Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
First time using bryce….
Posted: 22 August 2013 04:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  118
Joined  2008-11-17

I see that you have some lines - you can use them this way: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/16841/#248104
As for materials - maybe this technique would be nice: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/16841/#249495

For adding details on your map: http://www.shadedrelief.com/birds_eye/birdseye.pdf
Map making resources: http://www.shadedrelief.com/
(Yeah! author of that website uses Bryce in his work - there are also Bryce tutorials there)

More map making resources: http://www.reliefshading.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
dwsel_ - 22 August 2013 04:01 PM

I see that you have some lines - you can use them this way: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/16841/#248104
As for materials - maybe this technique would be nice: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/16841/#249495

For adding details on your map: http://www.shadedrelief.com/birds_eye/birdseye.pdf
Map making resources: http://www.shadedrelief.com/
(Yeah! author of that website uses Bryce in his work - there are also Bryce tutorials there)

More map making resources: http://www.reliefshading.com/

So in order to have variances on the X and Y axes, I have to use masks?

Also Is there a way for the resolution of the terrian/heightmap to equal the resolution of the input heightmap, instead of 512/1024 and so on?

Lastly, is there a smudge or blend tool when painting the heightmap?

EDIT:
Actually…

I notice bryce tends to crash when trying to export a mesh with over 100 thousand triangles. Is this from my computer, or the program? IE: if somebody with a better computer tried to export it for me, would they have less of a chance of crashing?

If so, I may upload my bryce file somewhere so somebody could try exporting it at say, 500 thousand to 1 million triangles? Alternatively, is there a way for bryce to selectively lower the triangle count in areas that require less detail?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 11:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3537
Joined  2004-10-01
jabberwockxeno - 24 August 2013 11:37 AM

Also Is there a way for the resolution of the terrian/heightmap to equal the resolution of the input heightmap, instead of 512/1024 and so on?

Lastly, is there a smudge or blend tool when painting the heightmap?

Yes, there is that grid thingy, click on it. You can go as high as 4096 x 4096. Though you cannot set the resolution other than what’s offered in the drop-down.

The terrain editor has a great many of options, which you should experiment with. You can select parts of the terrain and change the selected part without changing the other parts. You have sharpening and smoothing filters.

Though the preview is square, the terrain needn’t be square. You can load a height map in any aspect ratio - though it will be displayed square - and set your terrain to the same aspect ratio and you’re set.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 12:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
Horo - 24 August 2013 11:59 AM

and set your terrain to the same aspect ratio and you’re set.

And how do I do that?

Also, i updated my post with some questions relating to exporting a mesh.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3537
Joined  2004-10-01

Create a terrain and click on the [A]. The terrain comes in with 81.92 x 20.48 x 81.92 BU (Bryce Units). Just alter the numbers as required.

Exporting a mesh - with the terrain selected, go into the Terrain Editor by clicking on [E].. On top right of the terrain canvas is a down arrow. Click on it, then click on Export.

I suggest you get the documentation (which unfortunately doesn’t come with Bryce): Both are PDFs.

This is the Bryce 7.1 Doc, still a WIP (also unfortunately), but what you look for is covered in it.

I also recommend to get the Bryce 6.1 Doc, which is complete and nothing has been changed in the TE between the versions.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 12:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3537
Joined  2004-10-01

There are video tutorials to watch. A List of Tutorials is available right at the top of the Bryce Forum. Have a look at it, it may prove helpful.
.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 12:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2598
Joined  2004-07-06
jabberwockxeno - 24 August 2013 12:03 PM
Horo - 24 August 2013 11:59 AM

and set your terrain to the same aspect ratio and you’re set.

And how do I do that?

Also, i updated my post with some questions relating to exporting a mesh.

If you want to export terrains as mesh objects this is something I’ve documented for the purpose of getting things into Octane.

The first set are rather long winded.

Bryce to Octane - Island scene conversion - part 1 - by David Brinnen
Bryce to Octane - Island scene conversion - part 2 - by David Brinnen
Bryce to Octane - Island scene conversion - part 3 - by David Brinnen
Bryce to Octane - Island scene conversion - part 4 - by David Brinnen
Bryce to Octane - Island scene conversion - part 5 - by David Brinnen

This last one cuts to the chase - dealing with the mesh export starts at 2.00

Bryce to Octane - Another Islands (two) scene conversion - by David Brinnen

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06

Thanks for all the help.

I think I’m set, for now.

I’ll mess around and see what I can get, and post back here with the results. wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2013 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06

Hmm…

Seems I need a higher resolution mesh than bryce on my computer can handle.

Can somebody try exporting this as an OBJ at around 10 million polys, that would be great http://www.mediafire.com/download/qkvfxvyqy2cjaq7/terrian_6.br7

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2013 02:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2598
Joined  2004-07-06
jabberwockxeno - 26 August 2013 09:20 PM

Hmm…

Seems I need a higher resolution mesh than bryce on my computer can handle.

Can somebody try exporting this as an OBJ at around 10 million polys, that would be great http://www.mediafire.com/download/qkvfxvyqy2cjaq7/terrian_6.br7

OK I know it is a bit tedious going through all the tutorials, so I’ll just cut to the chase here.

1 - to export at that level of polys drop the resolution to Massive - that will free off a bit of headroom for the conversion.

2 - use the export option from the dropdown.

3 - do remember to turn off all the Image Maps - don’t export the images directly - that’s a really bad idea.  Instead follow the process outlined in the tutorials.  Yes it is more long winded, but the results will be better.  Maximum resolution looks to be about 2 million polys.  That creates an output object of 215 MB!  So 10 million… well that would be a pretty big object.  And probably include a lot of redundant information.

Image Attachments
Image2.jpgImage3.jpgImage1.jpg
 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 September 2013 12:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
David Brinnen - 27 August 2013 02:40 AM
jabberwockxeno - 26 August 2013 09:20 PM

Hmm…

Seems I need a higher resolution mesh than bryce on my computer can handle.

Can somebody try exporting this as an OBJ at around 10 million polys, that would be great http://www.mediafire.com/download/qkvfxvyqy2cjaq7/terrian_6.br7

OK I know it is a bit tedious going through all the tutorials, so I’ll just cut to the chase here.

1 - to export at that level of polys drop the resolution to Massive - that will free off a bit of headroom for the conversion.

2 - use the export option from the dropdown.

3 - do remember to turn off all the Image Maps - don’t export the images directly - that’s a really bad idea.  Instead follow the process outlined in the tutorials.  Yes it is more long winded, but the results will be better.  Maximum resolution looks to be about 2 million polys.  That creates an output object of 215 MB!  So 10 million… well that would be a pretty big object.  And probably include a lot of redundant information.

That’s odd, I was able to get it to 6 million without a crash, but it’s still not enough detail for what I need. I’m sculpting it in mudbox after the export, and for the level of detail I want, I need more than 6 million

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 September 2013 01:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2598
Joined  2004-07-06
jabberwockxeno - 02 September 2013 12:37 PM
David Brinnen - 27 August 2013 02:40 AM
jabberwockxeno - 26 August 2013 09:20 PM

Hmm…

Seems I need a higher resolution mesh than bryce on my computer can handle.

Can somebody try exporting this as an OBJ at around 10 million polys, that would be great http://www.mediafire.com/download/qkvfxvyqy2cjaq7/terrian_6.br7

OK I know it is a bit tedious going through all the tutorials, so I’ll just cut to the chase here.

1 - to export at that level of polys drop the resolution to Massive - that will free off a bit of headroom for the conversion.

2 - use the export option from the dropdown.

3 - do remember to turn off all the Image Maps - don’t export the images directly - that’s a really bad idea.  Instead follow the process outlined in the tutorials.  Yes it is more long winded, but the results will be better.  Maximum resolution looks to be about 2 million polys.  That creates an output object of 215 MB!  So 10 million… well that would be a pretty big object.  And probably include a lot of redundant information.

That’s odd, I was able to get it to 6 million without a crash, but it’s still not enough detail for what I need. I’m sculpting it in mudbox after the export, and for the level of detail I want, I need more than 6 million

That is a lot of detail.  What resolution will the final map be?  Pixel x pixel resolution - for display purposes.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2013 06:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  118
Joined  2008-11-17

Yeah, I agree with David Brinnen - that’s a huge amount of detail - I’m not sure if your heightmap does contain that much of them. There are rather delicate details. You’re not sharing the purpose of the model but for fantasy cartography maybe it would be easier to render the map directly in Bryce? and postprocess it? For pure fun I’ve played with your map a little bit (two renders straight out of Bryce and postprocessed version)

Also I’ve found nice site about this topic: http://www.cartographersguild.com/forum.php

Image Attachments
terrian9.pngterrain9_light45.pngterrian9_45.png
Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2