Digital Art Zone

 
     
H2 - Scale Edge Loop from center
Posted: 23 June 2012 09:34 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2003-10-09

H2 - Scale Edge Loop from center

1) How to scale from each center of selected edge loops?
  in this example, several edge loops are selected but need to be scaled from their individual centers.
2) How to initiate a cube with x divisions?
    in this example i need a cube with 7 segments.

 

Image Attachments
H2_ScaleCenter.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2012 07:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  386
Joined  2006-02-03

Type in a value in the scale part for “X” in the properties tab.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2012 08:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2003-10-09

yes what you suggest does work, however, I forgot to mention the selected loop needs to be extruded. smile

Silo Workflow:
1) Select Faces
2) Double Left Click to select Edge Loops
3) Extrude (but dont translate position)
4) Local Scale Extrude (In or out)

In Hexagon I have tried:
Sweep Surface - Scale & Width Channel Box does not allow for data entry(?)
Extrude Surface - Scale & Width Channel Box does not allow for data entry(?)

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2012 08:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2003-10-09

Hexagon Workflow or( Workaround1)
1) Select Edge Loops
2) Extract Edge Around selected loops x2
3) Disolve Center Edge Loop
4) Select Center Faces
5) enter value in Size: X, Z

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2012 08:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2003-10-09

example

Image Attachments
Silo_LocalScale.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2012 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
sadicus - 24 June 2012 08:33 AM

2) Extract Edge Around selected loops x2
3) Disolve Center Edge Loop

2) Bevel loops

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2012 11:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2003-10-09

NOT FOUND:
Bevel Loops
.....Are you sure you don’t mean “Extract Fillet”?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2012 11:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20

Learn to discern the signature from the actual post.

Bevel is in the same place you found the edge extractor.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile