Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
First time using bryce….
Posted: 16 August 2013 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06

I’m trying to make a map based on a fictional region. I remembered I owned bryce, and figured using it to make the landscape then taking an overhead render would be the easiest way to do so.

So, my question is, is it possible to use an existing map as a base to detail in with bryce?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2013 09:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2621
Joined  2004-07-06
jabberwockxeno - 16 August 2013 05:49 PM

I’m trying to make a map based on a fictional region. I remembered I owned bryce, and figured using it to make the landscape then taking an overhead render would be the easiest way to do so.

So, my question is, is it possible to use an existing map as a base to detail in with bryce?

The short answer is yes.  But it will probably be slightly more involved than you might think.  You can import images into the terrain editor in which case they will converted to greyscale height maps, light areas being high points in the terrain and dark areas being low points.  The same image can also be mapped onto the terrain to match the geometry if you so desire.

If landscaping is what you are interested in, and you are happy to watch video’s I have a series of tutorials on this topic.

This series of tutorials is intended for the novice to intermediate skill level.  Although due to the nature of Bryce it might be that even advanced users might find something in these tutorials they have not encountered before.

The first four tutorials deal with lighting topics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iT2iLM1Zalk
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMccdw62HG0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acb_wwKrSiM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go8vjGW-9sM

This tutorial revolves mostly around using the terrain lab.  (might be most useful to you in this case)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzOoYDC8glY

This lesion is followed by how to synthesise materials suitable for terrains.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KUWIFAhroU

This series finishing off with a video about how to make the most of different content by saving it and components from it in appropriate libraries for that content.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iy8toAkc4eg

 

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2013 09:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  525
Joined  2012-12-02

Maybe you wan’t the Bryce look, but if you just want to create a good looking map, there is a great program called Campaign Cartographer 3 from Pro Fantasy.
http://www.profantasy.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2013 02:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  2008-02-14

You might be able to get something like this,  but it would be a challenge to duplicate an existing map,  though as David mention starting with a greyscale or black and white image of the coastal outline could get you started.  But if your finished image is going to look like a map,  then reserv’s Cartographer option looks like a smart choice.

Image Attachments
topdownmap2.jpg
 Signature 

PUBLISHED ARTIST
First Bastion’s Environments here at Daz

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2013 03:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06

Well, the resulting render doesn’t need to look like a map.

The whole reason I want to use Bryce for this is that I am horrible at drawing things, I can only edit images, so I would basically just be overlaying the render on the existing map at like 50% opacity and removing some stuff so I just get the illusion of depth on the map.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 02:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3595
Joined  2004-10-01

@jabberwockxeno - If your map has isohypses, i.e. lines that show equal heights, you can draw the lines over the existing image, then delete the image and fill the parts between the lines with a grey shade - dark for low and bright for high. You’ll have to blur it afterwards with a Gauss filter and preferably export at 16 bit greyscale. This can then be imported into the terrain editor.

I once wrote a program for doing this. It is mostly obsolete now since it is restricted to 256x256 terrains (for Bryce and Terragen) and creates only 8-bit grey (24 bit colour). Nevertheless, the principle is valid and you can get a description (and the program) for free on my website (see sig). Go to Raytracing > Tools > Iso2Grey. Perhaps this helps.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 09:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
Horo - 18 August 2013 02:35 AM

@jabberwockxeno - If your map has isohypses, i.e. lines that show equal heights, you can draw the lines over the existing image, then delete the image and fill the parts between the lines with a grey shade - dark for low and bright for high. You’ll have to blur it afterwards with a Gauss filter and preferably export at 16 bit greyscale. This can then be imported into the terrain editor.

I once wrote a program for doing this. It is mostly obsolete now since it is restricted to 256x256 terrains (for Bryce and Terragen) and creates only 8-bit grey (24 bit colour). Nevertheless, the principle is valid and you can get a description (and the program) for free on my website (see sig). Go to Raytracing > Tools > Iso2Grey. Perhaps this helps.

I actually started to do that a while ago, albeit it wasn’t for that intention.

The issue is that the map in question is based around a game me and my friends are making in RPG maker, which is a 2d program. There’s not really any true elevation in any of the areas in the game, it’s all more or less optical illusions, so it’s incredibly difficult to make even estimated elevation values for any exact point/

I can say everything side X shape is about _m above sea level, but when you add in more and more layers of topographical contour lines, it get’s harder and harder to accurately represent what is going on in the in game areas via the countour lines/on the map.

Even though I’m not trying to make an exact, 1:1 replica of the game areas in bryce, it’‘s still hard to reconcile the completed game areas with the countour lines.

Here’s (the attachment) one of the parts of the map where I am having the most problems.

Image Attachments
example.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 09:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2621
Joined  2004-07-06
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 09:36 AM
Horo - 18 August 2013 02:35 AM

@jabberwockxeno - If your map has isohypses, i.e. lines that show equal heights, you can draw the lines over the existing image, then delete the image and fill the parts between the lines with a grey shade - dark for low and bright for high. You’ll have to blur it afterwards with a Gauss filter and preferably export at 16 bit greyscale. This can then be imported into the terrain editor.

I once wrote a program for doing this. It is mostly obsolete now since it is restricted to 256x256 terrains (for Bryce and Terragen) and creates only 8-bit grey (24 bit colour). Nevertheless, the principle is valid and you can get a description (and the program) for free on my website (see sig). Go to Raytracing > Tools > Iso2Grey. Perhaps this helps.

I actually started to do that a while ago, albeit it wasn’t for that intention.

The issue is that the map in question is based around a game me and my friends are making in RPG maker, which is a 2d program. There’s not really any true elevation in any of the areas in the game, it’s all more or less optical illusions, so it’s incredibly difficult to make even estimated elevation values for any exact point/

I can say everything side X shape is about _m above sea level, but when you add in more and more layers of topographical contour lines, it get’s harder and harder to accurately represent what is going on in the in game areas via the countour lines/on the map.

Even though I’m not trying to make an exact, 1:1 replica of the game areas in bryce, it’‘s still hard to reconcile the completed game areas with the countour lines.

Here’s (the attachment) one of the parts of the map where I am having the most problems.

Hmn.  This all sounds very involved.  Maybe if you gave us an example of how you wanted your finished map to look (since there are so many way in which this kind of information could be conveyed) we might be in a better position to suggest how you might go about creating the effect you are looking for.  For example, I like this style of map, but it would be hard to achieve this effect using Bryce alone.

Image Attachments
Image1.jpg
 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 02:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 09:48 AM
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 09:36 AM
Horo - 18 August 2013 02:35 AM

@jabberwockxeno - If your map has isohypses, i.e. lines that show equal heights, you can draw the lines over the existing image, then delete the image and fill the parts between the lines with a grey shade - dark for low and bright for high. You’ll have to blur it afterwards with a Gauss filter and preferably export at 16 bit greyscale. This can then be imported into the terrain editor.

I once wrote a program for doing this. It is mostly obsolete now since it is restricted to 256x256 terrains (for Bryce and Terragen) and creates only 8-bit grey (24 bit colour). Nevertheless, the principle is valid and you can get a description (and the program) for free on my website (see sig). Go to Raytracing > Tools > Iso2Grey. Perhaps this helps.

I actually started to do that a while ago, albeit it wasn’t for that intention.

The issue is that the map in question is based around a game me and my friends are making in RPG maker, which is a 2d program. There’s not really any true elevation in any of the areas in the game, it’s all more or less optical illusions, so it’s incredibly difficult to make even estimated elevation values for any exact point/

I can say everything side X shape is about _m above sea level, but when you add in more and more layers of topographical contour lines, it get’s harder and harder to accurately represent what is going on in the in game areas via the countour lines/on the map.

Even though I’m not trying to make an exact, 1:1 replica of the game areas in bryce, it’‘s still hard to reconcile the completed game areas with the countour lines.

Here’s (the attachment) one of the parts of the map where I am having the most problems.

Hmn.  This all sounds very involved.  Maybe if you gave us an example of how you wanted your finished map to look (since there are so many way in which this kind of information could be conveyed) we might be in a better position to suggest how you might go about creating the effect you are looking for.  For example, I like this style of map, but it would be hard to achieve this effect using Bryce alone.

Well, to start with, general new user tips and tutorials would be nice. Brcye’s UI is very different from what I’m used to, so I’m not picking it up even close to as quick as I expected.

In regards to the style of the map, it really doesn’t matter so long as it looks nice, but ideally I’d like something like the pokemon region map artwork: It’s not super stylized, but it’s not photorealstic either.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 02:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2621
Joined  2004-07-06

For a comprehensive range of tutorials, written and video, many suitable for beginners, http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html  Since I don’t know what a pokeman map is, I will leave that question for others to ponder.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:26 PM

For a comprehensive range of tutorials, written and video, many suitable for beginners, http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html  Since I don’t know what a pokeman map is, I will leave that question for others to ponder.

If you google image search pokemon region map, you’ll see what I mean.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2621
Joined  2004-07-06
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 02:35 PM
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:26 PM

For a comprehensive range of tutorials, written and video, many suitable for beginners, http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html  Since I don’t know what a pokeman map is, I will leave that question for others to ponder.

If you google image search pokemon region map, you’ll see what I mean.

 

Ah, I see, well… Probably then Bryce isn’t the best tool for that task.  It’s a lot of work to create a hand drawn look using a renderer.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:41 PM
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 02:35 PM
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:26 PM

For a comprehensive range of tutorials, written and video, many suitable for beginners, http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html  Since I don’t know what a pokeman map is, I will leave that question for others to ponder.

If you google image search pokemon region map, you’ll see what I mean.

 

Ah, I see, well… Probably then Bryce isn’t the best tool for that task.  It’s a lot of work to create a hand drawn look using a renderer.

As I said before, that’d just be my “ideal” look. I’m perfectly happy with the style that bryce put’s out. The reason I’m asking here is because I figured it’d be easier to just get the terrain modeled and make a render, so I don’t have to hand draw detail and lighting into the existing map, since I suck at that, and have some 3d experience.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2621
Joined  2004-07-06
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 02:49 PM
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:41 PM
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 02:35 PM
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:26 PM

For a comprehensive range of tutorials, written and video, many suitable for beginners, http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html  Since I don’t know what a pokeman map is, I will leave that question for others to ponder.

If you google image search pokemon region map, you’ll see what I mean.

 

Ah, I see, well… Probably then Bryce isn’t the best tool for that task.  It’s a lot of work to create a hand drawn look using a renderer.

As I said before, that’d just be my “ideal” look. I’m perfectly happy with the style that bryce put’s out. The reason I’m asking here is because I figured it’d be easier to just get the terrain modeled and make a render, so I don’t have to hand draw detail and lighting into the existing map, since I suck at that, and have some 3d experience.

Right, well, your difficultly is that while Bryce can handle the lighting for you, “just getting the terrain model” is not as easy as you might initially think.  Unless you are going to use Bryce to create your terrain, and then model your game on the created terrain - which would be the easy way of going about solving this - then you are going to have to convert your game map into a height map.  Which is, I reckon, quite a challenge.  If you watched the geocrafting video I linked to you, you will have seen how this could be done in the terrain lab, but… it sort of requires you to painstakingly draw a heightmap.  Which is fiddly.  But I’m not really the best person to advise you on this, unless you want to procedurally generate your map, I do very little getting my hands dirty drawing things and usually try to exploit what is already there.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2013 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-02-06
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 03:00 PM
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 02:49 PM
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:41 PM
jabberwockxeno - 18 August 2013 02:35 PM
David Brinnen - 18 August 2013 02:26 PM

For a comprehensive range of tutorials, written and video, many suitable for beginners, http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html  Since I don’t know what a pokeman map is, I will leave that question for others to ponder.

If you google image search pokemon region map, you’ll see what I mean.

 

Ah, I see, well… Probably then Bryce isn’t the best tool for that task.  It’s a lot of work to create a hand drawn look using a renderer.

As I said before, that’d just be my “ideal” look. I’m perfectly happy with the style that bryce put’s out. The reason I’m asking here is because I figured it’d be easier to just get the terrain modeled and make a render, so I don’t have to hand draw detail and lighting into the existing map, since I suck at that, and have some 3d experience.

Right, well, your difficultly is that while Bryce can handle the lighting for you, “just getting the terrain model” is not as easy as you might initially think.  Unless you are going to use Bryce to create your terrain, and then model your game on the created terrain - which would be the easy way of going about solving this - then you are going to have to convert your game map into a height map.  Which is, I reckon, quite a challenge.  If you watched the geocrafting video I linked to you, you will have seen how this could be done in the terrain lab, but… it sort of requires you to painstakingly draw a heightmap.  Which is fiddly.  But I’m not really the best person to advise you on this, unless you want to procedurally generate your map, I do very little getting my hands dirty drawing things and usually try to exploit what is already there.

Well, my hope was that I could paint a basic heightmap based on the contour lines I drew, then use bryce to generate the fine detail. If I have to go and paint all that in myself, then i’m going to need somebody to give me heightmap painting tips.

Regardless, I have a question: Is it possible to have varying materials on the X and Y axes? Like, have one area be a desert, one grassy, another section snowy? Everything seems to be height based for material varience. Is there a sort of material paint mode?

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2013 12:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  103
Joined  2011-02-06

Painting grayscale heightmaps can be a pain since you need lots of tests .You will have to see ,test, save your work often even for every tiny line added .Also a height map tiff image carries additional information , only in tiff you must work, never convert into jpg or bmp.
Have you considered to use world machine 2 ? There is a free version (basic)  fully-featured but with maximum terrain resolution up to 512x512 and non commercial.I’m not sure if the offer is still available, check their website http://www.world-machine.com/  on http://www.world-machine.com/download.php . Can run on 32bit XP too. If you decide to buy it , the standard edition (100 usd) is enough for an amateur/hobbist artist.

world machine and terragen are both node-based applications but the WM is way more simple and easy to use and very fast worlds builder compared with the terragen rendering time (terragen can use terrain shaders or even create ambients).When you’ll get experience in WM you can achieve great results very close to terragen terrains.Unfortunately there are NOT many tutorials for WM, you’ll have to dig WM forums for hints/tips and to play a lot with this app.And it is also stable, the only rare crashes i know are from low RAM on the computer (2-3 gb ram) when working/building with a very high resolution, 2048 or higher.

Another method to create terrains would be with vector displacement maps + a modelling/sculpting program and using stamps on a plane to be imprinted and save as height maps 16bit .tiff and then import height map into world machine (or directly into bryce) to make erosions if needed but it takes time and lots of tests in bryce . http://www.sharecg.com/v/67171/view/5/3D-Model/Klendathu-for-Bryce have mountain created with vector displacement maps (stamps).

If you decide to use world machine post a reply here and i can send you this project in 512 with mountain layers to play with it.Don’t worry the yellow fine erosion channels at the base of the mountains wont appear in Bryce.

Also see the http://www.sharecg.com/v/70849/view/5/3D-Model/Craters-Construction-Kit a height maps pack mostly with craters but you’ll find base terrains with low mountains.Already downloaded by someone to be used in Sim3 mods.

Another method is, as Jamahoney suggested me, is to use DEM files but i’m not familiar with (i don’t know) this kind of workflow type.

Don’t take my post as an advertisement , i’m not payed for this ,it’s up to you what you decide to use.

Image Attachments
terrain_project_1.jpgterrain_project_2.jpgTerrain_project_3.jpg
 Signature 

“If the facts don’t fit the theory, change the facts..” LOL
( Albert Einstein )

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1