Digital Art Zone

 
   
9 of 11
9
DAZ Studio Pro BETA (4.6.0.81), Now Available!
Posted: 21 August 2013 11:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 121 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1054
Joined  2003-12-16
AtticAnne - 21 August 2013 10:48 AM
StratDragon - 21 August 2013 07:27 AM
StratDragon - 19 August 2013 12:50 PM

I’m having an issue with the latest public release of 4.6 where after saving a fie with v4 a good portion of the morphs show as missing when I attempt to reload the file. Re-injecting the morphs sometimes fixes it, sometimes doesn’t, and other 3rd party morphs simply wont work after reloading them. In many situations I have to create a file from scratch and keep working on it without saving it and hope I don’t crash.

There were at least 3 bugs in the mantis tracker regarding this issue and they provided additional detail. Can I get any feedback on what the status is with this? this bug has really caused a problem with my production and unless the beta was patch with something to remedy this it’s not something I’m comfortable with to introduce into my pipeline.


I would like a response to this question please.

Have you filed a new bug report with zendesk?

Well, I dont appear to have an email saying I needed to resend (checked spam), and I was under the impression the old bugs in Mantis were still being looked at. At the time I submitted this bug there were two additional reports I was following with this bug that had info provided by several other members but since zen desk is not collaborative at this time for end users I have no way of seeing if anyone else re-submitted this to zendesk either. Rock meet hard place.

 

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2013 10:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 122 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  967
Joined  2007-10-17
StratDragon - 21 August 2013 11:04 AM
AtticAnne - 21 August 2013 10:48 AM
StratDragon - 21 August 2013 07:27 AM
StratDragon - 19 August 2013 12:50 PM

I’m having an issue with the latest public release of 4.6 where after saving a fie with v4 a good portion of the morphs show as missing when I attempt to reload the file. Re-injecting the morphs sometimes fixes it, sometimes doesn’t, and other 3rd party morphs simply wont work after reloading them. In many situations I have to create a file from scratch and keep working on it without saving it and hope I don’t crash.

There were at least 3 bugs in the mantis tracker regarding this issue and they provided additional detail. Can I get any feedback on what the status is with this? this bug has really caused a problem with my production and unless the beta was patch with something to remedy this it’s not something I’m comfortable with to introduce into my pipeline.


I would like a response to this question please.

Have you filed a new bug report with zendesk?

Well, I dont appear to have an email saying I needed to resend (checked spam), and I was under the impression the old bugs in Mantis were still being looked at. At the time I submitted this bug there were two additional reports I was following with this bug that had info provided by several other members but since zen desk is not collaborative at this time for end users I have no way of seeing if anyone else re-submitted this to zendesk either. Rock meet hard place.

Yes they are still getting worked on. No, I am not going to comment on individual bugs here, not because I don’t want to, but because I have a higher Priority in getting the bugs worked as opposed to searching for bugs in the database.

There are two ways to keep track of bugs that are important to you. One is resubmit them, and when they are fixed or if we need additional information we can contact you. The other is to watch the change log for the appropriate software, for this thread I presume it is DS, and fixed bugs generally get listed there with each release.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 123 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1054
Joined  2003-12-16
DAZ_Spooky - 22 August 2013 10:11 AM
StratDragon - 21 August 2013 11:04 AM
AtticAnne - 21 August 2013 10:48 AM
StratDragon - 21 August 2013 07:27 AM
StratDragon - 19 August 2013 12:50 PM

I’m having an issue with the latest public release of 4.6 where after saving a fie with v4 a good portion of the morphs show as missing when I attempt to reload the file. Re-injecting the morphs sometimes fixes it, sometimes doesn’t, and other 3rd party morphs simply wont work after reloading them. In many situations I have to create a file from scratch and keep working on it without saving it and hope I don’t crash.

There were at least 3 bugs in the mantis tracker regarding this issue and they provided additional detail. Can I get any feedback on what the status is with this? this bug has really caused a problem with my production and unless the beta was patch with something to remedy this it’s not something I’m comfortable with to introduce into my pipeline.


I would like a response to this question please.

Have you filed a new bug report with zendesk?

Well, I dont appear to have an email saying I needed to resend (checked spam), and I was under the impression the old bugs in Mantis were still being looked at. At the time I submitted this bug there were two additional reports I was following with this bug that had info provided by several other members but since zen desk is not collaborative at this time for end users I have no way of seeing if anyone else re-submitted this to zendesk either. Rock meet hard place.

Yes they are still getting worked on. No, I am not going to comment on individual bugs here, not because I don’t want to, but because I have a higher Priority in getting the bugs worked as opposed to searching for bugs in the database.

There are two ways to keep track of bugs that are important to you. One is resubmit them, and when they are fixed or if we need additional information we can contact you. The other is to watch the change log for the appropriate software, for this thread I presume it is DS, and fixed bugs generally get listed there with each release.


thanks, I’ve resubmitted
https://helpdaz.zendesk.com/requests/148257

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 09:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 124 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1421
Joined  2010-02-14
StratDragon - 20 August 2013 06:49 AM
RCDeschene - 20 August 2013 05:09 AM
StratDragon - 19 August 2013 02:41 PM
RCDeschene - 19 August 2013 02:32 PM

Well, good news is, I’m finally getting my content to work again. Bad news is, now my mouse cursor goes invisible in the interface…

there was/is a submarine issue with tablets, do you have a graphic tablet?

Nope.

GPU Drivers perhaps? Are they up-to-date from the vendor for your OS?
there was also this thread (mac related) a while back
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/23992/P15

How do I check with a PC?

 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 09:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 125 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1054
Joined  2003-12-16
RCDeschene - 23 August 2013 09:12 AM
StratDragon - 20 August 2013 06:49 AM
RCDeschene - 20 August 2013 05:09 AM
StratDragon - 19 August 2013 02:41 PM
RCDeschene - 19 August 2013 02:32 PM

Well, good news is, I’m finally getting my content to work again. Bad news is, now my mouse cursor goes invisible in the interface…

there was/is a submarine issue with tablets, do you have a graphic tablet?

Nope.

GPU Drivers perhaps? Are they up-to-date from the vendor for your OS?
there was also this thread (mac related) a while back
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/23992/P15

How do I check with a PC?

the “submarine” or mouse pointer disappearing can also happen when there is an intense CPU event but I’m not sure if you’re seeing this both in Studio and not in Studio so I would suggest you update your card’s drivers
First: What kind of graphics card do you have in that computer? If you don’t know an easy way to find out is go to Start>Run and type “dxdiag” and go to the display tab; that’s your card. You can see the date of the drivers installed and other info you don’t really need.

if you have an nvidia card go to http://www.nvidia.com go to, the drivers drop down and select your card, your OS, or have it auto detect.
If you have an ATI/AMD card go to amd.com or ati.com or if it’s an Intel Card it’s probably internal and that might be the problem right there. There are other video card manufacturers out there so don’t be surprised if you don’t recognize it. I have an ASUS Nvidia card, so since Nvidia makes the chips for ASUS to use I go to NVidia’s site. and if you see WHQL on the driver name it just means it was tested by Windows High Quality Labs which is a division of Microsoft, like JPL means Jet Propulsion Lab or Jack Parsons Labs who was the founder of NASA and a massive Satanist who hung out way too much with Alastair (Mr.) Crowley.
Anyway, that’s how ya do it, invoke the dark lord, update drivers, see what happens.

Hail System!

 

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 10:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 126 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1079
Joined  2010-09-19

Looks like new beta is somehow managing to make Reality lights unsupported in Reality…

http://www.deviantart.com/journal/Attention-Daz-Studio-Beta-Users-395300479

 Signature 

My deviantART page
My ShareCG freebies
Some of my music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 10:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 127 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1399
Joined  2009-09-11

Looks like my refusal to use DIM has actually paid off

 Signature 

http://bobvan.deviantart.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37909888@N05/sets/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 01:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 128 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1054
Joined  2003-12-16
Jabba101 - 23 August 2013 10:07 AM

Looks like new beta is somehow managing to make Reality lights unsupported in Reality…

http://www.deviantart.com/journal/Attention-Daz-Studio-Beta-Users-395300479

Well I hope they can fix this because I’m about to move back to 2.5, although all the stuff I did in 2.6 is just as broken in 2.5 now.

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 02:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 129 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1399
Joined  2009-09-11

I did not realize there was Reality 2.6

 Signature 

http://bobvan.deviantart.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37909888@N05/sets/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 03:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 130 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2259
Joined  2003-12-06
Jabba101 - 23 August 2013 10:07 AM

Looks like new beta is somehow managing to make Reality lights unsupported in Reality…

http://www.deviantart.com/journal/Attention-Daz-Studio-Beta-Users-395300479

Oy… sounds like quite a showstopper. Anyone know if it’s just a Reality problem, or is it actually a LuxRender problem (so it’ll also affect Luxus, which I’m just slowly getting to grips with) ?

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 131 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1079
Joined  2010-09-19
SpottedKitty - 23 August 2013 03:16 PM
Jabba101 - 23 August 2013 10:07 AM

Looks like new beta is somehow managing to make Reality lights unsupported in Reality…

http://www.deviantart.com/journal/Attention-Daz-Studio-Beta-Users-395300479

Oy… sounds like quite a showstopper. Anyone know if it’s just a Reality problem, or is it actually a LuxRender problem (so it’ll also affect Luxus, which I’m just slowly getting to grips with) ?

Well, nothing’s changed with the other applications, the change is inside DAZ Studio.

Don’t have a clue about Luxus because none of the optional plug-ins are available to the default beta install, so no Luxus options showing.

 Signature 

My deviantART page
My ShareCG freebies
Some of my music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 07:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 132 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2006-08-10

Not sure if anyone has mentioned this yet, but Ctrl+Z does NOT work for undo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 10:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 133 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8412
Joined  2007-11-06
Winthrod - 23 August 2013 07:49 PM

Not sure if anyone has mentioned this yet, but Ctrl+Z does NOT work for undo.

It’s working for everything I’ve tried—what exactly are you trying it on, and what OS and bit-depth?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 10:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 134 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8412
Joined  2007-11-06
Jabba101 - 23 August 2013 07:01 PM
SpottedKitty - 23 August 2013 03:16 PM
Jabba101 - 23 August 2013 10:07 AM

Looks like new beta is somehow managing to make Reality lights unsupported in Reality…

http://www.deviantart.com/journal/Attention-Daz-Studio-Beta-Users-395300479

Oy… sounds like quite a showstopper. Anyone know if it’s just a Reality problem, or is it actually a LuxRender problem (so it’ll also affect Luxus, which I’m just slowly getting to grips with) ?

Well, nothing’s changed with the other applications, the change is inside DAZ Studio.

Don’t have a clue about Luxus because none of the optional plug-ins are available to the default beta install, so no Luxus options showing.

Does Luxus still work in the release version?  I assumed the issue was that Reality wasn’t working in the release after installing the beta.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2013 11:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 135 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  707
Joined  2012-02-12
Jabba101 - 23 August 2013 07:01 PM
SpottedKitty - 23 August 2013 03:16 PM
Jabba101 - 23 August 2013 10:07 AM

Looks like new beta is somehow managing to make Reality lights unsupported in Reality…

http://www.deviantart.com/journal/Attention-Daz-Studio-Beta-Users-395300479

Oy… sounds like quite a showstopper. Anyone know if it’s just a Reality problem, or is it actually a LuxRender problem (so it’ll also affect Luxus, which I’m just slowly getting to grips with) ?

Well, nothing’s changed with the other applications, the change is inside DAZ Studio.

Don’t have a clue about Luxus because none of the optional plug-ins are available to the default beta install, so no Luxus options showing.

I didn’t understood why it wouldn’t work as I have not seen any change in the lights or anything in the SDK. But in fact I guess the problem is the way the beta is done. Before we could simply install over our Stable version and all plugins or shaders were already there.
Now with the beta beeing made to work side by side with the Stable version, all you get with the beta is only what is included in the beta, that means DS only

The long workaround would be to reinstall all missing plugins and whatever custom thing you could have

Another way is simply go to your DAZ Stable version directory, then copy “Shaders”, “Script” and “Plugins” directories then paste these in the new beta intallation folder. Overwrite Directories but DO NOT overwrite files when asked (I should say DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK but it’s only the beta directory so no problem appart from messing the beta right?)

This way you get back Shaders/plugins and custom script if you have any

There is also customized settings that are lost (I have a custom UI)

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
   
9 of 11
9