ExP Exporter is difficult/impossible to get working. I have tried for hours to get morphs to export and despite generating .pz2 files and the inject files they still don’t seem to inject the new morphs I created into fresh models. The tutorials on the use of ExP Exporter don’t go to completion and are all from Daz 3.

Is the scene using TriAx or Legacy content?

Most of my scenes have at least one V4 in and occasionally a Genesis, but regardless they take a much longer time to load since 4.5+ than they used to.

Edited to fix quotes

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  819
Joined  2004-04-05
stwbcsuv - 23 August 2013 03:29 AM

Daz is missing the following tools that it so desperately needs, also other programs that provide examples of what Daz should be able to do:

Fast Cloth Simulation   -:-  Marvelous Designer
Physics Simulations   -:- Blender, iClone
Fluid Simulations       -:- Blender
Animation Tools               -:- iClone
—- Key frame drag movement
—- Motion blends and armature bone influence selection
Game engine           -:- Blender, Unity, iClone


Improvements:
Selective bone skeleton import (only import part of pose, such as arms without legs).
Easy export of morphs created for legacy non weightmapped models such as V4.
Scene load times have become ridiculous in the most recent studio release, a scene that used to take 3 minutes to load pre 4.5 now takes 10 minutes to load.

 

The only one on that list that I have the slightest interest in would be the cloth simulation and really for that I’d much rather have something like Posers cloth room.

I don’t want Daz to become an animation tool, there are plenty of animation tools out there if that’s what I want to do.

I don’t want to use it as a game engine or even as an input to a game engine, again plenty of tools out there to do that and most are better suited to the job.

I don’t need physics or fluid simulation since, again, I don’t want to animate anything. I can see both being useful even for static renders but the current system has to tools to do the job it just takes a bit more work.

Expecting a free program to have all of the features from both a $500 program (Marvelous Designer) and a $200 program (iClone) is really kind of silly. If those features were so easy to do then why are the companies that do them charging so much?

I wouldn’t mind seeing better import/export controls though I have to admit that what’s there works for what I do. I can see that it might not for people needing to get the figures they create in Daz out into a more professional animation tool but I don’t know that so I’m not going to complain.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1310
Joined  2003-12-16

the reason Blender has so many of these features is because it’s open source and the development community is staggeringly larger than that of Daz3d. Blender is not a business model of anything other than a community of developers who code for free free and you can donate if you like, Daz3d is not able to operate under the same circumstances, they’re a small company.
I agree with the poster above, I don’t want to see Studio become an animation centric app, and I can only imagine the legal ramifications if a game engine was developed since a game developers license come with a pretty stiff price tag even if you’re a hobbyist and that just lets you use the content you already purchase, but legally it’s restricted to content only from Daz3d.
So sure it would be nice to have them, but DS needs a litany of bugs straightened out before it ventures into more and more functionality that potentially hurts further development to it’s core features.

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15684
Joined  2003-10-09
stwbcsuv - 23 August 2013 06:36 AM
Richard Haseltine - 23 August 2013 05:53 AM

Easy would be pushing it, but the ExP Exporter does do this.

ExP Exporter is difficult/impossible to get working. I have tried for hours to get morphs to export and despite generating .pz2 files and the inject files they still don’t seem to inject the new morphs I created into fresh models. The tutorials on the use of ExP Exporter don’t go to completion and are all from Daz 3.

Did you run the DzCreateExPFiles-V4.bat file after creating the files, and storing them along with the reset of the ExP files (unlike morphs for Genesis they can’t be split across multiple content directories).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16

I agree with those that ‘would not’ like DS to go in this direction. There are plenty of other tools that do this, Blender for one. What I would like to see DS do is to do better management of assets, import/export so that it could be used along with other tools better. It doesn’t ‘fit’ into any pipelines very well at the moment and that’s where I believe it could find it’s real market going forward.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 10:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  819
Joined  2004-04-05
Gedd - 23 August 2013 10:26 AM

I agree with those that ‘would not’ like DS to go in this direction. There are plenty of other tools that do this, Blender for one. What I would like to see DS do is to do better management of assets, import/export so that it could be used along with other tools better. It doesn’t ‘fit’ into any pipelines very well at the moment and that’s where I believe it could find it’s real market going forward.

Yes, please to all of these!

I’d especially like the ability to have it give me a list of all of the content that doesn’t have metadata associated with it so I can add it in for all of the stuff I get elsewhere. That and better content searching using that metadata or tags would make my life much easier.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8409
Joined  2009-07-13

I do animation and use Carrara and iClone so as far as I am concerned Daz studio is fine however it is.
The main thing I DO want is better content support for the former (a Daz product also, too much stuff in store supports Poser but not Carrara natively) and better export options from studio for the latter.
FBX at the moment in DS4 & DS4.6 does not export parented items in local space (my work around for legacy stuff is use DS3 but no good for duf only content)
it is the export from studio that is borked as it opens in FBX viewer, Max(when I had the trial) and other programs besides iClone 3dxchange with prop hairs, assesories etc at 0,0,0 co-ordinates and sets like Jack Tomalins dream house which I did this week entirely via DS3A all parts at 0,0,0
obj exports in situ but is not always a desired format esp from studio where it is one mesh (though I do believe a new plugin fixex this)
I bought FBX exporter so can use it in DS3A unlike the free included DS4 one but for some reason Decimator does not have a DS3 download for me as I bought that after DS4 was released so I cannot do all my highpoly legacy stuff in DS3 or I would, a lot uses parenting.
I can of course and do just export piece by piece and reparent.
I bring this up because Daz are primarily content providers and people who use other apps buy content and need to export it to use it.
Studio is the means for doing this for most.
(carrara unfortunately does not add the texture maps in FBX or I would just use that instead)

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 01:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  665
Joined  2007-05-26

The reason folks want more function ability in DAZ STUDIO itself is that they have a HUGE investment in DAZ content and its a pain or impossible to get them moved over to other platforms to use etc.  ... with the exception of Poser and Carrara which can use most DAZ content with various caveats and limitations.

I would most like to see the Poser type cloth room functions in DAZ. Also my pet peave is why can’t there be an option for a usable ground plane preloaded in DAZ Studio when you open a scene….. and of course better documentation.

 Signature 

If I want to be a fool then I will be a fool! That is my God given right as an American!

—- Jason from True Blood

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7964
Joined  2006-03-19
MrPoser - 23 August 2013 01:21 PM

I would most like to see the Poser type cloth room functions in DAZ. Also my pet peave is why can’t there be an option for a usable ground plane preloaded in DAZ Studio when you open a scene….. and of course better documentation.

Agree with you there. That would make DS complete for me.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Ravenwood Cemetery*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2760
Joined  2007-12-25
MrPoser - 23 August 2013 01:21 PM

The reason folks want more function ability in DAZ STUDIO itself is that they have a HUGE investment in DAZ content and its a pain or impossible to get them moved over to other platforms to use etc.  ... with the exception of Poser and Carrara which can use most DAZ content with various caveats and limitations.

I would most like to see the Poser type cloth room functions in DAZ. Also my pet peave is why can’t there be an option for a usable ground plane preloaded in DAZ Studio when you open a scene….. and of course better documentation.

Agreed on the cloth simulation. (See the link in my sig line.) I’d better not say anything about documentation.

However, if you want a ground plane in a default scene, you can do that in DS4. You can set whatever you want as a default scene to load on launch. You could even make it a plane with shadow capture that doesn’t render in the scene, if you want.

 Signature 

Shop Zigraphix @ DAZ3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1949
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,
Re: ground plane: This is something that absolutely gobsmacked me when I first used DAZ Studio.  I nearly walked away in those first days for this and a few other reasons, although I’m glad that I didn’t.  (My wallet disagrees slightly… wink )

You don’t have a plane primitive.

You have a rectangle of polys primitive, but no ACTUAL plane.  The object ends…  Realizing this put the rest of the 3D engine into perspective.

— Morgan

 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile