Digital Art Zone

 
     
Mac blues…
Posted: 24 May 2012 03:02 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2005-01-10

I just went completely “Apple” with a Mac Book Pro 15” 2.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM. Sweet beasty even if it cost me an arm and a leg, worth it. Anyway, it runs Lion 10.7, and I can’t run Bryce, aaagh!! But it does run “Studio 4” perfectly smile I was wondering if anyone can tell me how it’s going to take to fix Bryce for Lion 10.7…;)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 03:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2008-04-05

you could run snow leopard till bryce fixes lion issues, its not ideal i know

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 04:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  172
Joined  2010-03-14
aliendoughnut - 24 May 2012 03:16 AM

you could run snow leopard till bryce fixes lion issues, its not ideal i know

Running Snow Leopard on the newest Mac’s is not optimal and doesn’t have drivers for some of the new hardware.
So not sure that is the answer.

 Signature 

Metadata has a Standard, so please use it!
Creation Instruction coming soon to a Document Center near you.
——————-
Warning: Sitting for more than 6 hours a day is not good for you.
So Stand up, change you desk to a Stand up Desk.
Walking is good for you, so get up and walk for at least a half hour a day.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 07:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15660
Joined  2003-10-09

A friend of mine sent Bryce 7 to a bootcamp when it wouldn’t behave on her Mac under Lion. cool hmm

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 07:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2006-02-02

The newest Macs will NOT run Snow Leopard. Boot camp is the best sollution it seems. Trouble is that you need a licence for Windows, wich makes it more expencive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 06:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2004-05-24

This is exactly why I’ll never own a Mac or run Linux.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2005-09-28
vrba79 - 24 May 2012 06:27 PM

This is exactly why I’ll never own a Mac or run Linux.

Your vague exactness and preference of 12-year old systems over modern advancements is exactly why neither Mac nor Linux communities want you >:)

 Signature 

Oroboros Presents… KEY-FLAME: Bryce Animation Tutorials

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 08:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2007-06-14

Parallels 7 is another solution.  It allows you to run Lion and Windows (and Linux) on your Mac desktop.  It does require you to obtain a Windows license however which adds to the cost.

I am forced to run a lot of Windows software at home for my job which is why I went this way,

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 03:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15660
Joined  2003-10-09

Please, we do all Know that Mac Users have problems using Bryce 7 on the latest OS X.

Can you please keep this thread clear of any Mac versus PC type arguments.


Thankyou

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 03:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2005-01-10

I did try running Bryce under XP using VMware. Got no where, everything else ran like a dream, just not Bryce. So I’ll try bootcamp sometime on the weekend. I used to play round with IBM “OS 2 Warp 4” so I’m used to doing things a little different. I’ll keep you guys posted as to my success…;)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2006-02-02

Please try to keep things on target. I for one would REALLY want to hear other peoples experience on this forum with Bootcamp , Windows and Bryce. I think I have an old copy of XP somewhere and since Bryce isn’t 32 bit I really shouldnt have to run 64 bit Wndows so XP should be fine. @Mjhatc: Looking forward to hearing your result with XP and Bootcamp.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 05:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-03-04
mjhatch - 24 May 2012 03:02 AM

I just went completely “Apple” with a Mac Book Pro 15” 2.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM. Sweet beasty even if it cost me an arm and a leg, worth it. Anyway, it runs Lion 10.7, and I can’t run Bryce, aaagh!! But it does run “Studio 4” perfectly smile I was wondering if anyone can tell me how it’s going to take to fix Bryce for Lion 10.7…;)

Any of you know when Bryce will work in Lion? Last time i tried using Bootcamp it didn’t actually work and I don’t want to try it again even in the new Mac Book Pro… I think I’ll never get used to Windows…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 06:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15660
Joined  2003-10-09

We don’t have a time scale. We do keep giving them a little poke every now and then. cool smirk

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 12:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30

I have successfully used bootcamp with win7 x86 and x64 on snow leopard, works very well indeed, have also used win xp x86 with good results, I won’t be ‘upgrading’ my mac to Lion or Mountain Lion until Bryce is upgraded.

 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile